Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Install OpenOffice Localized
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
max4ever
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Location: almost in hell

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:47 pm    Post subject: [HOWTO] Install OpenOffice Localized Reply with quote

HOWTO: Install OpenOffice Localized
So you want to install openoffice(or maybe openoffice-ximian, this howto should work for both, just change the name where necessary)
so open konsole/xterm/whatever... then "su" to root and type
Code:
emerge openoffice

if it works, you're done reading, if not you would get an ugly code saying
Code:
 * ****************************************************************
 *  It is important to note that OpenOffice.org is a very fragile
 *  build when it comes to CFLAGS.  A number of flags have already
 *  been filtered out.  If you experience difficulty merging this
 *  package and use agressive CFLAGS, lower the CFLAGS and try to
 *  merge again.
 * ****************************************************************
 * Unknown LANGUAGE setting!
 *
 * Known LANGUAGE settings are:
 *   ENUS | PORT | RUSS | GREEK | DTCH | FREN | SPAN | FINN | CAT | ITAL |
 *   CZECH | SLOVAK | DAN | SWED | POL | GER | PORTBR | THAI | ESTONIAN |
 *   JAPN | KOREAN | CHINSIM | CHINTRAD | TURK | HINDI | ARAB | HEBREW

!!! ERROR: app-office/openoffice-XXX failed.
!!! Function set_languages, Line 194, Exitcode 0
!!! (no error message)

suppose we want to install openoffice in italian(borchi suggested that "more languages are supported but those listed in ebuild" so if you want to experiment theoretically you should manually hack the ebuild...)
we would do an
Code:
LANGUAGE=ITAL emerge openoffice

if it didn't work keep on reading
ok so let's take a look at what is actually $LANGUAGE set to
Code:
echo $LANGUAGE

then
Code:
export LANGUAGE="ITAL"
(notice there is no $ in front of language)
and one more time let's look at our variable
Code:
echo $LANGUAGE

it said ITAL? ok let's try to
Code:
emerge openoffice

and it still gives us the same error, you would say WHY? everyone just says to set the language variable...

well don't worry i found a fix :) we just type this
Code:
env-update

now just run
Code:
emerge openoffice
and wait until it compiles :wink:

that's it :wink:, if it doesn't work, then i guess your only way to install it would be to hack the .ebuild :roll: which is in /usr/portage/app-office/openoffice/name_of_ebuild.ebuild

------------------------------------[NOTES]------------------------------------

you need A LOT of free space, at least more than 1 GB... i don't know how much exactly...

I've been having some font problems in OpenOffice so i read
http://www.openoffice.org/FAQs/fontguide.html, THE thing that solved the problems was that i checked(as in clicked/set to on) the "do NOT use anti-alias" for fonts smaller than 8 pixels(don't know how the option is called exactly in english...)

P.S. you might want to check the bug report for this ebuild if you are having problems, though i know you're too lazy to do that :p

Enjoy 8)
_________________
Stop posting your PC's hardware as your signature.


Last edited by max4ever on Sat Sep 25, 2004 5:15 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaxgough
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Usually at work

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 3:15 am    Post subject: HOWTO: Install OpenOffice Localized Reply with quote

I always use the -k switch when emerging to do it local (i.e. from the packages CD)

I used USE="bindist" aswell but it does not seem to matter. The -k works fine.

Jax
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genkaku
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 72
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My system:
Athlon XP 2600+@2800+ Barton
256MB RAM

Compile time of OpenOffice-Ximian-1.3.2:
405 minutes.

;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
borchi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i believe more languages are supported but those listed in ebuild.

for example i must manually edit the openoffice ebuild to build it with SLOVENIAN localization. i also heard the same for HUNGARIAN localization so there are possibly more languages that need to be added to the ebuild.

who decides what localizations are supported in gentoo for openoffice?

btw, i only tried slovenian localization with openoffice-ximian (but probably should work with "vanilla" openoffice, too).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bludger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Didn't work!
I tried the following:

export LANGUAGE=ENUS
env-update
emerge openoffice

I still get the set-language error. I guess I will have to hack the ebuild again. Rather annoying!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xk2c
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bludger wrote:
Didn't work!
I tried the following:

export LANGUAGE=ENUS
env-update
emerge openoffice

I still get the set-language error. I guess I will have to hack the ebuild again. Rather annoying!


alternatively you could also put :
Code:
LANGNAME="ENUS"


in /etc/make.conf. This worked for me.
_________________
useful Xterm, Aterm and RXVT-Unicode features
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxophil
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Diddeleng, Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: What about multiple languages? Reply with quote

Hi
Thanks for your howto, but I'd like to know if there's a way to install OOo in multiple languages. For example, does
Code:
LANGUAGE="ENUS FREN" emerge openoffice

work? If not is there some other way to do this? (And I don't want to try it out, since compiling OOo takes a day on my PC...)
Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LANGUAGE=FREN emerge openoffice
ENUS is set default
It's possible select number of location, example
LANGUAGE=39 emerge openoffice
39=ITAL
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxophil
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Diddeleng, Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My question was not about installing in one language different from ENUS but simultaneously in multiple languages, so that different users can use it in different languages (just like kde). Thanks anyway for replying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes
LANGUAGE=ITAL,FREN emerge openoffice
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxophil
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Diddeleng, Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:37 am    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll try that when I'm back at home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SPW
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 318
Location: Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ares wrote:
yes
LANGUAGE=ITAL,FREN emerge openoffice

I tried that with the openoffice-bin package and I didn't get any error message (I thought this was maybe only possible with the source package, and the binary would give me an error message). Now I wonder if this is really possible with openoffice-bin or not. At least I don't find any menu in the options where I could specify which of the languages I chose during installation should be used :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SPW wrote:
ares wrote:
yes
LANGUAGE=ITAL,FREN emerge openoffice

I tried that with the openoffice-bin package and I didn't get any error message (I thought this was maybe only possible with the source package, and the binary would give me an error message). Now I wonder if this is really possible with openoffice-bin or not. At least I don't find any menu in the options where I could specify which of the languages I chose during installation should be used :?:

openoffice-bin is default language en_US, not possible emerge with LANGUAGE=
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SPW
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 318
Location: Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ares wrote:
openoffice-bin is default language en_US, not possible emerge with LANGUAGE=

That's what I expected, but I was induced into error because "LANGUAGE=SPAN,FREN,ENUS,GER emerge openoffice-bin" didn't bring up any error or warning that multi-language support is impossible with the binaries.
But I was also wondering HOW one can change the language of OOo once it is installed in multiple languages (compiled from sources). I can't imagine WHERE I would change the language of the program.
In KDE it is quite easy to change these settings (using Control Centre). Does OOo look at the language defined in the locale or is there some other possibility to change it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Launch ooffice
Tools -> Options -> Language Settings -> Language
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SPW
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 318
Location: Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ares wrote:
Launch ooffice
Tools -> Options -> Language Settings -> Language

how could I overlook this? :oops:
thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Np :wink:
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxophil
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Diddeleng, Lëtzebuerg

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ares wrote:
yes
LANGUAGE=ITAL,FREN emerge openoffice

Well it doesn't work for me. It fails like this when I call "LANGUAGE="ENUS,FREN,GER" emerge openoffice"
Code:
 * Unknown LANGUAGE setting!
 *
 * Known LANGUAGE settings are:
 *   ENUS | PORT | RUSS | GREEK | DTCH | FREN | SPAN | FINN | CAT | ITAL |
 *   CZECH | SLOVAK | DAN | SWED | POL | GER | PORTBR | THAI | ESTONIAN |
 *   JAPN | KOREAN | CHINSIM | CHINTRAD | TURK | HINDI | ARAB | HEBREW

Unfortunately this is quite normal considering the code in the ebuild:
Code:

set_languages () {

    if [ -z "$LANGUAGE" ]; then
        LANGUAGE=01
    fi

    case "$LANGUAGE" in
        01 | ENUS ) LANGNO=01; LANGNAME=ENUS; LFULLNAME="US English (default)"
            ;;
        03 | PORT ) LANGNO=03; LANGNAME=PORT; LFULLNAME=Portuguese
            ;;
        07 | RUSS ) LANGNO=07; LANGNAME=RUSS; LFULLNAME=Russian
            ;;
        30 | GREEK ) LANGNO=30; LANGNAME=GREEK; LFULLNAME=Greek
            ;;
        31 | DTCH ) LANGNO=31; LANGNAME=DTCH; LFULLNAME=Dutch
            ;;
        33 | FREN ) LANGNO=33; LANGNAME=FREN; LFULLNAME=French
            ;;
# [...]
        * )
            eerror "Unknown LANGUAGE setting!"
            eerror
            eerror "Known LANGUAGE settings are:"
            eerror "  ENUS | PORT | RUSS | GREEK | DTCH | FREN | SPAN | FINN | CAT | ITAL |"
            eerror "  CZECH | SLOVAK | DAN | SWED | POL | GER | PORTBR | THAI | ESTONIAN |"
            eerror "  JAPN | KOREAN | CHINSIM | CHINTRAD | TURK | HINDI | ARAB | HEBREW"
            die
            ;;
    esac
}

Clearly the ebuild doesn't support multiple languages, which is a pity :(
I suppose this explains why the variable is called LANGUAGE and not LANGUAGES...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matttions
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys.
To enable the localization of the binary just put
Code:
LINGUAS = "it"

in your
Code:
/etc/make.conf


And then you have the localized binary.

:lol:
_________________
gentoo ... l'unico pinguino da corsa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vega
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 73
Location: Vitoria - ES - Brasil

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, LANGUAGE is not supported anymore.

From the portage log:
Code:
 *  Please note that this package now uses the LINGUAS environment
 *  variable to provide localization. The old LANGUAGE=ENUS|PORT...
 *  system does NOT work anymore.


So, use your LINGUAS setting in your /etc/make.conf to setup localization in ooffice.

But one thing is really disturbing me. I have
Code:
LINGUAS="en_US pt_BR"
in my /etc/make.conf but the log file show me this:
Code:
 * Sorry, but openoffice does not support the en_US LINGUA
 * Installing OpenOffice.org for Portuguese brazilian environment.
Really strange, uh?
_________________
emerge -D freedom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
canvas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:30 pm    Post subject: available LINGUAS parameters Reply with quote

these abbreviations appear to work: http://i18n.kde.org/teams/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum