Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]mol, can't modprobe tun.ko
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:04 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]mol, can't modprobe tun.ko Reply with quote

I just updated my kernel to gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.7-r5, so I updated mol to 0.9.70. but I can't get networking going in mol. of course it worked fine with my old mol and my old kernel.

first, mol couldn't find the tun kernel module. for some reason, mol.ko was in /usr/lib/mol/0.9.70/modules/2.6.7-gentoo-r5, but tun.ko was in /usr/lib/mol/0.9.70/modules

so I copied tun.ko into the 2.6.7-gentoo-r5 directory, but mol is still unable to load it.

mol runs, but with no networking.

here's what happens when I ask mol to load the tun module:

Code:

#startmol --loadonly                                                                 /usr/lib/mol/0.9.70/modules/2.6.7-gentoo-r5
Mac-on-Linux 0.9.70-gentoo -gentoo  [Jun 23 2004 10:04]
Copyright (C) 1997-2004 Samuel Rydh
Starting MOL session 0
Loading tun driver kernel module:
   /usr/lib/mol/0.9.70/modules/2.6.7-gentoo-r5/tun.ko
insmod: error inserting '/usr/lib/mol/0.9.70/modules/2.6.7-gentoo-r5/tun.ko': -1 File exists


how do I get the tun module loaded?
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckdake
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you compiled did you do
Code:
make modules_install
and after a reboot did you did
Code:
modules-update

_________________
http://ckdake.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had done modules_install. (I would have notice right away if I hadn't since all my ethernet drivers are modules)

I had NOT done the modules-update. I did that now, but unfortunately still get the same error from startmol --loadonly
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckdake
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my machine, all of the moudles are in /lib/modules/kernelname/. Does it show up there? what happens after modules_update when you do
Code:
modprobe tun
?
_________________
http://ckdake.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm. neither the tun nor mol module is in my /lib/modules tree. so modprobe tun just says 'FATAL: Module tun not found.'

I copied the two modules to /lib/modules/2.6.7-r5/kernel/misc/, ran modules-update again.

then 'modprobe tun' gave no errors, but the tun module didn't get loaded.

so I checked dmesg, and saw this error:

devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for net/tun

/dev/net/tun already existed, so I did an 'rm /dev/net/tun' then modprobe loaded the tun driver!

so it all works now.

the problem was twofold:

1. the mol & tun kernel modules didn't get installed in /lib/modules

2. I already had a /dev/net/tun file

thanks for the help.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum