Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
IPW2200 Centrino B/G wireless card native drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tuxian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 766
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now v0.8 is in portage but still it operates only with 11Mbits/sec instead of 54Mbit/sec :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

v 0.9 is out
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Panicked Reply with quote

Hello,
I am new to gentoo. I have a dell Inspiron 8600 and I am trying to get my wireless working, I have the 2200 b/g. I got to step 3, and went into my kernel config, the only thing I had to change was add the 3 cypher alrorithms as modules.

I did this, exited, did make && make modules_install,
and then I rebooted as per step 4.

On reboot it said error installing module b44 which is my network card module, so once it came up I couldn't get onto the internet. I realized that I hadn't copied the bzImage thing over, so I did that and rebooted. This time the b44 module came up just fine, but now it gave an error on my nvidia module.

Because it didn'l load the nvidia module, I could't get back into fvwm, so I was on the command line. I tried modprobe nvidia and got:
FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/2.6.8-gentoo-r4/video/nvidia.ko): Invalid module format

So I re-emerged my nvidia module, and that didn't work. I went back into menuconfig and got rid of the 3 cypher algorithms, remade and recopied, and rebooted. No good.

Now I tried a man, and it sasy something about GCC_3.3 not found and broken pipes and groff's and a whole bunch of weird crap. and no man page.

So, I'm slowly building up a nice good panic. Any ideas?

I'm going to go find some valium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your symlink /usr/src/linux points to the right kernel, when compiling external modules? Otherwise you get mismatch errors...

And for the next time, you can always replace the "nvidia" driver with "nv" in xfree to get back to fvwm.
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jay wrote:
Does your symlink /usr/src/linux points to the right kernel, when compiling external modules? Otherwise you get mismatch errors...

And for the next time, you can always replace the "nvidia" driver with "nv" in xfree to get back to fvwm.


Yeah, it is pointing to the only kernell I have.
I'm not using xfree, I'm using X11-Xorg, what is the difference between nvidia and nv?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kestrell Kestrell wrote:

I'm not using xfree, I'm using X11-Xorg, what is the difference between nvidia and nv?
nv is an open source driver without 3D acceleration and part of xfree / xorg so it should even work when you break the nvidia driver.

Anyway, please open another thread for your problem, it doesn't look like it is an iwp2200 problem.
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I re-made my kernel and re-emerged nvidia drivers twice and now it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I got to the part about using iwconfig. When I type iwconfig, it says command not found. What is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groovec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kestrell Kestrell wrote:
Ok I got to the part about using iwconfig. When I type iwconfig, it says command not found. What is going on?


emerge wireless-tools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l0calh05t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

v0.10 is out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged wireless-tools. I ran iwconfig and got:

lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

So I re- make installe 'ed my driver, at the end I noticed it said:
Don't forget to copy firmware to /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware/ and have the
hotplug tools in place.

I unpacked and copied all of the firmware to the appropriate place., but I haven't done anythin with the hotplug tools, I downloaded the
firmwarehotplug-0.1.tar.gz file, where should I unpack and make it at? And will that fix my problem?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Exci
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands, Zoetermeer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read something about wpa in the 2100 driver version
but I couldn't find anything about 2200 + wpa

Does anyone knows something about this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kestrell Kestrell wrote:
where should I unpack and make it at? And will that fix my problem?
Thanks!


emerge hotplug
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exci wrote:
I read something about wpa in the 2100 driver version
but I couldn't find anything about 2200 + wpa

Does anyone knows something about this ?


According to the informations at http://hostap.epitest.fi/wpa_supplicant/ the 2200 driver is not yet up to wpa. You can use ndiswrapper which has wpa support.
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pangloss
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Aug 2002
Posts: 46
Location: Ithaca, NY

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone else have experience connecting to an access point where the ssid is not broadcast (i.e. hidden)?

using 0.8 right now. according to http://www.bughost.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=180 this was fixed in 0.7. i haven't tried 0.10 yet (will try to wait patiently for an ebuild).

unfortunately i don't manage the ap so i can't allow broadcasting the ssid to confirm if this is the problem. but i don't have any issues connecting to any other non-hidden ap's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pangloss wrote:
anyone else have experience connecting to an access point where the ssid is not broadcast (i.e. hidden)?


iwconfig eth1 ap <mac-adress>

my essid is hidden too, and by directly associating with the mac adress of the ap this should work at your setting too.
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jay wrote:
Kestrell Kestrell wrote:
where should I unpack and make it at? And will that fix my problem?
Thanks!


emerge hotplug


I emerged hotplug and that went successful. When I run iwconfig I still get the same thing, no wireless. What is missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did an esearch on ipw2200 and there is an emerge available forthe driver, why is this not mentioned in the howto on the first page?

In any case, iwconfig doesn't show my wireless card, I've emerged hotplug and ipw2200 and my wireless card is a no show, I am at a loss. Please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kf_man
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact same problem. I can't get my wireless to work at all. I'm rather depressed. All the symptoms are the same. I tried both 0.8 from portage and 0.11 from the website...nothing at all... :( :cry:
_________________
-Kyle
Linux n00b

System:
HP zt3000
Pentium M 1.6 GHz
1GB PC2700 DDR SDRAM
100GB 5400RPM
Intel audio
ATI Radeon 9000
Realtek 8139
IPW2200
Agere Modem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kf_man wrote:
I have the exact same problem. I can't get my wireless to work at all. I'm rather depressed. All the symptoms are the same. I tried both 0.8 from portage and 0.11 from the website...nothing at all... :( :cry:



I'm rather depressed as well. Lets start a new discussion category: Gentoo Depressed Forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kf_man
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm hoping that somebody has an answer for this...I'm gonna try again later to see if I can tackle this thing...we'll see how it goes...
_________________
-Kyle
Linux n00b

System:
HP zt3000
Pentium M 1.6 GHz
1GB PC2700 DDR SDRAM
100GB 5400RPM
Intel audio
ATI Radeon 9000
Realtek 8139
IPW2200
Agere Modem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dyqik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 120
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The portage version of the drivers is mentioned on the first post, in the edits. The reason the first post doesn't use the portage drivers is that when I did it, they didn't work, and when I tried the portage drivers later at v0.6, those didn't work either. Also the project is progressing so fast that portage is usually a few versions behind (3 releases in 3 days).

You should get hotplug working correctly before trying these drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dyqik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 120
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most problems with this module show up in dmesg. post the relevant bits of your dmesg output and I'll have a look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
øxygen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 236
Location: Bergheim, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

0.11 is out, Ad-Hoc Mode and Power-Control seems to work now. Still waiting for rfmon Mode. Latest Version in the Portage Tree is still .8. Renaming the ebuild to reflect 0.11 works....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kestrell Kestrell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 115
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dyqik wrote:
Most problems with this module show up in dmesg. post the relevant bits of your dmesg output and I'll have a look.


I didn't even know that when you said the .8 drivers were in portage that meant that I could emerge them. Lesson learned.

Here are the relevant parts of dmesg:
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200 Network Driver, 0.8
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2004 Intel Corporation
ACPI: PCI interrupt 0000:02:03.0[A] -> GSI 7 (level, low) -> IRQ 7
ipw2200: ipw2200_boot.fw load failed
ipw2200: Unable to load firmware: 0xFFFFFFFE
ipw2200: failed to register network device
ipw2200: probe of 0000:02:03.0 failed with error -5

Now I am assuming I haven't installed the firmware properly. Are hotplug and firmware the same things? I emerged hotplug, is there something else that I have to do with it too?

Editing this post.
I just noticed that in my menuconfig under Device Drivers -> Generic Driver Options I have "Prevent firmware from being built" as a yes. Is this bad?

Thanks for your help!


Last edited by Kestrell Kestrell on Fri Oct 01, 2004 2:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 2 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum