Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical Configuration
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AlphaChild
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2003 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any way of being able to get the side buttons working via GPM instead of IMWheel? i have experimented a little, but no success...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doener
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2003 4:49 pm    Post subject: hid & usbmouse Reply with quote

hid & usbmouse conflict with each other. Use either one or the other, not both.

Check the manual:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/desktop.xml
_________________
....dosen, flaschen und herrenhandtaschen....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ventricle
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 305
Location: UK/Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2003 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't get X to work properly yet at all, but when I try to setup the mouse, I don't have usb-uhci or usbcore modules. Can someone tell me where these are in the kernel menuconfig? I do have input, hid and mousedev.
Thanks.
_________________
[LRU]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irasnyd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Placentia, CA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
bash-2.05b$ imwheel -k -b "67"
WARNING: imwheel process could not be verified, it may not be running anymore, that's OK!
: No such file or directory
WARNING: imwheel pid file could not be removed.
  Perhaps you want the -p option.
  Or SUID root the imwheel executable...
: Operation not permitted
ERROR: Couldn't write pid to pid file
  Perhaps you want the -p option to avoid this...
  Otherwise you may SUID root the imwheel executable.
: Permission denied


How do I "SUID root the imwheel executable"?

It turns out that "chmod 4755 /usr/bin/imwheel" worked perfectly. I solved my own problem :p

This method of doing it worked much better for me than using the -p option of imwheel.

irasnyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samnet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 12:44 am    Post subject: fixed 6+7 Reply with quote

I had the problem of the side buttons scrolling up and down the screen. If you make a ~/.imwheelrc, it will actually use your settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalcius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 37
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

brainlock wrote:
Like other people here I had some problems with the placement of the xmodmap instruction. Finally, I read my /etc/rc.conf file and found that since I have DISPLAYMANAGER=gdm and XSESSION=Gnome, the script that really gets loaded in my case is /etc/X11/Sessions/Gnome.

Now if you read that script, you will see that for system-wide use of the 7 buttons with the wheel working properly, you need to make a file called /etc/X11/Xmodmap in which u put this line:

Code:
pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5


Muchas gracias! I wrestled with this problem once before, but never figured out a solution. I was trying to modify my init scripts instead of pay attention to what they were actually doing.

This solved my problem, my wheel and side buttons are working as designed (although I have yet to try IMwheel). Thanks again!
_________________
-Dalcius
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedBeard0531
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2002
Posts: 415
Location: maryland

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wondering, why dont linux programmes write programs that use thes buttons nativly. I mean they've been around for several years now, and the only way to use them is through these "hacks".
_________________
OH MY GOD! Kenny just killed Kenny!
That Basterd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naughtyus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 463
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2003 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've followed the instructions to a T with my Intellimouse Optical. When I booted to fluxbox, it worked perfectly, but when I reboot into gnome or kde, the thumb buttons are acting how the scroll should, and I can't tell what the scroll-wheel is doing (it does do something, but it doesn't seem consistant).

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vache
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 45
Location: Springboro, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is another "Now what?" post... I have followed all the steps exactly, edited my .xinitrc and imwheelrc file. Thumb buttons act as up/down buttons, and scroll wheel only works when I'm directly over the scroll bar (and it doesn't even do it in all applications--just some). In Mozilla Firebird it doesn't do anything at all. Something is wrong with my IMWheel config? I added the ".*" config in to the file (I didn't remove anything else though -- should I?)
_________________
Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice... you can't fool me again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pindrop
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Posts: 165
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do I configure the left thumb button to be the enter key? Is this possible?

Edit: MS Intellimouse Optical :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blackace
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Jul 2002
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 8:28 am    Post subject: Re: Thumb button as <enter> Reply with quote

Certainly!

To make the thumb button perform an <enter> keystroke, you would need something like this in either your /etc/X11/imwheelrc or your ~/.imwheelrc:

Code:
"^GnomeTerminal"
None, Up, Enter


Replace "^GnomeTerminal" with whatever application you want to do it in. "None" is the modifier key (e.g. Control_L would be press thumb button while holding the left control key), "Up" is the mouse button you want to use, since I run imwheel like this:

Code:
# imwheel -p -b "672"

(6 = the big thumb button, 7 = the little thumb button, 2 = middle button)

imwheel assigns the buttons you specify in this order: Up, Down, Left, Right, Thumb1, Thumb2. So, Up = big thumb, Down = little thumb, Left = middle.

Hope this helps (btw, you can find way more information in the manpage for imwheel).

Blackace.
_________________
Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
- Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you bind the alt-tab button on logitech mx300, 500, and 700's?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
root@jez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can't load usbmouse and hid
you can only have one or the other

i have MS Intellimouse Optical and i use hid and it works fine
i tried usbmouse first with no success
_________________
-root@jez-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blackace
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Jul 2002
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
can you bind the alt-tab button on logitech mx300, 500, and 700's?

Sure, just use an entry in your .imwheelrc file like this:
Code:
None, Thumb1, Alt_L|Tab


Blackace.
_________________
Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
- Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
root@jez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have edited my XF86Config correctly
Code:


Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option    "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option    "Buttons" "7"
    Option    "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
    Option    "Resolution" "100"   


but when i try to xmod map i get an error...
Code:


bash-2.05b# xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5"
xmodmap:  commandline:0:  bad number of buttons, must have 5 instead of 7
xmodmap:  1 error encountered, aborting.


is there something else i should have done??
_________________
-root@jez-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blackace
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Jul 2002
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would assume that you have restarted X in between those two steps ?

Other than that, I don't see anything offhand...

Sorry,
Blackace.
_________________
Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
- Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gmichels
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jun 2003
Posts: 480
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

root@jez wrote:
you can't load usbmouse and hid
you can only have one or the other

i have MS Intellimouse Optical and i use hid and it works fine
i tried usbmouse first with no success


Well I do have hid and usbmouse enabled and it's working flawlessly.

Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by    Tainted: P
ide-scsi                8912   0
sd_mod                 11212   0  (unused)
sg                     29324   0  (unused)
sr_mod                 16696   0  (unused)
scsi_mod               58868   4  [ide-scsi sd_mod sg sr_mod]
nvidia               1542240  10
es1371                 29352   1
ac97_codec             11080   0  [es1371]
soundcore               4164   4  [es1371]
usbmouse                2296   0  (unused)
hid                    19492   0  (unused)
ehci-hcd               15688   0  (unused)
usb-uhci               24236   0  (unused)
usbcore                64992   1  [usbmouse hid ehci-hcd usb-uhci]
mousedev                4372   1
input                   3648   0  [usbmouse hid mousedev]
apm                    10152   2


The weird part is that I don't have usbmouse on modules.autoload, but the system loads it by it's own. At first (without usbmouse), my mouse wouldn't work at all, so while recompiling the kernel, I added usbmouse as a module just in case I needed it to play with the modules. Also, if I rmmod usbmouse, my Intellimouse Explorer stops working. Weird, huh? :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CovertCow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2003 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to say a big THANK YOU for putting this together. My Intellimouse explorer is currently working perfectly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2003 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to confuse this topic even more - https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=64701

I don't use IMwheel at all, I have the mouse working fine in Gnome 2, it scrolls etc just as I need it.

I haven't mapped any buttons to the thumb buttons, but then I don't generally use those on the desktop, mainly in games like Q3 :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okey, both my scroll wheel and thumb button works now,
tho the scroll wheel isn't as smooth as it was when X was handling it.
is there a way to set the "smoothness" in imwheel ?

Logitech Mouseman Dualoptical (6 buttons):
Code:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 4 5"
imwheel -k

_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2003 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

atac wrote:
is there a way to set the "smoothness" in imwheel ?


Have you tried the 'Resolution' setting for XF86Config ?

Code:
"Option" "Resolution" "3000"


Or something similar depending on what works for your mouse....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2003 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ard Righ wrote:


Have you tried the 'Resolution' setting for XF86Config ?

Code:
"Option" "Resolution" "3000"


Or something similar depending on what works for your mouse....


isn't that for the cursor ? i want to adjust the smoothness for the scroll wheel.
when scrolling now it goes like 30 lines, and when xfree was handling the scrolling it went 5-10 lines.

read on the forums about using imwheel -k -b "56", tho it dosen't work, been trying all sorts of combinations.
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2003 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wHAcKer wrote:
i think i solved it, damn, the feeling that you're beginning to understand a linux system rules ;)


yeah, it's better then sex

hrm, or is it? :P
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2003 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

atac wrote:
i want to adjust the smoothness for the scroll wheel.


You would have to read through the docs for imwheel, I have no idea since I don't use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2003 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i finally solved it, heh.

restarting X and it was working :oops:
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum