Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mozilla-firefox 1.0PR
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:32 pm    Post subject: mozilla-firefox 1.0PR Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm on ~ppc with gcc 3.4.1. I built Firefox 1.0PR twice, the 2nd time I modified mozilla.eclass to add -fno-strict-aliasing. The builds seem to succeed, however when I run it nothing happens... I tried to run the binary (firefox-bin) directly. Nothing happens. The program exits with 1. Except the first time I ran it where a window about profile stuff showed up followed by nothing.

Should I try with gcc 3.3.x? I was also using distcc. Could that be an issue? I had this problem before but I don't remember how I fix it. Since it takes quite some CPU times, suggestions would be appreciated. :)

Thanks,
iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll echo the same problem. I did get a window to appear when I moved my .mozilla folder to .mozilla.old. However, just the Mozilla.org webpage apears, and then it freezes. I'm running gcc 3.4. no distcc

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

servobf wrote:
I'll echo the same problem. I did get a window to appear when I moved my .mozilla folder to .mozilla.old. However, just the Mozilla.org webpage apears, and then it freezes. I'm running gcc 3.4. no distcc


Thanks, I did what you mentionned and it seems ok for me.
I went to the Gentoo forum with no freeze.

Now I guess I need to figure out how to get my profile again... :)

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaspal kallar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Now I guess I need to figure out how to get my profile again...


I had a similar problem. One hour later I figured it out.The files you need to copy from your original profile are:
Code:

prefs.js
bookmarks.html



I copied them (in my case) to directory:
Code:
~/.mozilla/firefox/jop0vxy7.default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

With some trial and errors, I got it to work with old profile:

With the old .mozilla stuff,

Simply remove compatibility.ini from the profile directory.

Then when you start, it will say some extensions are incompatible and ask to check for new ones.
Then Firefox will start. :) But probably not with all your extensions. :(

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum