Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Yaboot Problems with OSX
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dtmetz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:21 am    Post subject: Yaboot Problems with OSX Reply with quote

OK, I have gotten yaboot to work fine, except for when I try and add my os x partition. (I have to hold down the option key to get into OS X now).

My yaboot.conf
Code:

## /etc/yaboot.conf
## our bootstrap partition:

boot=/dev/hda2
ofboot=hd:2
ofpath=/usr/sbin/ofpath

device=hd:
partition=4

delay=5

defaultos=macosx

timeout=30

install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot

magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot


image=/boot/vmlinux
        label=Linux
        root=/dev/hda4
        read-only
image=/boot/vmlinux.old
        label=Linux.old
        root=/dev/hda4
        read-only


macosx=/dev/hda5
enablecdboot
enableofboot


and my fstab is

Code:

  GNU nano 1.2.3                       File: /etc/fstab

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah$
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
# /dev/hda2             /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/hda4               /               xfs             noatime                 0 0
/dev/hda3               none            swap            sw                      0 1
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0


When I try and run "ybin -v" I get

Code:

bash-2.05b# ybin -v
ybin: Finding OpenFirmware device path to `/dev/hda5'...
ofpath: sysfs must be mounted for ofpath to support this system
ybin: Unable to determine OpenFirmware path for macosx=/dev/hda5
ybin: Try specifying the real OpenFirmware path for macosx=/dev/hda5 in /etc/yaboot.conf


Getting rid of defaultos=macosx and macosx=/dev/hda5 works just fine.

I've can't seem to find any help for this error, and most people show that this should be a fine yaboot.conf.

Any help at all would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have sysfs mounted in /sys? Make sure that sys is mounted in /sys by typing mount. If it's not mounted, make sure that /sys exists and then type:
Code:
mount -t sysfs none /sys


and try again. Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dtmetz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked. Thanks a lot.

So what is the sysfs and should I be adding that to my /etc/fstab?
Or does it normally not need to be mounted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jedsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 276
Location: Sacramento, California, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sysfs isn't a file system or a partition, it just returns information about filesystems currently present in the kernel. With the proc file system, the same information can be attained from /proc/filesystem. Yout don't need to mount it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the directory exists, init should automatically mount the /sys directory. For a tiny bit more information, see man sysfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum