Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I don't need yaboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:39 pm    Post subject: I don't need yaboot Reply with quote

I'm using a couple of Old World Macs, so I don't need yaboot. But if I update world, I get it anyway. How do I stop this?
TIA
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Re: I don't need yaboot Reply with quote

lazloman wrote:
I'm using a couple of Old World Macs, so I don't need yaboot. But if I update world, I get it anyway. How do I stop this?
TIA


Hi,

In the system profile there is a:

virtual/bootloader and yaboot satifies this virtual dependences.

This is where the requirements comes from.

You could try:
echo "sys-boot/yaboot" >> /etc/portage/package.mask
or
the package.provided file to say that you have an equivalent package.

But I have never removed a package asked by system so don't really know best way to handle.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. For now I just "masked" <yaboot-5.0. Just so it won't bother me for a while.
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kemkem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a question around yaboot..

When my ibook boots up,
I have two successive menus :
first one is a prompt to select between osx/linux ( x to boot macosX, l for linux)
the second one is a prompt displayed when I boot linux. Just have to press enter there.

Is there a way to avoid those two successive prompts?
Can I select boot option in a menu instead of a prompt ?

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum