Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Install freenx
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the rendering artifacts are because of something else. If I choose LAN, the rendering is fine but is slow. This also means that no compression is coming into picture, so the problem part is the compression, it is causing the trouble.

It looks like some packages getting compiled with wrong headers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
-j3 caused build failures in those places. nx-x11 builds fine with -j3.

econf failed because the package doesn't like extra options that econf passes to configure. Only in the places I modified, rest were fine.
When I test compile these components, I only test using -j1. That is the only one I use, so I that's why I never ran into that issue with higher values. :) Thanks for pointing that out. I will add the -j1 in the ebuilds. I will also study why econf failed. :S I would like to use econf so I need to work on that. I think most of the options on the configure lines can be eliminated ... That might help.

Thanks again. It's getting late here, so this will need to wait until tomorrow. :)

Cheers.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
the rendering artifacts are because of something else. If I choose LAN, the rendering is fine but is slow. This also means that no compression is coming into picture, so the problem part is the compression, it is causing the trouble.

It looks like some packages getting compiled with wrong headers.
That's a possibility. Have you tried using the "prebuilt" useflag and installing nxclient and nxnode again? If those work, then we know it's something with the compiling. But, I can't see what. The headers from /usr/NX/include should be used and I did this same exact thing with the 1.5 ebuilds where I removed nxcomp from the nx-x11 compiling. hmmm.

In the mean time, I have been debating whether or not I should merge nxclient and nxclient-base into one ebuild and do the same for the nxnodes. :P I have a lot of debates in my head right now. XD

Cheers.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I built the nxnode on server and nxclient on client with prebuilt, and still the same display corruption/artifacts. So, its nothing wrong with the build system as such.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
I built the nxnode on server and nxclient on client with prebuilt, and still the same display corruption/artifacts. So, its nothing wrong with the build system as such.
That's both good news and bad news at the same time. :? Good news that it's not the build system per se ... I wonder if it's a dependency error or something else. I spent a long time pouring over the dependency lists and making sure everything was included, but I could have missed something. Hmmm. I am doing something rather test worthy this time around. I have wrapper scripts that set the paths. Maybe if you removed the wrappers ... Any file with a .bin extension is the original file, then the wrapper has the same name as the .bin file, so moving all those files and taking off the .bin extention should yield the original file. You can try that and see if that's it. It's a simple wrapper but something may be wrong for you with it.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you able to get a good working desktop with these ebuilds in your setup? I tried even connecting to localhost for test, even that has these artifacts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. I can get a working desktop. Others have gotten a working desktop. Some have gotten a desktop with Gnome but missing icons. :S Though, some have not used the ebuilds but have a working 2.0.0 setup, but some have issues. So, I am confused and perplexed.

Cheers.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There were some issues with rendering in xorg 7.1 with some binary drivers. Do you know what impact would that have? My setup involves at least one xorg 7.1 machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Predseda3D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:34 pm    Post subject: Problems with NX Client version 2.0.0 Reply with quote

Hi all,

If somebody have problem with NX Clients versions 2.0.0 and FreeNX 0.4.x or 0.5.0, i wrote some wiki.
You can watch and edit it here:
http://openfacts.berlios.de/index-en.phtml?title=FreeNX_FAQ/Problem_Solving

or here:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/Talk:HOWTO_FreeNX_Server#Solutions_for_NX_Clients_versions_2.0.0_and_FreeNX_0.4.x_and_0.5.0

Hope that will help.

Predseda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StifflerStealth wrote:
Yes. I can get a working desktop. Others have gotten a working desktop. Some have gotten a desktop with Gnome but missing icons. :S Though, some have not used the ebuilds but have a working 2.0.0 setup, but some have issues. So, I am confused and perplexed.

Cheers.
Are you using WAN speed in the confuiguration or LAN? The problem doesn't reproduce if I use LAN speed. So, may be try WAN if you are using LAN right now, see if you get a good desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcarlson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:33 pm    Post subject: nxserver PATH Reply with quote

I have an odd problem that, nxserver does not seem to get its PATH variable, and cannot execute basic commands. The errors shown below also appear in the nxclient window (on another host) when trying to connect.

Code:
grundle ~ # su - nx
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 18: dirname: command not found
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 18: which: command not found
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 18: .: filename argument required
.: usage: . filename [arguments]
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 470: [: : integer expression expected
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 431: [: : integer expression expected
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 481: tr: command not found
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 481: grep: command not found
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 481: cut: command not found
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 484: cut: command not found
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 431: [: : integer expression expected
HELLO NXSERVER - Version 
/usr/NX/bin/nxserver: line 431: [: : integer expression expected


I have another machine which works fine:

Code:
gentoo ~ # su - nx
HELLO NXSERVER - Version 1.5.0-50-SVN OS (GPL)
NX> 105 exit
exit
Exit
NX> 999 Bye
gentoo ~ #


The first machine is obviously bungled in some manner, with something having nothing to do with nxserver, but where? The files in /etc/env.d look ok, and /etc/profile seems normal.

Please help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
StifflerStealth wrote:
Yes. I can get a working desktop. Others have gotten a working desktop. Some have gotten a desktop with Gnome but missing icons. :S Though, some have not used the ebuilds but have a working 2.0.0 setup, but some have issues. So, I am confused and perplexed.

Cheers.
Are you using WAN speed in the confuiguration or LAN? The problem doesn't reproduce if I use LAN speed. So, may be try WAN if you are using LAN right now, see if you get a good desktop.


Stiffler, can you please confirm that you get a working and useable desktop using WAN speed and RGB encoding? I have now tried it on a brand new setup and same corrupted display.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hani
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got this strange problem, when I use nxclient to connect localhost, it works perfectly, but when I try to connect from different computer with windows client connection times out.

Code:
NX> 203 NXSSH running with pid: 2168
NX> 285 Enabling check on switch command
NX> 285 Enabling skip of SSH config files
NX> 285 Setting the preferred NX options
NX> 200 Connected to address: 85.76.xxx.xxx on port: 22
NX> 211 The authenticity of host '85.76.xxx.xxx (85.76.xxx.xxx)' can't be established.
RSA key fingerprint is 01:a5:5d:94:12:94:2d:62:05:f8:66:18:bb:78:74:1d.
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)?


This is all I got, I dont really have any idea what is causing this, but im quite new to all this. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
devsk wrote:
StifflerStealth wrote:
Yes. I can get a working desktop. Others have gotten a working desktop. Some have gotten a desktop with Gnome but missing icons. :S Though, some have not used the ebuilds but have a working 2.0.0 setup, but some have issues. So, I am confused and perplexed.

Cheers.
Are you using WAN speed in the confuiguration or LAN? The problem doesn't reproduce if I use LAN speed. So, may be try WAN if you are using LAN right now, see if you get a good desktop.


Stiffler, can you please confirm that you get a working and useable desktop using WAN speed and RGB encoding? I have now tried it on a brand new setup and same corrupted display.
Oh, sorry. I've been busy lately. I will test when I have time. :)
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcarlson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hani wrote:
I got this strange problem, when I use nxclient to connect localhost, it works perfectly, but when I try to connect from different computer with windows client connection times out.

Code:
NX> 203 NXSSH running with pid: 2168
NX> 285 Enabling check on switch command
NX> 285 Enabling skip of SSH config files
NX> 285 Setting the preferred NX options
NX> 200 Connected to address: 85.76.xxx.xxx on port: 22
NX> 211 The authenticity of host '85.76.xxx.xxx (85.76.xxx.xxx)' can't be established.
RSA key fingerprint is 01:a5:5d:94:12:94:2d:62:05:f8:66:18:bb:78:74:1d.
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)?


This is all I got, I dont really have any idea what is causing this, but im quite new to all this. :)


This happens upon any initial connection using ssh. Connect to the server using any ssh client (putty, cygwin 's ssh, securecrt, whatever), and answer 'yes' to the above question. It will be saved in some type of known_hosts file on your connecting computer and you will not be asked again, unless the ssh configuration changes on the server computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_UnO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Lisboa, Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greetings, i'm trying to put freefx to work but no luck...I edited make.conf, set up the overlay and emerged the packages, but I always get this error:

Quote:

NX> 203 NXSSH running with pid: 9152
NX> 285 Enabling check on switch command
NX> 285 Enabling skip of SSH config files
NX> 285 Setting the preferred NX options
NX> 200 Connected to address: 127.0.0.1 on port: 22
NX> 202 Authenticating user: nx
NX> 208 Using auth method: publickey
NX> 204 Authentication failed


And my sshd_config:

Quote:

Port 22
Protocol 2
AuthorizedKeysFile .ssh/authorized_keys2
ServerKeyBits 2048
SyslogFacility AUTH
LogLevel INFO
LoginGraceTime 60
PermitRootLogin no
PubkeyAuthentication yes
PasswordAuthentication yes
PermitEmptyPasswords no
Compression yes
KeepAlive yes
ClientAliveInterval 30
ClientAliveCountMax 4
UsePAM yes
AllowUsers nx jpasl


I have the keys setup in the same file as the nx server...allowed nx user...but with no luck. Also, i'm not sure if PAM is really needed in the SSH config. Any help would be appreciated ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

typically,
Code:
ls -al /usr/NX/home/nx/.ssh/
reveals why ssh won't go thru. If the perms are not proper, it won't allow nx to login. BTW, did you add the user jpasl (I guess that is the user trying to start a new sesison) with
Code:
nxserver --adduser jpasl


BTW, Does anybody else see the rendering artifacts with NX 2.0 backend while using WAN and RGB encoding?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the artifacts look like this:

Ugly NX Rendering
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hani
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it to work, for some reason nxclient didnt save known-hosts file and I needed to copy it from server.

Now when I emerge nxnode-base I get this, this is part of nxnode-fix-nxcomp-paths.patch-5836.out, I can post whole file too, but it's all just "No file to patch. Skipping patch."

Code:
PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p1 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/local/overlays/nx/net-misc/nxnode-base/files/2.0.0/nxnode-fix-nxcomp-paths.patch

=========================================
patching file nx-X11/lib/X11/Imakefile
patching file nx-X11/programs/Xserver/Imakefile
patching file nx-X11/programs/Xserver/hw/nxagent/Imakefile
patching file nx-X11/programs/Xserver/os/Imakefile
patching file nxcompext/Makefile.in
Hunk #1 FAILED at 31.
1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file nxcompext/Makefile.in.rej
=========================================



nxserver works with nx-x11-1.50 etc, but it has some bugs so I want to install newer version.
For example when I resume suspended session it fails the first time, but works on the second attempt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_UnO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Lisboa, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
typically,
Code:
ls -al /usr/NX/home/nx/.ssh/
reveals why ssh won't go thru. If the perms are not proper, it won't allow nx to login. BTW, did you add the user jpasl (I guess that is the user trying to start a new sesison) with
Code:
nxserver --adduser jpasl


BTW, Does anybody else see the rendering artifacts with NX 2.0 backend while using WAN and RGB encoding?


Thank you for the reply ;)

Checked and the owner of the files is nx, which looks good to me...and yes I added the user jpasl. Still doesn't work... :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

El_UnO wrote:

Checked and the owner of the files is nx, which looks good to me...and yes I added the user jpasl. Still doesn't work... :?
can you post 'ls -al' of that directory? The idea is to catch errors which you are not seeing, right? You will have to show to others for that to happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_UnO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Lisboa, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
can you post 'ls -al' of that directory? The idea is to catch errors which you are not seeing, right? You will have to show to others for that to happen.


Ok then, here is the output:

Code:

# ls -al /usr/NX/home/nx/.ssh/

total 16
drwx------ 2 nx root  4096 Aug  9 13:16 .
drwx------ 3 nx root  4096 Aug  9 13:16 ..
-rw------- 1 nx root  602 Aug  9 16:52 authorized_keys2
-rw------- 1 nx root  602 Aug  9 16:52 server.id_dsa.pub.key


Any hints?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why is client.id_dsa.key missing from there? I don't think ebuild deletes it. The keys go in pair, and hence if client.id_dsa.key is present in that directory, its easier to test if that is the key the client has installed. Easiest way for you is to use nxkeygen to recreate the key pair and transfer client.id_dsa.key to the client (leave it in that directory as well for future reference), import it in the profile on client side and retry the connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StifflerStealth,

regarding changes to nxnode-base ebuild:

MAKEOPTS=-j1 is required in the places I mentioned. nxspool will not build on machines which have MAKEOPTS=-j2/3. Your latest ebuilds are not fixed for this.

econf doesn't work nxdekstop. Please replace it with ./configure

Its a shame that I reported these earlier and are still not incorporated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
the artifacts look like this:

Ugly NX Rendering

Ok, I have nailed it down to one option in the NX engine. If I select 0 memory cache size, the corruption doesn't happen. So, the corruption is coming from the memory cache handling code. Note that I can have as big a disk cache as I want, without any corruption.

Now, I am back to the original speeds and looks of NX. A very happy camper here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 25 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum