Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cpufreqd and acpi
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:40 am    Post subject: cpufreqd and acpi Reply with quote

hello,

has anybody managed to run cpufreqd successfully? i run on a 2.6.7 kernel (TiBook) and i get the following when i try to execute it
Code:

root@tigger ~ # cpufreqd -D
libsys_init(): /proc/acpi/: No such file or directory
load_libraries(): cannot initizalize PM plugin.
Cannot open shared libraries.
Exiting.

however, it seems that acpi/acpid run only on x86/amd architectures?

before gentoo i was running YDL on a 2.4.x kernel, and i didn't have problems with the cpufreqd...

anything? anybody? :-)
jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alsh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Glen Allen, VA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Re: cpufreqd and acpi Reply with quote

_savage wrote:
hello,

has anybody managed to run cpufreqd successfully? i run on a 2.6.7 kernel (TiBook) and i get the following when i try to execute it
Code:

root@tigger ~ # cpufreqd -D
libsys_init(): /proc/acpi/: No such file or directory
load_libraries(): cannot initizalize PM plugin.
Cannot open shared libraries.
Exiting.

however, it seems that acpi/acpid run only on x86/amd architectures?

before gentoo i was running YDL on a 2.4.x kernel, and i didn't have problems with the cpufreqd...

anything? anybody? :-)
jens


I had to change pm_type= in the /etc/cpufreqd.conf file from acpi to pmu to get mine to work. I forget if I did anything beyond that.

-Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aah nice! now the gkellm cpufreq plugin actually shows the scaled cpu frequency... great...

thanks heaps!!
jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1563
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the name of this plugin? I can't find it.
Does your cpufreqd also use lot of cpu like mine does?
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What's the name of this plugin? I can't find it.


gkrellm-cpufreq, google is your friend ;)

Quote:
Does your cpufreqd also use lot of cpu like mine does?


im using cpudyn and i have seen no problems with it.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1563
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gringo wrote:
gkrellm-cpufreq
Yea, but it seems not to be in portage?

cpudyn sounds good. But it still doesn't make a difference for AC plugged in or not?
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruben
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not really the topic of this thread, but anyways. I used cpudyn on my iBook G3-800. It worked very well. Does it really matter whether AC is plugged in or not? If it does, you could always use pbbuttonsd to force something (like switching the cpufreq governor from the kernel to performance or powersave instead of "userspace"). Before using cpudyn, i've used pbbuttonsd to switch governors: 400Mhz while on battery and 800Mhz while on AC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
but it seems not to be in portage?


no it isnt, but its really easy to install. Download the source, built the plugin and copy it to gkrellm´s plugin diretory. Restart gkrellm and you should have it available.

Quote:
Before using cpudyn, i've used pbbuttonsd to switch governors: 400Mhz while on battery and 800Mhz while on AC.


i never tried with pbbuttonsd, cpudynd just switches the cpu from 1333 to 700 Mhz when i have no heavy cpu usage, with or without ac. Most of the time its running 700 Mhz ;)

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1563
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't find gkrellm-cpufreq. The mirrors are down which I found in google.

Nice idea. I am going to use cpudyn and just send a signal "killall -USR1 cpudynd" with pbbuttonsd and my own script in /etc/power/events.d. Unfortunately pbbuttonsd doesn't finish properly after 4 seconds according the log, and I can't find the bug. I will emerge it again.
So far cpudyn uses less cpu than cpufreqd :)
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I can't find gkrellm-cpufreq. The mirrors are down which I found in google.


ive found and uploaded the one i used, grab it here if you like ;)

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Err... does cpudyn replace cpufreqd, or does it make use of it?

Jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

_savage wrote:
Err... does cpudyn replace cpufreqd, or does it make use of it?

Jens


cpudyn is a light-weight alternative for cpufreqd (it's a replacement). cpufreqd has a sophisticated configuration mechanism (for example different governors when plugged to AC or not). cpudyn just scales the cpu speed down when there is no cpu load and it scales it to full speed when the load is high.


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1563
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed that cpudyn switches really often to high frequency, even when there is not much load: Right now I am using the values:
Code:
CPU_UP=0.1

# CPU idle work ratio to speed down
CPU_DOWN=0.5

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1563
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gringo wrote:
ive found and uploaded the one i used, grab it here if you like ;)
Thank you, works fine.:)
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum