Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unable to boot after stage one install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: unable to boot after stage one install Reply with quote

Hello, I am old to gentoo but rather new to ppc so please bear with me if I have made any stupid mistakes along the line.

I installed per the ppc installation guide from stage one. Get to the perform the yaboot installation (rather then exit chroot I did install on screen 2,) edit manually to get linux failsafe, osx and cdrom entries, run ybin -v, unmount, reboot. Upon reboot yaboot goes into "l" and I attempt to load the default image and get the following:
Code:
/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/disk@):4,/boot/vmlinux.dev: Unknown or corrupt filesystem

(note that I named the vmlinux file and system.map per the naming conventions I tend to use on my other machines, I did adjust yaboot.conf accordingly. Also I have partition numbers skewed by one due to the Apple_partition_map)

OSX and cdrom both boot correctly.

So I got a typo right...
I boot up via the live cd:
Code:
#mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo/
mount: Not a directory

Yeah, thats no good. Also tried with -t reiserfs

Relevant dmsg lines:
Code:
ReiserFS: hda4: found reiserfs format "3.6" with standard journal
ReiserFS: hda4: using ordered data mode
ReiserFS: hda4: journal params: device hda4, size 8192, journal first block 18, max trans len 1024, max batch 900, max commit age 30, max trans age 30
ReiserFS: hda4: checking transaction log (hda4)
ReiserFS: warning: is_tree_node: node level 25938 does not match to the expected one 1
ReiserFS: hda4: warning: vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 0. Fsck?
ReiserFS: hda4: warning: vs-13070: reiserfs_read_locked_inode: i/o failure occurred trying to find stat data of [1 2 0x0 SD]


mac-fdisk-l output
Code:
/dev/hda
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
dump: name /dev/hda len 8
/dev/hda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hda2         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 64        (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda3         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 2097152 @ 1664      (  1.0G)  Linux swap
/dev/hda4         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                40106432 @ 2098816   ( 19.1G)  Linux native
/dev/hda5               Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_3  41680896 @ 42205248  ( 19.9G)  HFS
/dev/hda6              Apple_Free                       262144 @ 83886144  (128.0M)  Free space
/dev/hda7               Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_4  72153184 @ 84148288  ( 34.4G)  HFS
/dev/hda8              Apple_Free                           16 @ 156301472 (  8.0k)  Free space

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=156301488
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0


I wanted my partitions as follows:
20 gb for gentoo
20 gb OS X
40 gb shared
I thought I had accieved this but now am not so sure that I didnt mess this one up (again, I am a ppc newbie). I am not understanding how without a failed mount my new reiser partition could be corrupted.

I am under the assumption that I screwed up somewhere and have misconfigured something or overwritten the first part of the reiser partition (it would have had to been mounted at the time I believe which makes the latter improbable), that led to this and thus there is little point in rebuilding the tree until I figure out where I have gone amis (I dont so much mind reinstalling as some hours into it I realized ext3 can be mounted under os x and reiser cannot). Can anyone shed some light onto how I toasted my brand new install or how to recover???

Incedentally I also have noticed that dmesg (on the live cd) spits out a lot of
Code:
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 22, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 49, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 49, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 20, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 20, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 57, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 57, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 53, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 53, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 32, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 32, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 15, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 15, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 35, Value: 1
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 0, Code: 0, Value: 0
evbug.c: Event. Dev: adb2:2.c3/input, Type: 1, Code: 35, Value: 0
...

Are these problematic?
_________________
The "shopping" key is a whole different beast, "m" gets stuck and you hit it again - "shopping" gets stuck and you end up closing 129 instances of konqueror - thats why the hotkeys people are bastards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porodzila
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I can answer two of your questions, I think.

The first :
when you try mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo, have you created the /mnt/gentoo directory.
It is not created by default.

The adb error messages are not probolematic, you have to go into your kernel, and where it talks about input device error logging or somesuch, turn it off.
_________________
ubi primum potero, me hinc subduco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
when you try mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo, have you created the /mnt/gentoo directory.
It is not created by default.


I did ensure the directory was there (I think it is there by default, but I am using one of the elusive 2004.2 cd's).

The reiserfs output from dmesg seems indicitive of severe corruption. As an aside after posting I ran some of the reiserfs... stuff (resiserfsck through reiserrebuildtree). After rebuilding the partion did mount though obviously not with the data in a particularly intact state.

I am most interested in figuring out how the hell I toasted my partition (in particular I would most like it to not be repeated so that I can get around to 36 hours of compiling KDE...lol), and suspected (was hoping?) that perhaps my partitioning was done entirly wrong or some such obvious thing. I would assume the error to be one involving the partition table, the manner in which i ran yaboot stuff or some other factor that would be capible of killing off the beginning of my hda4. Then again - im a newbie - thats all pure guess by me.
_________________
The "shopping" key is a whole different beast, "m" gets stuck and you hit it again - "shopping" gets stuck and you end up closing 129 instances of konqueror - thats why the hotkeys people are bastards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozukir@
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 209
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm here to tell you that its nothin that you've done. I've been trying to get a Stage1 install to work on my new PowerBook and have had the same problem twice now. The system booted fine, but gave me a warning about unable to open initial console. I thought that it was a kernel issue with /dev/pts. So I thought a simple kernel recompile would fix it. But to my dismay, the root partition was corrupted. I did another Stage1 install, got everything compiled (including gnome, which is no short task) only to have the same problem. Looks like something's broken with the 2004.1 install cd in regards to reiserfs. I didn't even get the root partition mounted rw. I'd break my laptop in two right now if it weren't soo sweet. I'll give it another whirl with ext3, dammit I've used reiserfs for everything (except /boot) up to now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went at it again last night via ext3 and it booted up fine this morning.

For the record outside the filesystem the only significant change was that I used pretty much a stock kernel save minor changes per the installation guide. Also I used the nol3 and different video boot flag.

Im a fan of reiser myself but I found on my last laptop (x86) it was rather subject to corruption (I would do reboots more frequently because I lost power, or because I was trying some of the newer stuff - ACPI processor throttling, suswap, suspend to disc. Eventually the lockups would corrupt random /etc files generally hotplug or acpi stuff for some reason and cause more lockups until I would find a weekend to restore from a backup). Additionally, I can mount it in OS X, so there are some benifits there too.

In any case ext3 seems to have corrected the issue for me.

As an aside - does anyone have boot parameters that kill the scanlines for the G4 17" radeon - I ignored them the first time around and used video=obonly the second not realizing that this would persist in yaboot. Without the flag I get scanlines on the display (I tried radeon at various resolutions to no avail), but with the flag my screen dosent blank.
_________________
The "shopping" key is a whole different beast, "m" gets stuck and you hit it again - "shopping" gets stuck and you end up closing 129 instances of konqueror - thats why the hotkeys people are bastards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum