Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xorg can't seem to load any windowmanager.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:29 pm    Post subject: Xorg can't seem to load any windowmanager. Reply with quote

Just upgraded from x11-xfree to x11-xorg, but something seem to went wrong.

When starting, the X server seems to be working OK, and the log seems also OK, but after starting any window manager nothing happens. I get the mouse working, but the rest is just black and nothing happens. I've tried with twm, gnome and wmaker. Everything seems to start, but I just get the mouse cursor, nothing more.

Code:
root      6241  0.0  0.3  3296 1324 ?        Ss   19:11   0:00 login -- david     
david    19935  0.0  0.5  3064 1968 tty3     Ss   19:43   0:00  \_ -bash
david    23474  0.0  0.2  2316 1112 tty3     S+   20:09   0:00      \_ /bin/sh /usr/X11R6/bin/startx
david    23503  0.0  0.1  2576  712 tty3     S+   20:09   0:00          \_ xinit /home/david/.xinitrc -- -nolisten tcp -br -deferglyphs 16
root     23504  2.3  3.2 42256 12340 ?       S    20:09   0:01              \_ X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -deferglyphs 16
david    24102  0.0  0.2  2308 1060 tty3     S    20:09   0:00              \_ sh /home/david/.xinitrc
david    24133  0.0  0.5  4532 1976 tty3     S    20:09   0:00                  \_ twm


Running on and ibook, g3, 700Mhz, with the radeon driver (and working what I can see).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pylon
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Jan 2003
Posts: 279
Location: Cologne

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any errors in /var/log/Xorg.0.log?
_________________
hacking is not a crime
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, no errors. I do get some warnings, but they shouldn't effect the window manager. And since I get the mouse cursor working with a "good" screen, it just seems like the window manager isn't starting/has started. But when looking at the process table, it's there.

Here are the warnings..

Code:
(WW) RADEON(0): Video BIOS not detected in PCI space!
(WW) RADEON(0): Attempting to read Video BIOS from legacy ISA space!
(WW) RADEON(0): Video BIOS not found!
(WW) RADEON(0): No valid info for SCLK/MCLK for display bandwidth calculation.
(WW) RADEON(0): Video BIOS not detected, using default PLL parameters!
(WW) RADEON(0): [agp] AGP not available
(WW) RADEON(0): [agp] AGP failed to initialize -- falling back to PCI mode.
(WW) RADEON(0): [agp] If this is an AGP card, you may want to make sure the agpgart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pylon
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Jan 2003
Posts: 279
Location: Cologne

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, the warnings are quite usual and should not harm the window-manager.

Can you test starting X as root, so that we know, it's not a permission problem?
_________________
hacking is not a crime
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tested that, gets the same problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
root     28180  0.0  0.2  3268 1136 ?        Ss   22:41   0:00 login -- root     
root     29652  0.0  0.3  2664 1472 tty2     Ss   22:42   0:00  \_ -bash
root     31480  0.0  0.2  2312 1108 tty2     S+   22:42   0:00      \_ /bin/sh /usr/X11R6/bin/startx
root     31559  0.0  0.1  2576  712 tty2     S+   22:42   0:00          \_ xinit /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc -- -nolisten tcp -br -deferglyphs 16
root     31567 69.3  3.2 43024 12488 ?       R<   22:42   1:21              \_ X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -deferglyphs 16
root     32254  0.3  2.3 22288 9012 tty2     S    22:42   0:00              \_ /usr/bin/gnome-session
root     32302  0.0  0.2  3320  932 ?        Ss   22:42   0:00                  \_ /usr/bin/ssh-agent -- /usr/bin/gnome-session
root     32377  0.2  0.6  5388 2624 tty2     S    22:42   0:00 /usr/libexec/gconfd-2 5
root     32550  0.0  0.2  2488 1056 tty2     S    22:42   0:00 /usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon
root     32558  0.2  0.8  7124 3196 ?        Ss   22:42   0:00 /usr/libexec/bonobo-activation-server --ac-activate --ior-output-fd=18


As you see, gnome-session starts OK, but the only thing I get on screen is the mouse cursor and a black background. The mouse works fine though ;)

Not even the gnome splash image shows it self.

Also.. the X-server can't be killed, not even with -9. You can kill everything except the Xserver.

Code:
saga root # ps afux | grep X | grep -v grep
root     31567 49.1  0.0     0    0 ?        R<   Jul12  50:57 [X]
saga root # kill -9 31567                   
saga root # kill -9 31567
saga root # ps afux | grep X | grep -v grep
root     31567 49.1  0.0     0    0 ?        R<   Jul12  51:05 [X]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tested to re-emerge xorg, but the problem is still there. Is there any way to get some more debug output to see where the problem is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaspal kallar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is there any way to get some more debug output to see where the problem is?


I sometimes use strace i.e try
Code:
strace -eopen startx
from the command line. I believe there will be alot of output but it's worth a try. Also after update to xorg did you do
Code:
etc-update
and also change the font paths in your xorg.conf file (I'm sure you did just checking though ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jaspal kallar wrote:
Quote:
Is there any way to get some more debug output to see where the problem is?


I sometimes use strace i.e try
Code:
strace -eopen startx
from the command line. I believe there will be alot of output but it's worth a try. Also after update to xorg did you do
Code:
etc-update
and also change the font paths in your xorg.conf file (I'm sure you did just checking though ;-)

Well, yep the xorg.conf seems to be OK, and the fontpaths are OK.

Strace gives alot of stuff, at least with -ff. Seems to be waiting for something just after the xkb-stuff has loaded.

Code:
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [ALRM TSTP TTIN TTOU VTALRM WINCH IO], [], 8) = 0
fcntl64(10, F_GETFL)                    = 0x1 (flags O_WRONLY)
fstat64(10, {st_mode=S_IFIFO|0600, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
mmap(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x31ac0000
_llseek(10, 0, 0x7fffa2e8, SEEK_CUR)    = -1 ESPIPE (Illegal seek)
close(9)                                = 0
write(10, "xkb_keymap \"default\" {\n    xkb_k"..., 345) = 345
close(10)                               = 0
munmap(0x31ac0000, 4096)                = 0
wait4(6495,


After that "wait" in the end, nothing seems to be happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After removing dri, evertything worked out fine. Seems like there are still bugs in dri, with radeon.

I'm using the radeon driver that follows with the latest gentoo-dev-sources kernel. Isn't that the right module? Or is there another one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm, interesting thread. i am using Xorg on a TiBook and it seems to crash randomly lately. i'm using evilwm, which works fine though. the only problem is that sometimes (for no appearant reason) the server crashes. also, it hangs often when i shut it down, i.e. it leaves the screen black without the console. interestingly, when i put my mac to sleep and wake it up, the console appears and i can continue...

maybe it's an Xorg problems (together with radeon) ???

jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drohr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, think so. Nice avatar btw ;)

Reported it, so hoping it will get fixed later on. DRI is always nice.
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=56954
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr. zoidberg rocks, he's my idol :-)

btw, i noticed in your CFLAGS flags (cf the above mentioned bug report) that you're using -O3. afaik that's considered unstable on ppc (i think i read that in the CFLAGS flag overview somewhere, and several threads mentioned it). also it might be a good idea to set -cpu=G4 instead of 7500? here's mine:
Code:

CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=G4 -mtune=G4 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fno-strict-aliasing


worth a try...
jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this seems to be a problem common with all 7500's, thought xorg says they are fullly supported (saw stuff on yellowdog messages etc..)

[EDIT]
i found somewhere else, that its not necesarily a dri problem.... its a problem involving both dri and glx..... as in one or the other.... so if you need dri, if you disable glx it will work

not a great solution, as it means no opengl, and that makes it very difficult to test if its working.... but it may be what some people need.....

[/EDIT]

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:
i found somewhere else, that its not necesarily a dri problem.... its a problem involving both dri and glx..... as in one or the other.... so if you need dri, if you disable glx it will work


silly question: we're talking disabling that in the kernel, right? could you point me to the correct options, please?

thanks heaps :)
jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, not in the kernel...

in xorg.conf

so it should look somthing like this:

Section Modules
...
#Load glx
Load dri
...
End Section


sorry if i didnt get the excta syntax, im not on my linux box.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum