Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Big problem! yaboot - please help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
antrix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:04 pm    Post subject: Big problem! yaboot - please help Reply with quote

Arghhh, this is bad! I am moving to university this weekend and my ibook is currently unusable:

I downloaded the ppc 2004.2 ISO and followed the ppc manual, everything went fine until i had to configure my bootloader (yaboot).

In mac-fdisk I reordered the bootstrap partition to be the first in the list (only after partition map which is hda1)
So my bootstrap partition is hda2
Apple disk utility created free space on hda3
My OS X partition (which has remained untouched throughout the gentoo install) on hda4
swap on hda5
root on hda6
home on hda7

When I ran the yaboot configuration program (following the instructions VERY carefully) it asked if i wanted to boot linux (hda6) from hda2, which is correct - so i chose yes.

I then get an ERROR from yaboot configurator, saying that hda4 is NOT a valid HFS+ partition! I then check the /etc/yaboot.conf file manually and find out it has not added OS X to the bootloader as a result.... Linux is there though.

Why? whats going on?

Now when i check the output of mac-fdisk hda4 shows up as HFS, not hfs+, and even WORSE... The apple disk utitily does no longer show my Mac Os X partition (that used to be hfs+).... I do not undestand how this has happened, i have used mac-fdisk with great caution and have plenty of experience from using fdisk on x86 boxes.

Main question that I would like answered:
- Yaboot currently works with my linux setup, but Os X is really important to me, is there any way I can reset the firmware to remove yaboot and use default Os X bootloader to get back into OS X? This way I at least have my laptop for university with Os X. I can setup linux again later. Also can i reset the firmware without breaking my gentoo install? (as I can try to solve this problem at a later date)

I just want my osx back for now

Seriously appreciate any advice on how I can get my Os X back or even better, set up yaboot properly
_________________
Antrix
| 2.6.9-gentoo-r13 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux | (My desktop PC, which needs an update world)

| 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 PPC 7447A, altivec supported PowerBook6,5 GNU/Linux | (My iBook G4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antrix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: hmm Reply with quote

Now my linux kernel wont even boot, it just hangs in the very early stage of booting (probably kernel panic).

I am currently assuming the only alternative is to remove all partitions, re-partition and install a clean OS X so that I have a functional laptop.

I have a 60 gigabyte Hard drive, and I will have several partitions - 1 for Os X, several for linux.

What is the best way to go about clearing the partitions and creating new ones? OS X disk utility (create the linux partition/free space there and another large one for os x?)

Also, can somebody confirm that PPC 2004.2 with current portage tree isnt somehow broken with a bogus version of yaboot or mac-fdisk?

Thanks,
_________________
Antrix
| 2.6.9-gentoo-r13 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux | (My desktop PC, which needs an update world)

| 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 PPC 7447A, altivec supported PowerBook6,5 GNU/Linux | (My iBook G4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaspal kallar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps check threads
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=150424&highlight=chime
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=224939&highlight=chime
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=200347&highlight=chime

for resetting the (PRAM) firmware to get back OSX (search for word chime).




I just did mac-fdisk -l on my Powermac G5:
Code:
root@linux:/home/jas/LSE> mac-fdisk -l /dev/sda
/dev/sda
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
dump: name /dev/sda len 8
/dev/sda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/sda2         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 157286401 (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/sda3               Apple_HFS Untitled           157286337 @ 64        ( 75.0G)  HFS
/dev/sda4         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 1048576 @ 157288001 (512.0M)  Linux swap
/dev/sda5         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                41943040 @ 158336577 ( 20.0G)  Linux native
/dev/sda6         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 home               119893439 @ 200279617 ( 57.2G)  Linux native

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=320173056
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0


As you see my OSX partition (/dev/sda3) is HFS and not HFS+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antrix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried all suggestions in other posts, but yaboot still comes up... As I will be packing my laptop tomorrow morning i am afraid i have to just put a fresh install of os x back on.

Thanks for your help! much appreciated.

If anyone knows or have theories of what went wrong, I'd be interested in knowing.
_________________
Antrix
| 2.6.9-gentoo-r13 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux | (My desktop PC, which needs an update world)

| 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 PPC 7447A, altivec supported PowerBook6,5 GNU/Linux | (My iBook G4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

antrix wrote:
I tried all suggestions in other posts, but yaboot still comes up... As I will be packing my laptop tomorrow morning i am afraid i have to just put a fresh install of os x back on.

Thanks for your help! much appreciated.

If anyone knows or have theories of what went wrong, I'd be interested in knowing.


The OF will try to boot the first bootable partition, in your case the bootstrap.

If you want OS X back or want to check if that partition is still ok. Boot Linux from a CD and use mac-fdisk to put the bootstrap partition after the OS X one in the partition table.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
autumn_star
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To boot osx you can boot in OpenFirmware mode while pressing:

command option O F

then at the prompt type:

>> setenv boot-device hd:4,\\tbxi
>> boot

this should boot you right into OSX.
_________________
Quicksilver 2002
kernel 2.4.24-ppc-r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also hold down option while booting (before the chime) and you'll get a graphical boot-chooser (built into OF). You can manually click OSX there, and get in that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hydraulix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 447
Location: Baltimore, Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 9:54 pm    Post subject: Re: hmm Reply with quote

antrix wrote:


What is the best way to go about clearing the partitions and creating new ones? OS X disk utility (create the linux partition/free space there and another large one for os x?)




The best way to zero out a drive is to boot off the live cd and do a...

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda



Or for say hda3 you would do an

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda3



Then from there you can create partitons by doing a mac-fdisk /dev/hda
_________________
It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson

If only You and Dead people can read hex, how many people can read hex?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum