Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
installation problems - yaboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 3:31 pm    Post subject: installation problems - yaboot Reply with quote

Hi everybody!
I'm trying to install Gentoo on my new Mac (PowerMac G4, Dual-1,25) since a couple of days but I had lots of problems. First the 2004.2-ppc-LiveCD did not work, I got only error messages during the hardware detection and never entered a prompt. So I tried with the older 2004.1-Live-CD and basically it works. I did a stage-3-installation with the latest kernel (2.6.7-gentoo-r14) and don't get yaboot working. I've read all the threads I found on yabootconfig and similars but nothing worked till now.
The best I arrived to is after booting the system (reboot never worked, I always got the message: not able to umount filesystems ?? and then everything stops) I see the yaboot screen (I imagine it's it, only a couple of lines, not as Grub). When I try to give the "I" for Linux it just doesn't even print it, with the "X" for Mac OS I arrive to a nice grey screen and nothing else happens. Absolutely I don't know what to do, it's about for a week now that I'm fighting with this installation! I need to get it done soon. Here the fstab, yabootconfig and mac-fdisk (as I don't know how to copy it from the Mac to my notebook I re-write it abbreviated, sorry).
mac-fdisk
Code:

/dev/hda1  Partition map
/dev/hda2  NewWorld bootblock 800 K
/dev/hda3  Linux swap 512 M
/dev/hda4  root 2 G
/dev/hda5  home 2 G
/dev/hda6  usr 8 G
/dev/hda7  var 10 G
/dev/hda8  emporion [data disk] 43 G
/dev/hda9  Free space 925.4 M
/dev/hda10  Macintosh driver
... [Macintosh drivers]
/dev/hda17  HFS [Mac OS X partition] 8.1 G
/dev/hda18  Apple Free



/etc/fstab
Code:

/dev/hda4                  /                 ext3        noatime     0 0
/dev/hda3                  none           swap       sw             0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom iso9660    noauto,ro   0 0
/dev/hda5                  /home         ext3        noatime     0 0
/dev/hda6                  /usr            ext3        noatime     0 0
/dev/hda7                  /var            ext3        noatime     0 0
/dev/hda8                  /emporion    ext3        noatime     0 0
none                          /proc           proc        defaults     0 0
none                          /dev/shm     tmpfs      defaults     0 0


yaboot.conf

Code:

boot=/dev/hda2
device=hd:
ofboot=hd:2
delay=10
default=macosx
root=/dev/hda4
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r14
         label=Linux
         partition=4
         sysmap=/boot/System.map-2.6.7-gentoo-r14
         read-only
macosx=/dev/hda17


The yaboot.conf was changed manually by myself (as before it did not work) as I found a thread and I added the ofboot-line I believed only for G5.
Any help is appreciated (and needed!!!). If other useful information is needed let me know and thanks in advance as I encountered always much help in these forums and on the irc!!


Last edited by Bjosch on Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/dev/hda4                  /                 etx3        noatime     0 0


I know you said you were re-typing the thing, but if you have etx3, I think you should change it to ext3.

:-D
~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry!
But indeed, it's the fault of re-typing it. I re-read it twice but did'nt see it; hope there's no more of that. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iGentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Wollongong

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 4:50 pm    Post subject: Here's a working config Reply with quote

Gday
This is the config for my iBook G4 which has both OSX and Gentoo on a ReserFS Partition. You will have to use mac-fdisk reorder command to move your osx partition to be the first bootable partition for OSX to work. I suggest that your being too ambitious for a start. Just get it going on one partition first then copy the parts to the others and add then to fstab as you go.You're also going to waste a lot of space if you do it the way you have partitioned it. here's a breakdown of my 1 9.5 G Resierfs partition useage.

Code:

5849    bin
77395   boot
0       boot.bkp
0       dev
33456   etc
87087   home
53912   lib
4       mall
0       mnt
113235  opt
658916  proc
0       raid
15095   root
9311    sbin
0       sys
2391    tempcd
98      tmp
4625630 usr
922574  var



The whole lot takes 72% of the Reiserfs partition.

Here's the fstab. Be careful about lines

Code:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
#/dev/BOOT              /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 1
/dev/hda6               /               reiserfs        noatime                 0 0
/dev/hda5               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro,user   0 0
#lazarus:/raid          /raid           nfs             rsize=8192,wsize=8192,timeo=14,intr
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0



here's the yaboot.conf with osx boot and linux bootsplash

Code:

boot=/dev/hda2
device=hd:
partition=6
root=/dev/hda6
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

macosx=/dev/hda4
cdrom=/dev/cdroms/cdrom0


image=/boot/iGentoo-r14a
   label=iGentoo-r14a
   root=/dev/hda6
   sysmap=/boot/System.map-2.6.7
   initrd=/boot/initrd-think.splash
   read-only
   append="video=radeonfb:1024x768-32 theme=ThinkLinux splash=silent"   



here's the mac-fdisk listing
Code:

/dev/hda
        #                    type name                 length   base     ( size )  system
dump: name /dev/hda len 8
/dev/hda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                    63 @ 1        ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hda2         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap              1600 @ 37556872 (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda3         Apple_UNIX_SVR2  spare               262144 @ 64       (128.0M)  Linux native
/dev/hda4               Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_2 37294664 @ 262208   ( 17.8G)  HFS
/dev/hda5         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                1048576 @ 37558472 (512.0M)  Linux swap
/dev/hda6         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 Gentoo             19998072 @ 38607048 (  9.5G)  Linux native


I suggest you just get it all working on 1 partition them move it around if you need. You'll probably never need such a big var partition (bigger than my whole linux setup) and should just make that root and start with that. Getting it to actually boot is merely the first stage.

Good Luck


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for this information; sounds quite good. But before trying out two questions:
1. in your mac-fdisk you've got a spare Linux partition of 128 MB, do I need it? It might not be /boot, is it?
2. There are lots of Apple driver partitions which you don't seem to have. Are they superfluous? I did not dare to delete them.
And you said OSX might need
Quote:

to be the first bootable partition

I just know the idea of pcs, where you have four primary partitions and so on. I did not understand yet the "mac-way" where I have about 18 partitions. Are only some of them (the first three, four, five...) bootable?
as for the big /var-partition: I wanted to set up an LVM-system but I did not find any option in mac-fdisk; I've chosen a large var-partition as it is requested for some big compilations (OpenOffice, KDE not so much but enough); on my pc-notebook I had about 13 GB for Gentoo and it's full 98% (KDE 3.1.4, 3.1.5, 3.2.1...).
Might I just move up the MacOS partition after the bootstrap-partition or does it "clash" with the driver partitions which have to precede the OS?
Thanks again for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a shot in the dark, but I had something similar on my G4: When you partition your disk in OS X with Disk Utility, there's an option to include Mac OS 9 drivers. If this is selected, you get this ton of additional mac partitions. Unless you plan to boot into OS 9, there's no reason to check this option (and I found it also confuses linux if you want to mount your mac-partition while running gentoo). HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 4:01 pm    Post subject: Mac doesn't need to be first Reply with quote

Perhaps the Apple_partition_map needs to be first on the disk, but I've been sucsesfully booting 10.3 from /dev/hda10 for several months.

I did notice one more thing that would cause a problem. From your first post

Quote:
I try to give the "I" for Linux it just doesn't even print it,


That "I" is a lower-case L, as in L for linux. :-)

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually I've seen before posted partition tables with a MacOS-partition behind all the others. Nevertheless I will try...
The L I've seen so too, but it just did not work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iGentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Wollongong

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Again
I actually partitioned it using diskutil and it gave me a 128M free space that I decided to make a boot partition if I couldn't get it to boot off Reiser. However Reiser booted fine and I never bothered doing anything with it. Getting OSX to boot was harder and although putting it first may not be neccessary it solved my dual boot problems and linux boots fine and if I change boot ( e.g external firewire) with OSX I can select the linux partition by holding down Option. Perhaps its not essential but neither is putting Linux first. Reordering is trivial using mac-fdisk anyway , nothing is actually moved. Its just the order in which they appear.
I'll investigate exactly what is required the next time I set it up. I'm thinking of adding a Darwin Partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everybody another time!
Thanks for the further information. I did another try - and run in more or less the same problems. This time I put on
hda2 the bootstrap
hda3 HFS MacOS X
hda4 swap
hda5 root
and as usually yabootconf detected the partitions with the error I used a too old kernel (??). I rebooted and got after typing "L" just the grey screen. So I chrooted and controlled the yaboot.conf where I found instead of "device=hda:" something else (I forgot to write it down, now I don't remember any more). Anyway, I deleted it and wrote "device=hd:" and added below ("image=...") the lines "root=/dev/hda5" and "sysmap". I tried to do ybin -v (first from inside and then after exit with chroot) but it just doesn't work, I only get the message:
Code:

ybin: /dev/hda2: No such file or directory
ybin: /dev/nvram: No such file or directory
ybin: Warning: nvram will not be updated

I lost nearly all hope i had after all the answers here in the forum. After more than a whole week I try to get it work I don't know any longer how to go on. If I don't find a solution in the next days I'll give a try to Debian - more than anything else I need a productive Linux-OS on this Mac, as it is or should become my productive system. But I wished it were a Gentoo, I cannot understand why I run into all these problems, but on my x86-notebook everything went fine nearly the first time...
Maybe someone of you has an idea. I count on you!! And thanks for all the propositions up to now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you run mkofboot successfully after chrooting? If I understand the handbook right, this is the command for the first time you configure yaboot, ybin is for every change once you have your system up and running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's a problem with my English, but I understood it as yabootconfig runs mkofboot for me -the first time.
Quote:

If not, double check /etc/fstab. yabootconfig will then scan your system setup, create /etc/yaboot.conf and run mkofboot for you. mkofboot is used to format the bootstrap partition, and install the yaboot configuration file into it. After this enter the chroot again.

If I want to change after (and before rebooting) I have to use ybin.
Quote:

You might want to verify the contents of /etc/yaboot.conf. If you make changes to /etc/yaboot.conf (like setting the default/boot OS), make sure to rerun ybin -v to apply changes to the bootstrap partition.

Now continue with Rebooting the System.

But anyway, later I will try as well mkofboot. More than that it doesn't work cannot happen anyway, no?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have never had yabootconfig work for me. Not once. The only thing it did well was give me a broken yaboot.config that I used to learn how to make a working one. :-D

I did have to run mkofboot to get it to work.

Good luck

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I run mkofboot with
Code:

mkofboot -v -b /dev/hda2 -o hd:2

I was asked if bootstrap should be formatted HFS; first I answered no, and mkofboot aborted, so I choose yes and everything went fine. I rebooted and got again the yaboot-screen, but now without any options!
And maybe it passes but in this moment also the LiveCD halts after giving boot option G4-SMP, G4-SMP video=radeonfb:1280x1024@75 or G4-SMP video=ofonly!
Any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no ideas what to do any more and I cannot pass monthes with troubleshooting, and so I think I will install a Debian - at least for the moment. Maybe later I will try again with Gentoo and for the moment make a new installation just on my x86-notebook.
Thanks a lot anyway that you tried to help me out of this mess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum