Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[mini-HowTo] Gentoo Linux LiveCD for Dummies!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 19, 20, 21  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nd_stew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:58 pm    Post subject: Re: So Close, but Squashed! Reply with quote

nd_stew wrote:

Yep, looks like kernel, /proc/filesystems doesn't have squashfs on my livecd. I'm compiling against
vanilla-sources (2.6.11-2) whereas the latest squash is 2.6.9. Anyone else come across this?
2005.0 doesn't come with development-sources, does have gentoo-sources at 2.6.11-r3.
What source is recommended for 2005.0 and squash's 2.6.9?

cs


FYI - straight gentoo-sources did it! 2005.0 (no patches).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bonkie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Oct 2002
Posts: 501
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MixMax >> Yes I understand; Never tried excluding them from the squashimage, thought there was a reason why the author didn't do so himself :)

About the livecd, I'm getting a strange error and I don't understand why. When I test-run the iso using qemu, it boots up fine, but when I burn the iso and try to boot from that it stops with a sh(ell) bash ??? It doesn't give any errors but none of the filesystems get mounted :? Yes, the kernel includes squashfs and everything else is what it should be (i think, why else would qemu test not show any errors then ?) ...


Code:
RDSIZE=`du -m /proc/kcore | awk '{ print $1 / 4 }' | awk -F. '{ print $1 }'`M

# load unionfs module
modprobe unionfs

mount -t squashfs -o loop /cdrom/source.img /new
mount -t tmpfs -o size=$RDSIZE none /new/ramdisk
mount -t unionfs -o dirs=/new/ramdisk=rw:/new=ro none /new



[Edit] Oops, never mind, after reading the linuxrc script I saw it exits when it doesn't find a CDROM, so I check and turns out I had forgotten to create hdb node in /dev so it could not find the cdrom on my pc :oops:
_________________
"I would say we have a 50% chance of survival, but I consider myself an optimist so I'll give us 50,5% ..."
~ Arthur C. Clarke [Physics PHD,SF Writer], when asked about the chances of the human race's survival
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gieltje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is anyone else here trying to try to use the initrd image from the orriginal gentoo livecd?

I got it working and booting but the complete file system remains mounted ro, and it gives some error's about not beiing able to unmount init...... (so eventualy the whole boot borks because everything is read only).

Can anyone else help me? (I can give more specific errors).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ph3ar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

many thanx to the creator of this how to :)
I've some errors/problems!
In the mke2fs /dev/loop1
//mke2fs 1.35 (28-Feb-2004)
i can see this nice initialiation screen but nothing happens!(for a big amount of time)
Hm... before that i tried to load the loop module with
Code:
modprobe -f --set-version 2.6.11.gentoo-r8 loop
, cause i had some problems while in chroot environment with differents kernels... (i 've a previous kernel 2.6.11.gentoo-r6 in my system)

-----many thanx to the creator of this how to :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ph3ar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hah
I just realised that the module loop has to be loaded in my system and not in the chroot environment!
That's all about mke2fs.
Let's continue... with the live cd.
:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Farkenell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok cool :) I got mysql goin works great....

had to change the permissions of /var/run to mysql and writeable....
also had to make sure that the ./build script didn't delete it :/ (#rm -Rf /var/run)

now it seems my mkxf86 script doesn't seem to wanna work right...:/ it makes a xorg.conf with a seiral mouse (I'm using usb) and the driver for the video card is set to "" (have to set these manually for these to work....) I never had to do this before.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
travail101
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Location: United States of America

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Update Reply with quote

has this how-to been updated with any information that may have been brought to light in the 16 pages of replies? or by chance, has this how-to been added to the gentoo wiki? or something? i just want to make sure i'm using all the latest greatest ways of putting a livecd together :wink: without having to read all 16 pages =P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gieltje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_build_a_LiveCD_from_scratch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ph3ar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone know the values that had to be working out in the kernel config.
Thus, Default number of ram disk
Code:
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_COUNT

and Default RAM disk size (kbytes)
Code:
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_SIZE
.
for me are the 1st 12 and 8192 the following.

I figure this out cause i'm having the same as posted problem
Code:
Kernel Panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel.


//Everything is working perfectly it has nothing to do with this issues... I just rechecked all my configs and worked.
//Possibly this kernel panic msg would be occured from the livecd use flag. So i remerged the packages and the baselayout with this use flag.

Anyway thanks veezi for this how-to.


Last edited by ph3ar on Tue Jun 07, 2005 9:23 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kabage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:28 am    Post subject: Success! Reply with quote

Your Kung Fu is STRONG!

Thank you veezi for the awesome
work!

I will find the answers to below
questions but If you have a quick
answer, would appreciate it.

1. /etc/inittab I changed the
default run level to 5 but seems
to ignore me. How come?

2. I had to adjust default gateway
in route. Is their a config I can
set the livecd to for that?
[EDIT] removed my second nic now autodetection sets it up on the fly!

3. Autologin for agetty. Thought it
was just -n but that didn't work.
Anyone have the trick? Or just use mingetty?
[EDIT] I used mingetty works

Info: If someone is wondering I did
this in pure amd64 with dmraid, and
it detects my sata-promise raid0
partitions just fine. So will be my
new build/recovery disk. Awesome!

[EDIT] I curse you now! I cant stop makeing cd's!
_________________
The solutions are easy. Its finding them that is hard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thunder2002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

very nice howto, one of the best i ever seen.

No my problem: when i boot the livecd i got this:

Quote:

/linuxrc: line 41: dev/console: Read-only file system
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attemped to kill init!


I found some answers here but nothing matched. I also tried to set dev/console in the initrd part +rw, also the hole initrd image in /boot but nothing happens, every time the above error appears and i dont know what to do now anymore :(

Does someone have an idea or something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 998
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Great Tutorial
but i was wondering that if it was possible to use the genkernel with this
bcause i wanted to have automatic hardware detection.
If possible can u tell me how , plz
Also can u plz tell me if that is it okay to use stage3 instead of stage2 because iam getting some compile errors with stage2

Thnks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brenden
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 710
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:29 pm    Post subject: [solved] Reply with quote

This is a great how-to, but for whatever reason I can't make this stuff work correctly.

My initrd gets loaded by the kernel, but it can't find anything for some reason. init=/bin/sh doesn't work either. The files are there, including linuxrc, but it just won't work. When I mount the initrd manually and do chroot /mnt/initrd, it gives me
Code:
chroot: cannot run command `/bin/sh': No such file or directory

However,
Code:
# pwd
/mnt/initrd/bin
# ls
cat  chroot  mkdir  mount  pivot_root  raid0run  sh  tar  umount

as you can see I have everything there.

Some help would be much appreciated.

UPDATE:

I solved it by adding a symlink at /mnt/initrd/lib64 that points to /mnt/initrd/lib.

I guess this was an amd64 issue.


Last edited by brenden on Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do an 'ldd /bin/sh' and make sure all of those libraries are in /mnt/initrd/lib.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hanni_ali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 57
Location: UK, London

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've created the LiveCD fine it boots and is fully functional however I can't get KDE to work. Running off the HDD (./work), startx works fine but on creating the Live CD I get the error message
Code:
Could not start kdeinit. Check your installation.

in a pop up xmessage box

I can't work out what to do to fix this any help would be much appreciated.

I'm very tired now so off to bed.

Hanni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loonix
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2004
Posts: 98
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could check if either your /tmp folder has full read write access and as well that the permissions for the user folders are set properly i.e. folder ownership.

hope this works

AR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bardebarde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Graz,Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thunder2002 wrote:
Hi,

very nice howto, one of the best i ever seen.

No my problem: when i boot the livecd i got this:

Quote:

/linuxrc: line 41: dev/console: Read-only file system
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attemped to kill init!


I found some answers here but nothing matched. I also tried to set dev/console in the initrd part +rw, also the hole initrd image in /boot but nothing happens, every time the above error appears and i dont know what to do now anymore :(

Does someone have an idea or something else?


This is exactly the same problem that appears on my screen. Everything else went fine. So WHERE is the error? Already tried to change permissions for the initrd device nodes... but that was no success. Still got the line 41 error! That damn thing.... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bardebarde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Graz,Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I managed to boot a little step further now...
Now a minimalistic shell, titled "sh-3.00" welcomes me. But where are all the commands and programs I installed in the previous steps?
If I hit the tab button, there's only about 40 commands I can choose. And I won't find /etc/profile....

Looks like the script inside the initrd is buggy, even I copied it off this thread!
I am new to this stuff, please help me, I wanna learn how to configure this livecd to get everything to work, from sound to X. Thanks for your time!


Last edited by bardebarde on Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thunder2002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm i can't help you atm but maybe you can tell me how you managed the problem i have too? Maybe i will get the same problem and find an anwser with a bit luck :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bardebarde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Graz,Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thunder2002 wrote:
Hmm i can't help you atm but maybe you can tell me how you managed the problem i have too? Maybe i will get the same problem and find an anwser with a bit luck :)

I managed to eliminate the problem by just reconfiguring the kernel. In filesystems/pseudofs/devfs I added the option to create all device nodes at bootup time and voilà - that problem was gone. But the problem with not beeing able to boot the init is a big one for me atm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bardebarde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Graz,Austria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I almost got it. I almost can boot through the initrc file , just the last 3 lines will bring the error....

exec chroot . /bin/sh <<- EOF >dev-console 2>&1
exec /sbin/init ${CMDLINE}
EOF


Because the machine says, that /dev/console is read-only, it will not let me run /sbin/init.

By the way : I looked for /dev/console but it even isn't present!

If I let the script run through it will bring the kernel panic at exactly this position!
Otherwise, if I write it by hand, the shell just complains about the "read-only thingy" and lets me go on. No /sbin/init functionality, either.
There's no /dev/initctl that is needed by init. :(

What's the problem? I know, there are some of you, who successfully made their livecd. Please help me! Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thunder2002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm,

i completly rebuild the livecd on my new notebook and now it runs perfectly. Very strange because i also rebuild it on the other pc after this where i tried before but it doesn't work. Is there maybe any unrecognized requirment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bardebarde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Graz,Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am still stuck at the end of initrc. Everything is mounted in the right way. But what is astounding is the fact that, when I do pivot_root . newroot and then look into /dev, there are all kind of devices, but NO console, null etc.

UPDATE:
Ok, now I finally managed it to start up Gentoo on my LiveCD iso via qemu.
My Solution to achieve thiswas as follows:
1)I created another /dev folder in the read-write enabled tpmfs space
2)I created the devices like in the tutorial now interactively :)
3) And mounted it via mount -o bind new_dev /dev.

Voila! It booted, but booting was slow and 3or 4 points in the init weren't green ,but red, so they failed.
This includes the network card upbringing. But I will see what matters and try to fix that. Finally, there's fun again :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kri5th
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 4:56 pm    Post subject: Add user to live cd... Reply with quote

First i would thank veezi for write this!
I have already read all post relatively this task.
This is my linuxrc:

Quote:

...
# Mount root and create read-write directories
mount -t squashfs -o loop /cdrom/files/source.img /new > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/var > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/etc > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/tmp > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/root > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/mnt > /dev/null 2>&1

cd /new/var && tar xpf /cdrom/files/var.tar > /dev/null 2>&1
cd /new/etc && tar xpf /cdrom/files/etc.tar > /dev/null 2>&1
cd /new/root && tar xpf /cdrom/files/root.tar > /dev/null 2>&1

# Set up home directory
mount -t tmpfs none /new/home/user
cd /new/home/user && tar xpf /cdrom/files/user.tar
...


I add user without any problem inside chroot and i have create a home directory with correct permission
and owenership.
When i boot the cd i don't see in mount directory /mnt/ and /home/user but the other directories (/etc, /var, /root, /tmp)
works fine. What's wrong? Any suggestion?

P.S I use autologin for this user and when the cd boot the autologin works fine. The current working directory is /home/user but i haven't permission to write in this dir.(if i type ls -la i don't see . and .. dir)
Thanks for help
Ciao[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gieltje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 8:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Add user to live cd... Reply with quote

kri5th wrote:
First i would thank veezi for write this!
I have already read all post relatively this task.
This is my linuxrc:

Quote:

...
# Mount root and create read-write directories
mount -t squashfs -o loop /cdrom/files/source.img /new > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/var > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/etc > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/tmp > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/root > /dev/null 2>&1
mount -t tmpfs none /new/mnt > /dev/null 2>&1

cd /new/var && tar xpf /cdrom/files/var.tar > /dev/null 2>&1
cd /new/etc && tar xpf /cdrom/files/etc.tar > /dev/null 2>&1
cd /new/root && tar xpf /cdrom/files/root.tar > /dev/null 2>&1

# Set up home directory
mount -t tmpfs none /new/home/user
cd /new/home/user && tar xpf /cdrom/files/user.tar
...


I add user without any problem inside chroot and i have create a home directory with correct permission
and owenership.
When i boot the cd i don't see in mount directory /mnt/ and /home/user but the other directories (/etc, /var, /root, /tmp)
works fine. What's wrong? Any suggestion?

P.S I use autologin for this user and when the cd boot the autologin works fine. The current working directory is /home/user but i haven't permission to write in this dir.(if i type ls -la i don't see . and .. dir)
Thanks for help
Ciao
[/quote]

I have updated this to the genkernel init scripts, these are very simular to the 2005.0 livecd.

This works MUCH better I must say, boots almost everything, looks way more proffesional etc. It might be a bit of a trick to get it working but it is certainly worth it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 15 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum