Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't get xorg.conf on odlworld 7300/200 [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 8:22 am    Post subject: can't get xorg.conf on odlworld 7300/200 [solved] Reply with quote

Well, I installed gentoo, (it was hard work though) and I decided to install xfce4, ok, so I have everithing on my machine, but when I run startxfce4 I get:

Code:
Using vt 7
(EE) No devices detected.

Fatal server error:
no screens found


My machine iz a 7300/200 mac, and i have apple multiple scan 1705 display.
And I can't get to configure xorg.conf.
Does anyone have it working on simmilar machine?
There seems to be no right drivers for graphics card listed in xorgconfig, well,


Last edited by babo on Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porodzila
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

post your config and make sure that you have support for the graphics hardware in your kernel
_________________
ubi primum potero, me hinc subduco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx
I'll check the support first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, my machine is 7300/200, and it has an onboard graphics card as I understand. Card is AAPL,343s1154 and in my kernel i have enabled support for:
Support for frame buffer devices
Open Firmware frame buffer device support
Apple "control" display support
Apple "platinum" display support
Apple "valkyrie
Support for framebuffer splash" display support

So as all options with apple are checked I suppose it should be right.

And currently in my xorg.conf I have:

Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "My Monitor"

# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    HorizSync   31.5 - 48.5

#    HorizSync  30-64         # multisync
#    HorizSync  31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
#    HorizSync  15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    VertRefresh 60-75

EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    VendorName  "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"

# The chipset line is optional in most cases.  It can be used to override
# the driver's chipset detection, and should not normally be specified.

#    Chipset    "generic"

# The Driver line must be present.  When using run-time loadable driver
# modules, this line instructs the server to load the specified driver
# module.  Even when not using loadable driver modules, this line
# indicates which driver should interpret the information in this section.

    Driver     "vga"
# The BusID line is used to specify which of possibly multiple devices
# this section is intended for.  When this line isn't present, a device
# section can only match up with the primary video device.  For PCI
# devices a line like the following could be used.  This line should not
# normally be included unless there is more than one video device
# intalled.

#    BusID      "PCI:0:10:0"

#    VideoRam   256

#    Clocks     25.2 28.3
EndSection

# Device configured by xorgconfig:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "* Generic VGA compatible"
    Driver      "vga"
    #VideoRam    4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of screen sections may be present.  Each describes
# the configuration of a single screen.  A single specific screen section
# may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
# option.
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "* Generic VGA compatible"
    Monitor     "My Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of ServerLayout sections may be present.  Each describes
# the way multiple screens are organised.  A specific ServerLayout
# section may be specified from the X server command line with the
# "-layout" option.  In the absence of this, the first section is used.
# When now ServerLayout section is present, the first Screen section
# is used alone.
Section "ServerLayout"

# The Identifier line must be present
    Identifier  "Simple Layout"

# Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
# the relative position of other screens.  The four names after
# primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
# of the primary screen.  In this example, screen 2 is located to the
# right of screen 1.

    Screen "Screen 1"

# Each InputDevice line specifies an InputDevice section name and
# optionally some options to specify the way the device is to be
# used.  Those options include "CorePointer", "CoreKeyboard" and
# "SendCoreEvents".

    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection

# Section "DRI"
#    Mode 0666
# EndSection



The last try was with standarg vga graphics card, but however I was changing the settings that seemed possible the error was the same.


And my friend just came over and he did something with export DISPLAY...

so if I run the startxfce script now, the message is:

/usr/bin/startxfce4: X server alredy running on display localhost:0.0
xsetroot: unable to open display 'localhost:0.0'
xrdb: Connection refused
xrdb: Can't open display 'localhost'
etc

but he tried few more options before and the result was the same.

thanks for helping :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxopjemac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 35
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In graphics device section I would change the vga into fbdev, like the following
Driver "fbdev"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is what I get now:

Code:
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented,
(??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Sep  3 12:44:04 2004
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
Using vt 7
(EE) FBDEV(0): FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument
(EE) FBDEV(0): Mode init failed

Fatal server error:
AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0


Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
         at http://wiki.X.Org
 for help.
Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.

XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
      after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.


And thank you for your help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxopjemac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 35
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you have a kernel with framebuffer support?

you might wanny have a look at the config for my PowerMac 7600 running an old version of Mandrake (Xfree 4.2.0)
http://diederen.demon.nl/Xfree4_2_0/pm7600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I understand this:

Quote:
Support for framebuffer splash" display support


is what you mean when you say framebuffer suppot.
I have this enabled.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxopjemac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 35
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In menuconfig
Device drivers -> graphics support -> Support for framebuffer devices

in the same category are a few Apple drivers, I don't know if you need them, I would enable them in your kernel.

You can always boot with LiveCD and do a dmesg to figure out what kind of driver you need for your video card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have that enabled in kernel, but it still seems not to be working.
On graphics drivers page in menuconfig i have all the options with framebuffer mentioned checked.
Any ideas? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The
(EE) FBDEV(0): FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument
(EE) FBDEV(0): Mode init failed
happens when 24 bit color mode is set as default, and if I switch that to 16 or 8 the screen just goes black and that's it.
As I don't find any other working method I have to restart the machine manualy.
But still I don't get what's the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And this is the result if I type X -configure:

Code:
Release Date: 18 December 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.7
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.8-gentoo-r1 ppc [ELF]
Current Operating System: Linux mac 2.6.8-gentoo-r1 #3 Mon Aug 30 13:20:55 CEST 2004 ppc
Build Date: 31 August 2004
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.X.Org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Sep 10 19:42:12 2004
Using vt 7
List of video drivers:
        atimisc
        r128
        radeon
        mga
        glint
        s3virge
        sis
        savage
        trident
        chips
        tdfx
        fbdev
        ati
        vga
        nv
        imstt
        fbdev
        v4l
(EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (once-only module, 0)
No devices to configure.  Configuration failed.


And if i type xorgcfg computer comes to a desktop with small x in the middle and stops there.

does anyone have any idea? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you started X first? Shouldn't the startxfce command go in your .xinitrc file, and then you'd run startx which would start the X windows system, which would run all programs in your .xinitrc file.

I am currently running KDE on my desktop. If I don't have X running (just terminals) and run "startkde" I'll get similar errors. However, My .xinitrc file looks sort of like this:

Code:

xscreensaver &
exec startkde


All programs that need to be run should be with a & after them, except the last one. The last one should have "exec" before it. When this program is quit, X will quit too. Usually you choose your WM for this program.

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I didn't have xfce4 written in .xinitrc but I think it is not the issue for now, couse if I start X I get the same error as when starting xfce4
but thank you, hope I'll have less trouble later, when this is fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skunkworx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2003
Posts: 420
Location: Planet Houston

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm seeing the same problem on the same model (PowerMac 7300/200). While mine has a G3 upgrade, I doubt that makes a difference in how the video hardware behaves.

I came up with a workaround that, as far as I can tell, shouldn't work, but it does, so it might work for babo.

The relevant parts of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file now look like this:

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mac Keyboard"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "AutoRepeat"  "500 30"
End Section

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mac Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "Auto"
End Section

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Compaq P710"
    HorizSync 30-96
    VertRefresh 50-130
    ModeLine "1024x768"  1024 1040 1135 1312  768 769 772 800  +HSync +VSync -CSync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "Linux Framebuffer (Apple On-Board Video)"
    Driver "fbdev"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "My Screen"
    Device "Linux Framebuffer (Apple On-Board Video)"
    Monitor "Compaq P710"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Main Layout"
    Screen "My Screen"
    InputDevice "Mac Mouse" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Mac Keyboard" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection


The "Screen" definition is peculiar - I ripped out the "Display" subsection and even the "DefaultDepth" declaration, getting rid of all mode and depth settings. It looks weird, but again, it's working.

I wasn't exactly taking notes while finding my way to this workaround, so I'm not sure how good of an explanation I can give. If someone really wants to know, I'll try to recreate the steps I took, and show all the relevant system logs that are generated. Basically, I discovered that each time I tried to start Xorg, the mode I had set would be thrown out, and then Xorg would attempt to find a default mode to run at. It seemed that it would find one, basically 1024x768 at about 75Hz, but then Xorg would die with the error message babo saw:

Code:
(EE) FBDEV(0): FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument
(EE) FBDEV(0): Mode init failed


The peculiarity started when I discoverd that my mode selection was being skipped over even when using the same mode definition that Xorg then decides on automatically (that's why my "Monitor" section currently has that "ModeLine" in it; I doubt it's essential to my configuration at this point, but I'm too lazy to test that just yet). The peculiarity continued when I decided on a lark to have no preset mode, leaving Xorg to make a default selection. That worked, and that's the configuration I'm currently using.

The moral seems to be, if Xorg has to determine what mode to use, better let it decide without having to test any bad mode settings first. As for which mode settings are good and which ones are bad, I have no idea at this point. 1024x768 at 75Hz just happens to be what I want to run at, so if that's the default mode, then I'm happy not defining anything else.

I get the feeling I was running XFree86 with the same "bad" mode setting, but apparently XFree86 was more graceful about deciding on a default mode when starting up.
_________________
Proud to be a... eh, forget it.

"Everyday is just one day." -- not the Traveling Wilburys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much, I'll try it emediately :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't know how happy I am yo say this, but it works. Thanks a million times guys.
I used skunkworks's settings, and it said VTootal was missing, so I took a look into linuxopjemac's xorg.conf and modivied my modelina a bit, and now it works.
great great great

hihi :D

I't s good to know mistake was on me for not looking deep enough into xorg.conf settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum