Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Install freenx
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hotpurple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for some reason I cannot get the nxserver command to work I get

Code:
# nxserver --adduser chris
bash: nxserver: command not found


Any ideas anyone?

Cheers

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t00lloyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The NX binaries are probably not in your default executable path. Execute them by spelling out the full path of the executable on the command line: > /usr/NX/bin/nxserver --adduser yourname

You can also add the path to your default path.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hotpurple wrote:
for some reason I cannot get the nxserver command to work I get

Code:
# nxserver --adduser chris
bash: nxserver: command not found


Any ideas anyone?

Cheers

Chris


Code:
env-update; source /etc/profile
might also work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i went through the steps on http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/FreeNX_Server

but when I run "nxclient" it just hangs.
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t00lloyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you SSH into the NX server box at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DDV01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 70
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I had the same problem, wich eventually led to a time-out.
In my case the problem was the directory .nx (with dot in front) in the users home directory. It was owned by root instead of that user.

a simple chown fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, the documentation is a little lacking for free-nx, but I downloaded the nomachine.com windows client and can now login to my gentoo box.
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hollywoodcole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Oxford, Mississippi

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't Understand why people are having so many problems with this, I got onto FreeNX yesterday from the Suse 10 Article review. It took me about few hours or reading about NX Machine and what they where about. But when I found the HOWTO on Gentoo Wiki and followed the instructions, everything went flawlessly. I'm typeing this post through it right now :D

Another thing, Why are people wanting to use the nxclient on the server, too connect to another server somewhere or to the localhost server?
_________________
If the code and the comments disagree, then both are probably wrong.
---/usr/games/fortune

Hollywoodcole.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was oringally going to use tightvnc, since I can run the server/client (web) on xp and linux....then I came across NX review on LinuxJournal.

and it was supposed to be much better with speed improvements (it is)...however, I don't like the closed-source of it.

I guess it was confusing, having to run the free-nx server, with the nxclient (nomachine.com).

Note, nxclient for windows crashes on the 2nd login attempt, just kill the cygserver process and re-try.

I still have to read through that wiki, because I'm not exactly sure what is going on with the ssh keys and security.
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arjay1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 57
Location: Coin, Spain

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hollywoodcole

Congratulations for getting freenx to work. I know that some people have just been able to get it to work out of the box. You are obviously one of them. I'm pleased for you.

However, you must understand (and you should if you have read all of this thread and the many others on other sites) that there are hundreds, possibly thousands of people who never did get it to work :oops: You only have to look back through this thread - easily the best and most comprehensive on the internet. There are loads of people in this thread who never got freenx sorted out and drifted away after a few days/weeks - just like me. I keep monitoring the post for old time's sake :)

Although a relative newbie to linux, I have tried 3-4 distros and got everything to work I ever wanted on every one - including some quite difficult things like dual displays, wireless etc. However I never got freenx to work. I tried it gentoo-debian and debian-debian without success (though never linux-windows which is what many people seem to want). I got as far as getting the client to talk to nomachine's test sites but never to my server even with the inbuilt nomachine keys.

It is true that I never tried gentoo-gentoo but that was because I didn't want to have to put gentoo on my main server for my home setup, taking that out of commisssion for days and days. I posted here and got a lot of generous help. At one stage I had almost got there but people (quite fairly I thought) began to get pissed off with this debian guy posting irrelevant stuff in their thread - so I gave up. The debian sites are a waste of time because although people are very willing they just don't have the expertise that is available here.

I followed at least a dozen HOWTOs - including those on this site - and read pretty well everything ever written about it. My latest find was from a senior developer at nomachine saying that most of the advice for installing freenx/nxclient was just plain wrong (his words not mine).

Eventually I dropped gentoo from my experimental box and went back to an all-debian system. This works brilliantly as long as you don't want freenx :wink:

Of course, you may well say, that I am just plain dumb, because if I haven't got it to work after 3 months and 3 distros, it must be me - not the application. Yes, well you may be right - but that doesn't negate my argument: Freenx has got to be one of the worst packages for installation ever to come out of the linux stable - and that is saying something.

However - I'll keep on watching and wait for a proper "out-of-the-box" freenx installation for a distro somewhere and then I'll try again. Anyway, keep up the good work - as a forum you've helped many a user to install it and no doubt a few more yet.

Regards

RJ


Last edited by arjay1 on Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hollywoodcole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Oxford, Mississippi

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ayjay1,

I understand where your coming from completely, don't take my last post as me showing off that I got it to work. Take it as hope for people to show that it does it work and that freeNX install is not broken. I have to admit from using it this whole week and talking to a few others that its not close to the NoMachine version. I am still having problems with reconnecting sessions.

But if you or anyone else wants help, I will be glad to be assistance.
_________________
If the code and the comments disagree, then both are probably wrong.
---/usr/games/fortune

Hollywoodcole.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arjay1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 57
Location: Coin, Spain

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hollywoodcole - hey no way. I'm sure you weren't showing off. I'm just pleased someone had success with it. Thanks for the offer to help out but I don't think I will try again for a while. I wasted around 3 or 4 hours a day for weeks and am tired of trying. Anyway I am having too much fun with things that do work :lol:. Anyway, who knows, someone using debian might actually find a way to make it work. There was one rather old thread claiming to have done so, but most seem to have failed and gone back to VNC/TightVNC or whatever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hideki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How I got 1.5.0 backend to work on 0.4.4 freenx.
I just post how I just got it working with the current beta ebuild. Hopefully it clears thing up for someone trying 0.4.4 with 1.5.0 backend out.

Do note that I was one of the lucky guy to get 0.4.0 official gentoo ebuild to work without any special tinkerings.
So, there's possibilty this may not apply to everyone, but it's just the way worked for me.
And I'm using Mac Mini on this gentoo, so apparently i'm on ppc architecture.

Here goes...

If you still haven't got the overlay settings done yet, you can do so like this, as posted in earlier explanations as well.

Code:

# mkdir /usr/local/portage
# nano -w /etc/make.conf <- uncomment or add the "PORTAGE_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage" line.
# cd /usr/local/portage
# wget http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=67454 -O download.tar.bz2
# tar jxvf download.tar.bz2


And onto unmasking...

Code:

# cat >>/etc/portage/package.keywords
net-misc/nxproxy ~ppc #<- most people want to say ~x86
net-misc/nx-x11 ~ppc #<- most people want to say ~x86
net-misc/nxserver-freenx ~ppc #<- most people want to say ~x86
^D

# cat >>/etc/portage/package.unmask
net-misc/nxproxy ~ppc #<- most people want to say ~x86
net-misc/nx-x11 ~ppc #<- most people want to say ~x86
net-misc/nxserver-freenx ~ppc #<- most people want to say ~x86
^D


Now, since the beta ebuild was made a while back, nomachine updated their source versions and deleted the older ones, so we need to edit the ebuild to match theirs.
Code:
nano -w /usr/local/portage/net-misc/nx-x11/nx-x11-1.5.0-r2.ebuild


First most importantly, change the URI_BASE line to the following. This is the linked url from the official nomachine web.
URI_BASE="http://64.34.161.181/download/1.5.0/sources"

And next some version differences. Find the line and fix to the following.
SRC_NXAGENT="nxagent-$PV-93.tar.gz"
SRC_NXDESKTOP="nxdesktop-$PV-75.tar.gz"

Now save the ebuild file and run the following command to update the md5 sums.
Code:
ebuild /usr/local/portage/net-misc/nx-x11/nx-x11-1.5.0-r2.ebuild digest

This has made the ebuild that should be ready to be run from emerge.

At this moment when you run
Code:
emerge -uDNav world

or
Code:
emerge -av nxserver-freenx

If you have no earlier version of freenx installed yet.

You should see 'nxserver-freenx-0.4.4', along with 'nx-x11' and 'nx-proxy' both on version 1.5.0 wanting to get upgraded/installed.
And well... hopefully your compile finishes and by editing the node.conf , it should work.
Code:

cd /usr/NX/etc/
cp node.conf.sample node.conf
nano -w node.conf

cd /var/log
touch nxserver.log
chown nx nxserver.log


With the node.conf edit it, so it should read, ENABLE_1_5_0_BACKEND="1", and you might want to edit it to NX_LOG_LEVEL=5,
so you can read some debugging logs.

Comment.
Although my try without much struggle on RDP session failed to start, now GNOME session closes fine and I can even resume fine from Windows client 1.5.0, though when you don't fullscreen the view is a little wrong, but you can still use without a problem. I just hope I can RDP in, since from this version it seems to support the full color finally. And also the floating window app function works :wink: I can run a linux app just like a regular window app on windows... only it is run on the network. The GTK theme becomes default, but I guess gtk-chtheme can take care of that. Haven't done but you can launch gdesklets or some such launcher and launch linux app with dock bar on Windows desktop :lol:

All in all... great app. Honestly, better than expensive commercial alternatives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Freenx-server+nxclient seem to be ignoring my .xinitrc file.

Any ideas?

I have it set

I saw the thread
http://mail.kde.org/pipermail/freenx-knx/2005-March/000977.html

and I tried setting the directives and restart
nxserver, but I still get a blank screen when I choose
"Load from X server"

node.conf:
USER_X_STARTUP_SCRIPT=.xinitrc
DEFAULT_X_SESSION=/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

$HOME/.xinitrc:
exec xfce4-session

The only time I can get xfce4 to
load is when I
specficy the command to load it, however this (and any
other way) of looging in via NX !machine client
doesn't pick up my user's customized settings. I just
get a default desktop (be it gnome, xfce4, kde, etc).
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed it.... had to chmod 755 the script under /etc/X11

node.conf:
DEFAULT_X_SESSION=/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

Quote:
chmod 755 /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc



I have one final gripe, which I haven't been able to find anywhere....how do I let the user import their .config directories from their $HOME?

for example, when I login from desktop, i get my customized .fluxbox settings (.gnome, .config/xfce4, etc)...but when I login with "NX Client from !machine", I don't get those customizations I did, only the default window manager configuration.

I tried symlinking my $HOME/.config (xfce4) to /usr/NX/home/nx/.config, but that didn't do anything.

Anybody else know a way around? I emailed nomachine, but they are unwilling to help unless I pay for support (can't even submit bugs to 'em without paying).
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnEptUne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 653

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have installed nxserver-freenx. But I always got this error messages when I try to connect to the server (which is on the same machine as the "client")

Code:

NX> 203 NXSSH running with pid: 20437
NX> 285 Enabling check on switch command
NX> 285 Enabling skip of SSH config files
NX> 200 Connected to address: 127.0.0.1 on port: 12022
NX> 202 Authenticating user: nx
NX> 208 Using auth method: publickey
NX> 204 Authentication failed.



My sshd_config seems fine (commented default values removed)
Code:

Protocol 2
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key
KeyRegenerationInterval 1h
ServerKeyBits 768
SyslogFacility AUTH
LogLevel INFO
PermitRootLogin no
StrictModes yes
MaxAuthTries 300
RSAAuthentication yes
PubkeyAuthentication yes
AuthorizedKeysFile      .ssh/authorized_keys2
PasswordAuthentication yes
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no
AllowTcpForwarding yes
X11Forwarding yes


And I have done this:
Code:

# chown -R nx:server /usr/NX
# /usr/NX/bin/nxkeygen
# /usr/NX/bin/nxserver --adduser user1


Here's my node.conf
Code:

ENABLE_USERMODE_AUTHENTICATION="0"
ENABLE_PASSDB_AUTHENTICATION="1"
ENABLE_SSH_AUTHENTICATION="1"
ENABLE_SU_AUTHENTICATION="0"
SSHD_CHECK_IP="1"
SESSION_LIMIT=20
SESSION_USER_LIMIT=20
DISPLAY_LIMIT=20
SSHD_CHECK_IP="1"
ENABLE_1_5_0_BACKEND="1"


But it still wouldn't let authoricate me. I have upgraded to the 1.5 version recently, but it yields to same result. I suspect it is ssh related issues or the public key pairs are not avaiable. But nxkeygen and nxserver --adduser $username would generated and copied to corresponding files to the user home (~/.ssh) and /usr/NX/home/nx/.ssh. I have set up so ssh will read from ~.ssh/authoricated_key2 instead, so all should works fine. Could anyone help me troubleshoot this problem? For example, how do I enter debug mode? How to get the logging to run? Thank you.
_________________
"There will be more joy in heaven over the tear-bathed face of a repentant sinner than over the white robes of a hundred just men." (LM, 114)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try permissions of ~/.ssh
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnEptUne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 653

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"try permissions of ~/.ssh?" Do you mean I should make it world writable?

[Edit]
I have changed the permission of ~/.ssh to 755, but I still cannot connect. The public key authentication failed.
[/Edit]
_________________
"There will be more joy in heaven over the tear-bathed face of a repentant sinner than over the white robes of a hundred just men." (LM, 114)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nahpets
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 1178
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know how to change the color depth when connecting to the server? VNC lets you force the color depth to 16 or 8...

I'm also curious as to the difference between PNG compression and JPEG compression... anyone know which is better?
_________________
Let me guess, you picked out yet another colorful box with a crank that I'm expected to turn and turn until OOP! big shock, a jack pops out and you laugh and the kids laugh and the dog laughs and I die a little inside.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, all...

Just emerged =nxserver-freenx-0.4.0 a few days ago and have been generally sucessful setting it up. I have encountered an inability of my windows clients trying to reopen suspended sessions. Linux clients work properly both with regard to suspending a session and then reopening it. Windows clients appear to suspend a session, but when I attempt to connect again, the "NX - Available sessions" box lists the prior session, but won't reopen it, won't terminate it, but it will let me open a new session. :(

I notice m27315 wrote in this thread, on Tue Sep 13, 2005:
Quote:
Suspend/Resume - Does this work yet with a WindowsXP client and Gentoo freenx server? Even if I always use the same client box to connect to the same server box?


I suspect this is the same issue...

Are there yet any suggestions as to it's cause or resolution?

Thanks...
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suspend/Resume works with version 0.4.4 of FreenNX on Windows. So you need to use that version if you want that feature. It is not supported below that version. :)
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StifflerStealth wrote:
Quote:
Suspend/Resume works with version 0.4.4 of FreenNX on Windows. So you need to use that version if you want that feature. It is not supported below that version. :)


I don't have FreeNX installed on the Windows PC... I just have nxclient-1.5.0-131 on the Windows system, and on my gentoo box I have nxserver-freenx-0.4.0 installed.

I'm not sure I know what you are suggesting...

Thanks...
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry. I was a bit unclear there. :oops: I meant that the FreeNX Server version 0.4.4 supports session resuming from a Windows Client. I use the FreeNX server v0.4.4 and connect to it from two different Windows PCs and I can resume a session. I hope this is a little more clear.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StifflerStealth wrote:
Quote:
Sorry. I was a bit unclear there... I meant that the FreeNX Server version 0.4.4


NP... I'm just interested in finding out how to get this working. :)

As stated above, I am working with nxserver-freenx-0.4.0, which is in portage. How else does your version differ from FreeNX Server v. 0.4.4, and how would I upgrade to that version?

Thanks...
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:32 am    Post subject: Any news on FreeNx install on AMD64 Reply with quote

Any news on FreeNx install on AMD64.

Last time a tried (in July) it was almost impossible to install / compile FreeNx on a AMD64 or Intel EM-64.
Unfortunately, I purchased a 64bit server before I discovered this limitation. :cry:

Regards,

Stephen...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 15 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum