Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Install over Mandrake
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DJ_Max
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Chicago, IL USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Install over Mandrake Reply with quote

Hello, I've been using Mandrake for a bit on my iMac, but would rather have linux. My HD is alread partition.
Mac OS X (hfs+)
Mandrake Linux

I didn't have to do much partitioning to get linux installed, so I won't to make sure my Gentoo installtion goes ok.

So how will I go about the parititoning so I can keep Mac OS X & overwrite mandrake during installtion from cd-rom.
BTW, my swap is 512mb

/etc/fstab

Code:

/dev/hda4 / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/hda6 /home ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0


/proc/partitions
Code:
major minor  #blocks  name

   3     0    9970632 hda
   3     1         31 hda1
   3     2    4985320 hda2
   3     3       1024 hda3
   3     4    2718360 hda4
   3     5     512000 hda5
   3     6    1753896 hda6



Any help is much appreciated. :)[/code]
_________________
PHP, Ruby, Python, MySQL, PostgreSQL, XHTML, programmer || daejuan@gmail.com
Current Specs:
iMac G3 400MHZ
256MB SDRAM
10GB ATA HD
ATI Rage 128 pro
Mac OS 10.1.5 & Gentoo Linux
Quote:
Windows was made to keep stupid people away from Unix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The hard parts is done. You already have useable partitions, so you just need to format them.
what would I do?

Skip the partitioning step
Code:

mkswap /dev/hda5
mke2fs -j /dev/hda4
mek2fs -j /dev/hda6
swapon /dev/hda5
mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/home
mount /dev/hda6 /mnt/gentoo/home
mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc

Then you can use your same fstab, and not have to repartition.

Start in the handbook from the chroot from here.
_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Just make sure that you double check any commands suggested to make sure it is really what you want.

I see:
mke2fs -j /dev/hda6

Maybe you want to delete your /home, maybe you don't want. :)

In case you want to keep your /home files, you will probably have to chown them as it is likely that the uid and gid used by Gentoo will be different than Mandrake.

Also, I recommend doing a backup of all files in /etc to have them for reference purposes. You could copy them to /home/etc.old.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJ_Max
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Chicago, IL USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot guys. I'll do what you said NewBlackDak.
iTux, thanks for the tip. I have nothing useful in my /home partition. :D
_________________
PHP, Ruby, Python, MySQL, PostgreSQL, XHTML, programmer || daejuan@gmail.com
Current Specs:
iMac G3 400MHZ
256MB SDRAM
10GB ATA HD
ATI Rage 128 pro
Mac OS 10.1.5 & Gentoo Linux
Quote:
Windows was made to keep stupid people away from Unix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum