Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gensplash-How-to with progressbar!!!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Titeuf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 759
Location: Middelkerke, Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

loemmel wrote:
by the way, has anybody an idea how to enable the splash for all ttys??

Try running:
Code:
rc-update add splash default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

snekiepete, i'm not sure how i can find out which framebuffer resolution i have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snekiepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 306
Location: WISCONSIN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad wrote:
snekiepete, i'm not sure how i can find out which framebuffer resolution i have.


check your dmesg again.

# dmesg | grep fb

this should list any fb's that are loaded.

also

# fbset

this will show you the current reolution of your framebuffer

post the info for both
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmesg | grep fb
Code:
rushad@home ~ $ dmesg | grep fb
ACPI: FADT (v001 INTEL  Whitney  0x06040000 PTL  0x000f4240) @ 0x17effb0b
ACPI: MADT (v001 PTLTD    APIC   0x06040000  LTP 0x00000000) @ 0x17effb7f
ACPI: BOOT (v001 PTLTD  $SBFTBL$ 0x06040000  LTP 0x00000001) @ 0x17effbd9
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda3 elevator=cfq video=vesafb:ywrap,1024x768-32@ 85 splash=silent
fbsplash: silent
CPU: After generic identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: After vendor identify, caps:  0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: After all inits, caps:        0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000040
vesafb: Intel Corporation, Intel(R) 8xx Chipset, Hardware Version 0.0 (OEM: Inte l(R) 8xx Chipset Video BIOS)
vesafb: VBE version: 3.0
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:99e0
vesafb: pmi: set display start = b00c9a26, set palette = b00c9a4a
vesafb: pmi: ports = 3c0 3c4 3c5 3c7 3c8 3c9 3ce 3cf 3d4 3d5 3d6 3d7 3d8 3d9 3da
vesafb: hardware supports DCC2 transfers
vesafb: monitor limits: vf = 160 Hz, hf = 71 kHz, clk = 110 MHz
vesafb: scrolling: ywrap using protected mode interface, yres_virtual=1024
vesafb: cannot reserve video memory at 0x0
vesafb: abort, cannot ioremap video memory 0x100000 @ 0x0
vesafb: probe of vesafb0 failed with error -5
I810FB: fb0         : Intel(R) 810 Framebuffer Device v0.9.0
vga16fb: initializing
vga16fb: mapped to 0xb00a0000
fb1: VGA16 VGA frame buffer device
fbsplash: console 0 using theme 'default'
rushad@home ~ $



fbset

Code:
rushad@home ~ $ fbset

mode "640x480-60"
    # D: 24.000 MHz, H: 30.000 kHz, V: 60.242 Hz
    geometry 640 480 640 6553 8
    timings 41666 80 16 14 1 64 3
    rgba 8/0,8/0,8/0,0/0
endmode

rushad@home ~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

by the way, i have vesafb-tng enabled in kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my fbset and dmseg after i booting into i819fb

Code:
rushad@home ~ $ fbset

mode "640x480-60"
    # D: 24.000 MHz, H: 30.000 kHz, V: 60.242 Hz
    geometry 640 480 640 6553 8
    timings 41666 80 16 14 1 64 3
    rgba 8/0,8/0,8/0,0/0
endmode

rushad@home ~ $ dmesg | grep fb
ACPI: FADT (v001 INTEL  Whitney  0x06040000 PTL  0x000f4240) @ 0x17effb0b
ACPI: MADT (v001 PTLTD    APIC   0x06040000  LTP 0x00000000) @ 0x17effb7f
ACPI: BOOT (v001 PTLTD  $SBFTBL$ 0x06040000  LTP 0x00000001) @ 0x17effbd9
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda3 elevator=cfq video=i810fb:ywrap,800x600-32@70 splash=silent
fbsplash: silent
CPU: After generic identify, caps: 0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: After vendor identify, caps:  0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: After all inits, caps:        0383fbff 00000000 00000000 00000040
i810fb_init_pci: DDC probe successful
I810FB: fb0         : Intel(R) 810 Framebuffer Device v0.9.0
vesafb: Intel Corporation, Intel(R) 8xx Chipset, Hardware Version 0.0 (OEM: Intel(R) 8xx Chipset Video BIOS)
vesafb: VBE version: 3.0
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:99e0
vesafb: pmi: set display start = b00c9a26, set palette = b00c9a4a
vesafb: pmi: ports = 3c0 3c4 3c5 3c7 3c8 3c9 3ce 3cf 3d4 3d5 3d6 3d7 3d8 3d9 3da
vesafb: hardware supports DCC2 transfers
vesafb: monitor limits: vf = 160 Hz, hf = 71 kHz, clk = 110 MHz
vesafb: mode 1153x8648bpp not found
vesafb: mode 1280x9608bpp not found
vesafb: mode 1280x10248bpp not found
vesafb: no matching VBE mode found
vesafb: probe of vesafb0 failed with error -22
vga16fb: initializing
vga16fb: mapped to 0xb00a0000
fb1: VGA16 VGA frame buffer device
fbsplash: console 0 using theme 'default'
rushad@home ~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sakus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I have a (stupid?) question. I Followed that 5-step guide and got fbsplash working without any problems, BUT now my system won't boot.I have this in my GRUB's menu.lst that I need for my system to boot:

Code:

initrd /initrd-2.6.8-gentoo-r2


This way I can boot my system but get no splash. If I replace that one with this:

Code:

initrd /fbsplash-emergence-1024x768


Then I get the splash but end up with kernel panic and can't boot.

Ssssooo, how do I make it to work? I tried having those both lines in my menu.lst but I guess it only loads the latter one over the first one thus giving me the same result.

Anyways, I suspect this is the problem but it wouldn't be the first time I'm wrong so please help a poor n00b get that sweet sweet splash to work :)

You can probably tell that my kernel is 2.6.8-gentoo-r2.. I use genkernel (still configure the kernel to my liking of course) simply because it let's me do everything with just one command. Any other details I'll post as needed, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think you are using genkernel.

Code:
initrd /initrd-2.6.8-gentoo-r2
is needed to boot genkernel. so i think you will have to compile your own kernel to get bootplash. if you need more help with that, let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snekiepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 306
Location: WISCONSIN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad


vesafb is not working for you, (see the error in dmesg....)so i810fb is loading. go ahead and recompile without vesafb. search the forums on how to boot i810 framebuffer at 1024x768 or 800x600 resolution and give that a shot, for some reason your grub line is not activating at the proper resolution.

if that doesnt work we can try the vesafb-rrc. I can help you with getting that setup.....

also maybe it would be better if we went outside of this forum since this is a framebuffer issue and kinda not related to just simply using genplash.

email me at

my forum name (at) charter (dot) net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont know what i did but i got it to work. now its woking with silent and verbose. i think i had to change boot parameters to boot at 1024x768 and also set hsync and vsync. but when i only set xres and yres, it doesnt boot. i have to set hsync and vsync.
and when i set hsync and vsync, i get some kind of white line (which hurs eyes) at left side of my screen. could be a monitor problem. but what the hell, its working. so thanks a lot man. without you i couldnt have done it.
now i will start working on making this enlightenment which i installed today to make it 'my type.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sakus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply, rush_ad, that got me thinking. I realized that I don't even need that initrd for anything since everything needed by my HDD is compiled in the kernel.. :oops:

So now instead of having that initrd image and booting from a RAM-disk I boot straight from my root partition and can leave out the initrd part and replace it with the splash initrd thingie. Works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snekiepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 306
Location: WISCONSIN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad wrote:
i dont know what i did but i got it to work. now its woking with silent and verbose. i think i had to change boot parameters to boot at 1024x768 and also set hsync and vsync. but when i only set xres and yres, it doesnt boot. i have to set hsync and vsync.
and when i set hsync and vsync, i get some kind of white line (which hurs eyes) at left side of my screen. could be a monitor problem. but what the hell, its working. so thanks a lot man. without you i couldnt have done it.
now i will start working on making this enlightenment which i installed today to make it 'my type.'


i recommend qingy for login......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i already have qingy working. i got that working before splash. priorities, you know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saintdev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 60
Location: CO, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

snekiepete wrote:
I am not sure if this matters either or not, bootsplash has these enabled and I haven't seen anywhere noted that they have to be, but it's worth a shot unil spock can verify this. I have the following enabled in my kernel also:


Device Drivers ---->
Block Devices ----->
<*> Loopback device support
<*> RAM disk support
(4096) Default RAM disk size (kbytes)
[*] Initial RAM disk (initrd) support

Spock, if you are watching this thread, does this kernel config matter?


I emailed spock asking him if Loopback device, and Inital RAM disk (initrd) support were needed, and here was his answer:

spock@gentoo.org wrote:
Nope, you don't need those two options. But if choose not to enable initrd support, it is likely that you will have to compile your initramfs image directly into the kernel.

_________________
> SELECT `signature` FROM `members` WHERE `user_name`='saintdev';
0 rows returned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snekiepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 306
Location: WISCONSIN

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for getting the info, I don't have to compile into the kernel though, so I guess either way....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xiphux
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 225
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this fix is a little too late and already been fixed, but I just saw it again not too long ago, so:

For those of you getting the

Code:
fb.h:305: error: field `modelist' has incomplete type


message, you need to edit the file /usr/src/linux/include/linux/fb.h. At line 305, you'll see:

Code:
struct list_head modelist;


Put an asterisk in front of 'modelist.' So:

Code:
struct list_head *modelist;


(It needs to be a pointer to a list head)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snekiepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 306
Location: WISCONSIN

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you xiphux, now I can get my new sources working!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motub
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 87
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been following this thread faithfully, as well as the 5 easy steps, and I cannot get fbsplash to appear on startup.

What's weird is-- I get a silent splash on shutdown, so it seems something is correctly set up; I also get console images appearing at the very end of the boot process (they have a little argument with qingy, the directFB login manager that I use, but they're there).

No problems with framebuffer, either-- just no splash.

The players:

Kernel gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.8-r2/-r3 (haven't compiled -r3 yet, planning to if I can solve this, in case I need to do something special to get it to work)

vesafb-tng

qingy-0.5.2

DirectFB-0.9.20-r1

media-libs/freetype-2.1.9 (yes, I know it's hard masked, but qingy would not show text with freetype 2.1.5, and I got tired of blind typing when I logged in).

Splash theme: Lila, from the most recent Lila snapshot tarball (Lila is a collection of themes for DE's, Grub, Bootsplash, splashscreen, and a lot more-- see the Lila Theme Official Thread on these forums, though the theme discussion has since moved to a dedicated site with its own forums.

In any case, I reconfigured the theme to conform to the Emergence theme (renamed the files as specified in this thread), and then I rewrote the theme file as well, to match the Emergence file, while using the settings in the original Lila theme file. I have linked the /splash/default symlink to the Lila folder, and use 'splash_geninitramfs -v -g /boot/fbsplash-lila-1280x1024 -r 1280x1024 default' to create the initrd file.

grub.conf:

default 0
timeout 7
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/lila.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.8-gentoo-r2
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz-2.6.8-gentoo-r2 root=/dev/hda3 video=vesafb-tng:ywrap,mtrr,noaccel 1280x1024@60 splash=silent,theme:default
initrd /boot/fbsplash-lila-1280x1024

Oh, and I added splash to the ..default runlevel. Should it be in the boot runlevel (sounds logical)?

And clearly something is working right, since when I shut down, I get the Lila silent splash with progressbar.

But I have no clue what is preventing the splash from appearing at startup. I also noticed that the current Emergence has <resolution>-256.png files, which the Lila theme does not; should I make those (and does "making them" mean just I should convert the jpeg I have to png at 256 colors)?

It seems to me that there is something causing what is essentially some kind of timeout-- something is delaying or conflicting with the load of the splash at boot, but whatever it is is shut down first at reboot, so the splash is able to appear.

Which would lead me to suspect DirectFB, but I can't imagine why that would be loading so early in the boot process (when vesafb-tng starts), since it's only needed for qingy, which does not load till the boot process ends and a user needs to log on.

Can anybody give me a hint as to where I should start looking to solve this? Atm, I'm troubleshooting randomly, and I really am tired of rebooting ;) .

TIA.
_________________
Holly
--Why not adopt an unanswered post?--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbasinge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 86
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to get gensplash working on my computer. I have read though spock's instructions but it still does not work. I think the problem is that I do not have a fb0 or fbsplash device in my /dev directory. I have vesa-tng compiled into the kernel, but still no luck (did try the older vesa driver).

I'm trying to get this to work on a Toshiba Satellite M30 laptop using gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.8-r3.

Here is the part of my config
Code:

CONFIG_FB=y
# CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="640x480@60"
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y


Here is my grub.conf
Code:

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.8-r3
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.8-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hda4 video=vesafb:ywrap,pmipal,1024x768-32@75 splash=silent,theme:emergence
initrd /boot/fbsplash-emergence-1024x768

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.8-r2
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.8-gentoo-r2 root=/dev/hda4


title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.8-r1
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.8-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hda4

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


Thanks for any info,
Mike
_________________
D. Michael Basinger, RHCE
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you. - Anonymous
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

make sure your framebuffer and image size are same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Apr 2003
Posts: 260
Location: Under a rock.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

motub wrote:
I've been following this thread faithfully, as well as the 5 easy steps, and I cannot get fbsplash to appear on startup.

What's weird is-- I get a silent splash on shutdown, so it seems something is correctly set up; I also get console images appearing at the very end of the boot process (they have a little argument with qingy, the directFB login manager that I use, but they're there).

No problems with framebuffer, either-- just no splash.

I get exactly the same with mine, can't get it to show any splash on startup, but running /etc/init.d/splash will set it up, and it displays the shutdown splash.

I have the initrd in place and done all as the guide says. Can't find anything else to help me :( Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paranoid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Portland, ME

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, first my gensplash is working. I have now set it up the new way using the initrd and not compiling it into the kernel. Now I'm using vesafb-tng and I find the delay on displaying the fb a little annoying. So I thought I would just switch back to using vesafb as that comes up right away and I don't need to set the refresh since my video card is VBE 2.0. I first tried setting the video mode the old way-vga=792 (1024x768x32). I get the window with the text but the actual picture is not displayed (well a few dots here and there). Tried vga=791 and it works fine but thats only 16bpp so the picture looks crappy. Then I tried using the video= to set the video mode on boot as in the vesafb.txt doc it states most of those commands will work with vesafb. No luck there at all. Tried using the radeonfb but that was a major disaster resulting in several hard lockups.

So anyone have any ideas on getting the regular vesafb to work with the vga=792? Perhaps the framebuffer isn't big enough? I'm out of ideas and have went back to vesafb-tng which works fine albeit a little slow in coming up.
_________________
A paranoid is someone who knows a little of what's going on.
William S. Burroughs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motub
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 87
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May I ask what you mean by "not compiling it into the kernel"? Compiling what into the kernel? What settings must be unused to not compile whatever-we're-talking-about into the kernel, and should whatever-we're-talking-about be modularized rather than directly compiled?

Is it possible that I have something compiled in that shouldn't be, and that's what's causing my problems?
_________________
Holly
--Why not adopt an unanswered post?--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paranoid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Portland, ME

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

motub,

Originally the 5 step guide was 10 steps and it required you to compile the splash image directly into the kernel. The new way you now use initrd instead so you shouldn't worry about what I said about it.

Let's see if we can't get it working for you. After reading your above post these are some possible problems I saw in your config.

a. Remove splash from any runlevel. I think you are getting bootsplash and gensplash mixed up. Bootsplash was the old way of doing things and is no longer maintained by spock, it is now considered gensplash. Gensplash does not use the init.d/splash for anything.

b. I would recommend that you get around to compiling the r3 kernel-I'm not sure there are any new gensplash patches in the kernel but there might well be, better safe than sorry.

c. Be sure the loopback & initrd stuff is enabled in your kernel config along with vesafb-tng. You should also set the default res in the option under vesafb-tng-I noticed you left it at 640x480. I'm not sure this matters but can't hurt. Don't forget the fbsplash option either.

d. A couple of little changes in your grub.conf-video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,noaccel,1280x1024-32@60 splash=silent,theme:default.
initrd line is fine.


Then post if you still have problems.
_________________
A paranoid is someone who knows a little of what's going on.
William S. Burroughs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motub
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 87
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that didn't go well.

To start with (still using 2.6.8-gentoo-r2), I recompiled and changed the vesa default fb from vesa-tng to vesafb. My default rez then disappeared (it was already set at 1280x1024@60 in the kernel; why did you think it was not, or how did you "notice" that it was not, since I haven't posted my config anyway-- or did you mean some different config than the kernel config?). I changed grub.conf to read vesafb rather than vesafb-tng. When compiling the kernel, I also removed bootlogo support (must have been set by default, since as a former bootsplash user, I wouldn't have set it).

This was a disaster. Not only did I get no framebuffer whatsoever, but half of my system modules would not load, most notably LVM2, nor would qingy (since I had apparently no framebuffer).

Fortunately I could activate my LVM volume group manually, mount /usr, /var, /opt, and /tmp, and changed everything back. The system booted properly (with framebuffer and all LVM groups mounting normally during boot).

It then occurred to me that maybe I should just try to make an initrd using the emergence theme, so at least I would know if the problem was in the program or in the files I was trying to use. I then realized that I very well might not have re-emerged splashutils since a previous aborted attempt to install 2.6.8-gentoo-r3 a few days ago (so it might only have been compiled against the 2.6.8-r3 source, and not the current 2.6.8-r2 source). So I tried to do that, and it would not re-emerge, claiming that my kernel was not configured; which is obviously not true.

I think the issue as far as that goes is that my kernels are set to use koutput (because I'm using submount, since supermount has been removed, and to emerge submount you have to set your kernels to use koutput), and splashutils doesn't know where my kernel output is, thus does not think it has in fact been "made".

Is this correct? How do I fix it? I'm really ready to go back to bootsplash, but I'm just curious now if this is fixeable. Gotta say, though, it is one big mess.

I had checked to see if splash was removed from the default runlevel, and it wasn't there, so I thought I had already done it; just checked again and it was in boot, so I removed it from that runlevel. I'll reboot again shortly to see if that solves anything. I also forgot to change the resolution to include -32, so I just did that and we'll see.

Since I want to patch 2.6.8-r3 to ALSA 1.06, and have to re-emerge submount, the ati-drivers, and possibly splashutils as well to conform to the new kernel source, I'd like to be sure I know how to get this working before I go to all this trouble, since if it doesn't or can't work, I'll just revert the no-bootsplash patch and go back to bootsplash.
_________________
Holly
--Why not adopt an unanswered post?--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 8 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum