Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Partitioning on a Powerbook4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aToaster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Partitioning on a Powerbook4 Reply with quote

I'm installing Gentoo Linux on my 15'' Powerbook. I already had OsX installed so I had run parted to downsize my 75gig OsX partition to 65, I think spit the remaining into two partitions, 512 for swap and the reset for root. Did I have to create a boot partition?

It said that Mac has a boot parttion, hda1, so I just had swap and root be, hda10 and hda11 respectively. Did I have to create another partition for yaboot? I set fstab to hda1 which is labeled Apple boot. Hoping I did this right. Anyone know if I did? or did something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:24 am    Post subject: Re: Partitioning on a Powerbook4 Reply with quote

aToaster wrote:
I'm installing Gentoo Linux on my 15'' Powerbook. I already had OsX installed so I had run parted to downsize my 75gig OsX partition to 65, I think spit the remaining into two partitions, 512 for swap and the reset for root. Did I have to create a boot partition?

It said that Mac has a boot parttion, hda1, so I just had swap and root be, hda10 and hda11 respectively. Did I have to create another partition for yaboot? I set fstab to hda1 which is labeled Apple boot. Hoping I did this right. Anyone know if I did? or did something wrong?


This is weird. On my iBook, hda1 corresponds to the partition map. Real partitions for data start with hda2. Don't know if this changed recently.

I have a bootstrap partition to hold yaboot.

Note: The bootstrap partition can be located at the end on the disk, it does not really matter. However, in the partition table, it should be the second entry hda2 (or at least before OS X root). You can swap partition entries in the partition table i.e. partition entries in the table do not need to be in the same order that they are actually on the disk.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you're right, you don't need a boot partiton (no /boot). The bootstrap is to let OF boot linux, which it normally wouldn't want to do.

~Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

servobf wrote:
And you're right, you don't need a boot partiton (no /boot). The bootstrap is to let OF boot linux, which it normally wouldn't want to do.

~Michael


Yes.

If I remember well, I think its because OF understands only HFS/HFS+ partitions. So it cannot read ext2 and boot the kernel or read a boot loader on ext2. Something like that. I think the bootstrap is simply a small HFS partition with the boot loader.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aToaster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what I need to do is...

Have three partitions for linux: bootstrap (yaboot resides here?), swap, and root.

Make sure to put the bootstrap partition before osX so it loads it. So can I use parted to change it to hda2 and whatever hda2 to somewhere else?

Make the bootstrap partition 800k.

So do I just move all the other partitions down one? like Apple has partitons hda1 through hda 9, so if I were to put the bootstrap in 2 I could just move everthing down in parted?

Thanks for the help guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aToaster wrote:

So do I just move all the other partitions down one? like Apple has partitons hda1 through hda 9, so if I were to put the bootstrap in 2 I could just move everthing down in parted?


Note, you don't have to move them physically on the disk. Simply create them after OS X. Then you can use mac-cfdisk to swap entries in the table. The physical location on disk does not matter.

The data space for hda2 can be located on the disk after the 9-10 patitions of OS X. In the table, it will be the 2nd entry. (and hence named hda2). But on the disk can be put anywhere, including after all the partitions.

So:
1) Create all your partitions after OS X.
2) Use the option in mac-cfdisk to swap entries in the table. There is no need to move the data on the disk.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum