Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Change amount of RAM available to chroot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 4:56 pm    Post subject: Change amount of RAM available to chroot Reply with quote

I'm working on getting linux installed on an external drive, and am trying to install YDL from within Gentoo, by mounting all the parts of the CD as they would be when booted, but replacing the default /dev with a mount --bind to the real /dev, which can see the external disk (firewire, shows up as scsi - sda) then chrooting into that environment.

I think I've got most things in place, but when I try to run the installer, it says:

"You do not have enough RAM to intall Yellow Dog Linux on this machine"

Is there a way to either 1) Provide more ram to the chrooted environment, or 2) make it think that there is more ram?

Thanks!

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, there is no RAM limitation to a chroot environment. Did you try to add some swap?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got 787M of swap in my real environment, do I need to add swap in the chrooted environment too?
[edit]
I'm even running just two terminals, no X, nothing else, so it's not like much ram should be taken up, or much swap...
[/edit]

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I've got 787M of swap in my real environment, do I need to add swap in the chrooted environment too?

No. That should be more than enough.
Try to run
Code:
free -m
in the chrooted environment to see what your machine thinks how much RAM it has.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, free -m spit back about 700M of swap, and 300+ megs of ram free, so I think it's something else.
I did notice that /usr didn't exist, and it does when I boot from the CD. I'll have to figgure out where that comes from. :-)

If anyone's interested, I've got what I'm doing on my web-site, including some scripts (just text files of the commands really) to automate mounting stuff up to where I know how to do.
www.stuporglue.com/ext

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum