Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] VMWare Workstation raw disk with WinXP guest
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
friism
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've changed the ide-driver as mentioned above, but I'm still getting the ol'e
Code:
*** STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7B8524, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)"


The thing I don't understand is: Windows BSODs _before_ I choose the hardware profile, so how is changing drivers in the profiles gonna do me any good? Anyway, I tried having Windows choose the Virtual profile by default, but no luck.

Ideas anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imporission
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys don't know how helpful ya'll have been... It has taken me a bit due to the errors but I finally have VMware loading XP through linux...

BUT there still is one issue, that is not even touched on here, and I hope you don't mind me asking....

well I got into windows and everything "works" but man its slow as heck. I own a XPS Gen 2 laptop, so I know it can handle it, and I've given it 512 memory, but particallarially when it is moving windows or opening something in the start menu... its slow.

I would assume this might have to do with the graphics? I have a NVIDIA GeForce Go 6800 Ultra which is a decent card, but well to be honest, this is my first week of linux, and it was one of the primary causes of my conflict from the get go, but since I have installed the drivers from Nvidia's site it SEEMS to be working, though I don't have any 3d things in linux to run lol

So this is like a double ended question, is it VMware causing the conflict and if so, any ideas for remedying it, or is it my graphics card installation, and if so any ideas for remedying it

or how to decipher which it is.

Sorry about that one, thanks though,
C
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alet_roux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Post a .vmx file, pretty please? Reply with quote

I want to try this by using only vmplayer. Would somebody mind posting a copy of their .vmx file, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Devport
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anybody gotten it to work with vmware-server and sata ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjstickel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 5:12 am    Post subject: SATA raw disk Reply with quote

korban wrote:
this worked for me:
http://www.vmware.com/community/message.jspa?messageID=292002


Yep, I found this to be the most help for getting my SATA harddrive, with dual boot windows, to run in vmware. To summarize, I replaced all "scsi0:0" with "ide0:0" in [virtual machine].vmx, and then replaced "BusLogic" to "ide" in [virtual machine].vmdk. Worked great! No scsi driver issues and no bluescreen 0x0000007B error. As discussed in the reference url, this wouldn't be necessary if vmware-workstation didn't automatically assume the raw disk was scsi; maybe this will be fixed in future versions of workstation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 439
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:03 pm    Post subject: Re: keyboard and mouse don't function Reply with quote

m00nxaild wrote:

Now I boot vmware winxp guest, and I could not pass the winxp login. No mouse, no keyboard.

I am also having the same problem with my install of VMWare Workstation 5.5.1. Hardware is a Toshiba Tecra S3 laptop with both a dual trackpad and a USB mouse, Host OS is Gentoo, Guest OS is XP Pro using raw disk. After properly configuring my environment so I can boot this Guest OS as raw disk, I get to the XP Login screen with no mouse or keyboard.

To restate, the keyboard does work during the boot process, I click in the screen to enable access, the system boots to my Grub screen, where I use the cursor and enter keys to load XP Pro, use the cursor and enter key again to select the XP profile (named Virtual), and then Windows fully boots to the login screen, and I have no mouse or keyboard.

I tried several different settings in VMWare, including defining the direct device for both the trackpad and the USB mouse (obviously USB is selected too). I also tried unplugging the USB mouse and not plugging it in until the Windows login screen appears. Safe mode does not enable the keyboard or mouse either. Nothing seems to work.

I don't know if it had anything to do with modular X, but I made sure I had the proper vmware input and video drivers enabled and then I rebuilt my xorg-x11 package anyway. Still no joy.

Any help is appreciated..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muschl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:02 pm    Post subject: Solved VMWare Keyboard and Mouse problem on XP raw disk Reply with quote

Hi,

i would like to run my real Windows XP installation under Ubuntu VMWare Server.
With the help from the following sites you can configure your VMWare Server to boot into raw disks.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-246371-highlight-ntfs%20vmware.html
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?s=46db455bc6e67786a2203087e5cd11d3&t=183209

Now the Solution for No Keyboard and Mouse in VMWare.

1. Download the PE HWPnP Tool from Paraglider
http://www.paraglidernc.com/plugins/HWPnP.cab

2. Create the directory C:\fixvm\ on your Windows XP System Disk (C:\)
mkdir /media/hda1/fixvm

2. Extract the Files to the folder C:\fixvm\ on your Windows XP System Disk (C:\)
cabextract -d /media/hda1/fixVM HWPnP.cab
mkdir /tmp/iso
mount -t iso9660 /usr/lib/vmware/isoimages/windows.iso -o loop /tmp/iso
cp -r /tmp/iso/* /media/hda1/fixvm
echo FixVM Stage 1 start > /media/hda1/fixvm/stage1.txt

3. create the C:\fixvm\fixvm.cmd file on your Windows System disk and inject the following content

echo Searching for FixVM Stage
if exist C:\fixvm\stage1.txt (
echo FixVM Stage 1 found
msiexec -i "C:\fixvm\VMware Tools.msi" ADDLOCAL=ALL /qn
del C:\fixvm\stage1.txt
echo Stage 1 finished successfully > C:\fixvm\stage2.txt
shutdown -r -f -t 30
)
if exist C:\fixvm\stage2.txt (
C:\fixVM\HWPnP.exe +all
del C:\fixvm\stage2.txt
echo.
echo Please check the function of your Mouse and Keyboard
echo.
pause
)
end

4. reboot into your real Windows

5. Change the following Registry Keys (start/run/regedit.exe)
\HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon
- AutoAdminLogon = 1
- AutoLogonCount = 5

(remember the Administrator must have a Password set)

(i think the next entrys are not needed, use it when you have problems)
- DefaultUser = *your USERNAME*
- DefaultUserName = *your USERNAME*
- DefaultPassword = *your Password*

6. Create fixvm.cmd shortcut in Startmenu/Programs/startup Folder (start/run/cmd)
ln -s C:\fixvm\fixvm.cmd "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\fixvm"

7. configure Windows for automated driver installation (start/run/cmd)
sysdm.cpl
- on tab Hardware klick the Button DriverSigning and set it to Ignore

8. After all this steps reboot into the VMWare Server running OS and start the VMWare raw disk WindowsXP.

- system boot
- autologon
- auto installing VMWare Tools
- reboot
- autologon
- auto Plug and Play Hardware detection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:51 pm    Post subject: Grub floppies Reply with quote

Has anyone tied this with a Grub floppy?

What I'm going to try and do is create a floppy image, and install grub on it with a config file that only boots the windows partitions. Then I won't need to tell vmware about the boot partition, and I can keep all of my Gentoo partitions out of harms way

Anyone know a way to pass a profile as a boot argument for XP? If I could pass that from grub I wouldn't need to worry about booting into the wrong partition either.
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
highvoltag3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:46 am    Post subject: Grub 99 99 99 99 Reply with quote

Has anybody fixed the GRUB 99 99 99 99 99 99 ....... boot problem? :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepickle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:30 pm    Post subject: vmare 6 Reply with quote

Has anyone tried this with the new VMWare 6.0? I have a /dev/sda raw disk that's detected as either buslogic/lsilogic doesn't matter, neither boots, i get that 0x07b error...
When I try to change it to ide, VMWare complains that I have a scsi disk which is present as ide and changes it back to buslogic in the vmx file. Or something like that... I will post my vmx and vmdk files later today, as I'm not home at the moment. Please any feedback would be appreciated in the meantime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prolific
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have physical hdd booting working in v6 of vmware .. here are my vmx and vmdk files ..

#!/opt/vmware/workstation/bin/vmware
config.version = "8"
virtualHW.version = "6"
scsi0.present = "TRUE"
memsize = "512"
MemAllowAutoScaleDown = "FALSE"
ide0:0.present = "TRUE"
ide0:0.fileName = "Windows XP Professional.vmdk"
ide0:0.deviceType = "rawDisk"
ide1:0.present = "TRUE"
ide1:0.autodetect = "TRUE"
ide1:0.deviceType = "cdrom-raw"
floppy0.startConnected = "FALSE"
floppy0.autodetect = "TRUE"
ethernet0.present = "TRUE"
ethernet0.wakeOnPcktRcv = "FALSE"
usb.present = "TRUE"
ehci.present = "TRUE"
sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.fileName = "-1"
sound.autodetect = "TRUE"
svga.autodetect = "TRUE"
pciBridge0.present = "TRUE"
isolation.tools.hgfs.disable = "TRUE"
displayName = "Windows XP Professional"
guestOS = "winxppro"
nvram = "Windows XP Professional.nvram"
deploymentPlatform = "windows"
virtualHW.productCompatibility = "hosted"
RemoteDisplay.vnc.port = "0"
tools.upgrade.policy = "useGlobal"

floppy0.fileName = "/dev/fd0"

ide1:0.startConnected = "TRUE"
ethernet0.addressType = "generated"
uuid.location = "56 4d af 4f be e9 43 13-12 b6 4d 2b 6f e3 df 88"
uuid.bios = "56 4d af 4f be e9 43 13-12 b6 4d 2b 6f e3 df 88"
ide0:0.redo = ""
pciBridge0.pciSlotNumber = "17"
scsi0.pciSlotNumber = "16"
ethernet0.pciSlotNumber = "32"
sound.pciSlotNumber = "33"
ehci.pciSlotNumber = "34"
ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:0c:12:3d:43:19"
ethernet0.generatedAddressOffset = "0"
ide1:0.fileName = "auto detect"
tools.syncTime = "FALSE"

floppy0.present = "FALSE"
ethernet0.connectionType = "custom"
ethernet0.vnet = "/dev/vmnet2"
sound.startConnected = "FALSE"
serial0.present = "TRUE"
serial0.fileName = "/dev/ttyS0"



# Disk DescriptorFile
version=1
CID=88ea212a
parentCID=ffffffff
createType="fullDevice"

# Extent description
RW 390721968 FLAT "/dev/hda" 0

# The Disk Data Base
#DDB

ddb.virtualHWVersion = "6"
ddb.geometry.cylinders = "16383"
ddb.geometry.heads = "16"
ddb.geometry.sectors = "63"
ddb.geometry.biosCylinders = "1024"
ddb.geometry.biosHeads = "255"
ddb.geometry.biosSectors = "63"
ddb.adapterType = "ide"
ddb.toolsVersion = "7238"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dwardo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 52
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've upgraded the computer (changed 80% of it) (used to have XP booting from raw on a ide disk flawlessly)

I've managed to get to boot my new raw sata XP install but I encounter 2 problems that I never had before:

1) when I boot up the virtual machine my screen becomes all black... doing CTRL+ALT+F1 followed by CTRL+ALT+F7 I can get the vmware windows back and boot continues without problem...

2) bootup is very very very very slow (So slow I havent' been able to install vmwaretools yet...)



If anyone has encountered 1) or 2) thanks for any feedback

Thanks

dwardo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dwardo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 52
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update

dwardo wrote:
I've upgraded the computer (changed 80% of it) (used to have XP booting from raw on a ide disk flawlessly)

I've managed to get to boot my new raw sata XP install but I encounter 2 problems that I never had before:

1) when I boot up the virtual machine my screen becomes all black... doing CTRL+ALT+F1 followed by CTRL+ALT+F7 I can get the vmware windows back and boot continues without problem...

2) bootup is very very very very slow (So slow I havent' been able to install vmwaretools yet...)



If anyone has encountered 1) or 2) thanks for any feedback

Thanks

dwardo


I have found a solution to 2)

Well I've overclocked my e4400 to 3GHz insteady of the stock 2GHz... and in XP under vmware the sole processor I was giving XP was detected as 7.34 GhZ so I figured there was something it didn't like whith my processor speed...

after some googling I found a solution which consisted in adding to /etc/vmware/config the following 3 lines:

# Found on http://www.vmware.com/community/thread.jspa;jsessionid=73AA1E2DA1F584159D471DD1BE15641E?messageID=7818&#7818
host.cpukHz = 3000000
hostinfo.noTSC = TRUE
tools.syncTime = TRUE


As for 1) I don't have the black screen if I rebbot the Virtual machine... I just have it on the very first boot...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
princ3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:38 am    Post subject: Error opening virtual machine Reply with quote

Ok, i give it up, am i deaf, dumb or blind ? I don't even get that far as you guys, when i create a new custom virtual machine and select the physical disc, after pressing the finish button i get this error:

Error opening virtual machine "/home/dude/vmware/windows/Windows XP Home Edition.vmx": The configuration file for this virtual machine cannot be found. It might be missing from the virtual machine directory, or the path specified to access this virtual machine might be incorrect.

Configuration file: /home/dude/vmware/windows/Windows XP Home Edition.vmx.

This is not the case when i create a typical virtual machine.

What the heck am i missing ?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dwardo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 52
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved my second and last problem !!! :)

splash (splahutils was not working on my machine since the upgrade) seems that the stock gentoo-sources kernel configurations does not support it since I had to add:
[*] Video mode selection support
<*> Framebuffer Console support

To get the Gentoo livecd splash theme to work... [I had already readded Framebuffer support and vesa-tng]

So I recompiled my kernel rebooted (to see the splash theme was back) and then started vmware... AND 1) was solved :) :) :)

Good thing I tried t solve all the problems in parallel not sequentially...

dwardo

dwardo wrote:
Update

dwardo wrote:
I've upgraded the computer (changed 80% of it) (used to have XP booting from raw on a ide disk flawlessly)

I've managed to get to boot my new raw sata XP install but I encounter 2 problems that I never had before:

1) when I boot up the virtual machine my screen becomes all black... doing CTRL+ALT+F1 followed by CTRL+ALT+F7 I can get the vmware windows back and boot continues without problem...

2) bootup is very very very very slow (So slow I havent' been able to install vmwaretools yet...)



If anyone has encountered 1) or 2) thanks for any feedback

Thanks

dwardo


I have found a solution to 2)

Well I've overclocked my e4400 to 3GHz insteady of the stock 2GHz... and in XP under vmware the sole processor I was giving XP was detected as 7.34 GhZ so I figured there was something it didn't like whith my processor speed...

after some googling I found a solution which consisted in adding to /etc/vmware/config the following 3 lines:

# Found on http://www.vmware.com/community/thread.jspa;jsessionid=73AA1E2DA1F584159D471DD1BE15641E?messageID=7818&#7818
host.cpukHz = 3000000
hostinfo.noTSC = TRUE
tools.syncTime = TRUE


As for 1) I don't have the black screen if I rebbot the Virtual machine... I just have it on the very first boot...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hunky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 826
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my turn begging for some help. Getting WinXP to start booting but bluescreens with the STOP error mentioned on this thread. Frustrating as many moons ago I had this working. I've got a separate sata disk on the local computer and have gone through the exercises in this thread to best of my abilities. The disk has 3 partitions - sda1 with NTFS where WinXp resides, sda2 with VFAT, and sda3 with ext3. I've tried configuring vmware-server with using the whole disk, with just the sda1, and with sda1 and 2.

One thing I didn't understand was how to find the pci string in the *.inf file that ichief talked about here https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2104789.html#2104789 so I just used the example he gave when editing the registry. Perhaps that could be the problem. I did download the scsi driver from vmware and extract it to the System32/drivers directory.

I went ahead and merged the .reg file in the microsoft help page given a few posts back, though from ichief I probably didn't need to. I tried editing the .vmdk and changing buslogic to ide with no change. Here's the vmdk file:
Code:
# Disk DescriptorFile
version=1
CID=6dac2170
parentCID=ffffffff
createType="fullDevice"

# Extent description
RW 312581808 FLAT "/dev/sda" 0

# The Disk Data Base
#DDB

ddb.adapterType = "ide"
ddb.geometry.biosSectors = "63"
ddb.geometry.biosHeads = "255"
ddb.geometry.biosCylinders = "19457"
ddb.geometry.sectors = "63"
ddb.geometry.heads = "255"
ddb.geometry.cylinders = "19457"
ddb.virtualHWVersion = "4"


Here's the .vmx file (when I set scsi0.present = "FALSE" nothing changes, or if I set ide0:0.present - ="TRUE", then I get an error that partitions changed):
Code:

#!/opt/vmware/server/bin/vmware
config.version = "8"
virtualHW.version = "4"
scsi0.present = "TRUE"
memsize = "512"
ide0:0.present = "FALSE"
ide0:0.fileName = "Windows XP Home Edition.vmdk"
ide0:0.writeThrough = "TRUE"
ide0:0.deviceType = "rawDisk"
ide1:0.present = "TRUE"
ide1:0.fileName = "/dev/hda"
ide1:0.deviceType = "cdrom-raw"
floppy0.fileName = "bootdisk.img"
Ethernet0.present = "TRUE"
displayName = "Windows XP Home Edition"
guestOS = "winxphome"
priority.grabbed = "normal"
priority.ungrabbed = "normal"
powerType.powerOff = "hard"
powerType.powerOn = "hard"
powerType.suspend = "hard"
powerType.reset = "hard"

ide0:0.redo = ""
ethernet0.addressType = "generated"
uuid.location = "56 4d e3 d0 b5 ae e1 3c-94 3e 5b 76 e9 d6 00 39"
uuid.bios = "56 4d e3 d0 b5 ae e1 3c-94 3e 5b 76 e9 d6 00 39"
ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:0c:29:d6:00:39"
ethernet0.generatedAddressOffset = "0"

floppy0.fileType = "file"

floppy0.startConnected = "TRUE"
floppy0.autodetect = "TRUE"

ide1:0.startConnected = "TRUE"
tools.syncTime = "FALSE"

usb.present = "TRUE"
usb.generic.autoconnect = "FALSE"

usb.autoConnect.device0 = ""
usb.autoConnect.device1 = ""

sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.fileName = "-1"
sound.autodetect = "TRUE"

sound.virtualDev = "es1371"

scsi0:0.present = "TRUE"
scsi0:0.fileName = "Windows XP Home Edition-3.vmdk"
scsi0:0.deviceType = "rawDisk"

scsi0:0.redo = ""

checkpoint.vmState = ""

debug = "TRUE"

sound.startConnected = "FALSE"


I did just think, as I was writing this, that maybe my bootdisk.img has somehow become wrong so better check that when I figure out how again - but not sure I would get windows booting as far as it does if that wasn't right.

thanks - Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KD-120RD
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 149
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I am trying to run my Win2k (Dual-Boot) with VMware-ws-5.5
I installed vmware, created a vm and tried to run it, but got the lilo/missing-boot-partition error.
I created an boot partition on my box (/boot is now on /dev/hda5, hope that extended partitions are ok).
And now I get this error: "The partition table on the physical disk has changed since the disk was created. Remove the physical disk from the virtual machine, the add it again."

Of course I tried removing and adding the disk. I also removed the whole vm and created a new one. I deleted all the vmware settings i could find on my gentoo box: /etc/vmware, ~/vmware and ~/.vmware. I even reemerged vmware-ws.
Nothing. I can not get rid of this message.

This is very frustrating, any hint would be appreciated.
Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taliesin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im about to start trying to get Windows working on VMware and Im juts curious why everyone is so hesitant to use a Partition as a virtual disk and install the Windows Boot Loader onto it?

Is there a bug which prevents this from working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tschenturs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

princ3, I had the same situation that new configurations with Raw devices could not be saved at the end of the wizard.

I use vmware as user, not as root. The permissions of the raw device has been set as follows:

Code:

$ ls -l /dev/sda
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 8, 0 11. Dez 06:51 /dev/sda


I thought that it is sufficient to add the vmware group to the disk group, but obviously that didn't do the trick.

I have then added my user to the disk group (in /etc/group). That did it. Basically, the user I was running vmware under did not have the rights to write to the raw device. The error message of vmware is misleading though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/dev/blackhawk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 380
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dwardo wrote:
I've upgraded the computer (changed 80% of it) (used to have XP booting from raw on a ide disk flawlessly)

I've managed to get to boot my new raw sata XP install but I encounter 2 problems that I never had before:

1) when I boot up the virtual machine my screen becomes all black... doing CTRL+ALT+F1 followed by CTRL+ALT+F7 I can get the vmware windows back and boot continues without problem...

2) bootup is very very very very slow (So slow I havent' been able to install vmwaretools yet...)



If anyone has encountered 1) or 2) thanks for any feedback

Thanks

dwardo

I encountered a similiar problem like 1). But in my case it was a custom bootlogo for XP which disabled the hardware profile selection dialog during the boot process. Just switching back to the default theme solved the problem.

By the way has anyone a running vista with vmplayer (and raw disk access)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
urcindalo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 594
Location: Almeria, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to resuscitate this old thread ;)

Up until vmware-workstation-6.5.1.126130 I was able to boot my raw-disk installation of WinXP inside vmware workstation without problems, on my AMD64 box (stable amd64 profile). It's been also a while since I've needed to boot into Windows again. To my surprise, I'm now faced with these issues:

1) If I try to use the virtual machine created with VMware Workstation v6.0 in v6.5.1.126130, the machine boots but get stalled at Grub loading:
Code:
GRUB Loading stage1.5.

GRUB loading, please wait...
Error 21


2) If I try to create a new virtual machine with v6.5.1.126130, everytime I get to the point of selecting the whole drive where the WinXP installation resides I get this:
Code:
The specified device is not a valid physical disk device


I've doubled checked everything I can think of:
Code:
$ cat /etc/group | grep disk
disk::6:root,adm,haldaemon,printeruser,MY-USER-NAME,vmware
(Yes, I even put the user vmware here, just in case).
Code:
$ cat 91-local.rules && ll /dev/hd*
KERNEL=="hda", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda1", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda2", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda3", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda4", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda5", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda6", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda7", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hda8", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb1", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb2", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb3", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb4", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb5", MODE="0770"
KERNEL=="hdb6", MODE="0770"
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  0 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  1 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda1
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  2 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda2
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  3 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda3
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  4 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda4
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  5 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda5
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  6 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda6
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  7 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda7
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3,  8 mar  5  2009 /dev/hda8
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 64 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 65 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb1
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 66 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb2
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 67 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb3
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 68 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb4
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 69 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb5
brwxrwx--- 1 root disk   3, 70 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdb6
brw-rw---- 1 root cdrom 22,  0 mar  5  2009 /dev/hdc


WinXP resides in hda1 and I boot from hdb6. Both hda and hdb disks are configured with grub:
Code:
# grub

grub> root (hd1,5)
 Filesystem type is reiserfs, partition type 0x83

grub> setup (hd1)
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5" exists... yes
 Running "embed /boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5 (hd1)"...  19 sectors are embedded.
succeeded
 Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd1) (hd1)1+19 p (hd1,5)/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded
Done.

grub> setup (hd0)
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5" exists... yes
 Running "embed /boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5 (hd0)"...  19 sectors are embedded.
succeeded
 Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd0) (hd0)1+19 p (hd1,5)/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded
Done.

grub> quit


Anyone else is suffering from this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum