Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
today's the day
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:18 pm    Post subject: today's the day Reply with quote

i'm editing my /mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf for my 1ghz tibook. is it necessary to have the setting MAKEOPTS="-j2" or should i leave this out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should not matter for most applications, and the ebuilds for those applications that mind it will set MAKEOPTS by themselves to safe values. The general rule of thumb is to provide a number equal to the number of processors on your system plus one to the -j make flag (so you will have -j2 for a single processor machine) to maximize processor usage. You could set -j to 1 to be ultra-safe (which will somehow increase the build time, but not by much) if you feel like it.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm installing using a stage2 tarball. i am now attempting to update the portage tree... both emerge --sync and emerge-webrsync are not working for me. i disconnected and reconnected the ethernet cable but that shouldn't harm anything should it? i think that emerge --sync is not working for me because i am behind a firewall at my university. emerge-webrsync should work but i am getting the following error message:

fetching most recent snapshot
unable to fetch md5sum, no way to detect corruption. bailing.

what should i do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JDCentral
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 112
Location: Fort Collins, CO

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: I should be a Tibook/Gentoo expert, by now... Reply with quote

Hehe.. I've installed Gentoo on my Tibook around 6 times, now... mostly because I screwed things up so badly that it was easier to wipe clean than to dig out all 'issues'.

Did you follow the Install documentation, exactly?

(I assume that you have, and are chrooted into your hard-disk, etc..)

If you're at a university, they most definantly have a firewall, so use emerge-webrsync.

Double-check your network config - run net-setup eth0, and make sure all the settings are correct.

After this, run links (it's a web-browser... type something like links http://www.gentoo.org from the command line) and make sure it's working.

Also... double check that your mirrors are correct. double check the GENTOO_MIRRORS line in your make.conf file... I'd had problems with the autodetection or mirrors, so I just changed it to one found on the mirror's page.
_________________
Gentoo Currently installed on:

Athlon XP-Mobile Barton 2600+ @ 200x12.5
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe. rev 2.0
1GB OCZ Performance PC3200 RAM
Sapphire X1650 Pro 256MB GDDR3
2x120GB Seagate 7200.1 IDE Drives
1x320GB Seagate SATA Drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

or:

emerge mirrorselect
mirrorselect -a 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the last few times i've tried to install gentoo, i get through all the steps in the handbook and reboot my machine. i get a message something along the lines of ... corrupt filesystem or improper filesystem or something... then the next line reads something like.... please enter root passwd for maintenance or press Ctrl-D for normal startup. i've tried both... something is obviously wrong. i think something might be wrong with my fstab. what does yours look like? an error i always reach during the install occurs when i try to automatically configure yaboot using yabootconfig. it says that it is unable to locate the kernel image please specify its location. this actually ends up being an infinite loop i.e. the message just repeats itself over and over again and i have to force my machine to shutdown. so the last few times i've manually configured yaboot. any ideas as to what is going wrong with my install. i really try to follow the directions exactly. oh... one part where i am unable to follow the directions exactly is when i do menuconfig... sometimes the options listed in the handbook are different or are not present on the actual program... for example the directions say to disable ADB raw keycodes... this option is not present but there are afew things that deal with ADB (just not keycodes)... ????????????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think yabootconfig is broken right now, I never could make it work. Which is fine because adapting yaboot manually is pretty straightforward. Your remarks about menuconfig are right. I guess the best way is to work from an existing kernel: you can extract the config file for the kernel on the live cd out of /proc. I would just do that, run "make oldconfig" and thus obtain a working kernel. You can then take it from there and try and build new kernels with certain settings unset, but for the time being, it's most important to just get one that will boot your computer. For fstab, one thing that can easily go wrong: you HAVE to comment out the line about /boot. If linux tries to mount your apple partition map, things will go wrong. So here is mine:
Code:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
#/dev/sda2              /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/sda4               /               ext3            noatime                 0 1
/dev/sda3               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user             0 0
/dev/sdb3               /mnt/osx        hfsplus         rw,auto,user            0 0
#/dev/sdc2               /mnt/usb        hfsplus         rw,auto,user            0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
#none                   /proc/bus/usb   usbdevs         defaults,devmode=0666   0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0

This should work, just change the /dev/sdX to the values you need (which could be hdX, depending on your system). Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so once i get to the step where i type make menuconfig... you think i should type make oldconfig instead??? continue on as usual?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my apple partition map is hda1 and my bootstrap partition is hda2... neither of these are listed in fstab... right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm partitioning now... about the apple partition map... do i need to touch this or should i just leave it alone? basically now i have two partitions... the apple partition map (1) and free space (2)... once i partition the free space does the apple partition map configure itself or do i have the wrong idea about what it is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the handbook calls for me to create a mountpoint and then mount the root partition by doing the following:

mkdir /mnt/gentoo

... but this directory already exists (and i would think must contain some data), is this a problem or should i go ahead with

mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Williamstown, MA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you look in that directory, before mounting any filesystem on it, you should notice that is it empty and safe to use.

For some reason, some of the livecd's already have made this directory for you.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i ran make oldconfig after running emerge gentoo-dev-sources (i guess that gave me a standard kernel as apposed to the kernel config file you recommended out of /proc) i then did make all && make modules_install. i never ran make menuconfig and therefore never compiled ext3 filesystem stuff. i finished the installation and got the best result yet...

gentoo boots and when i attempt log in i get the following message:

login; PAM failure, aborting critical error -immediate abort

oh and just before the login prompt comes up i am noticing that my ext3 filesystem is being mounted as ext2...
'
is there any way to go back and run make config to get ext3?... will that fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've probably tried the install all over again since my last post. but my most recent attempt brought me all the way to a reboot but then stalled at something like:

mice:
PS/2 something something something

i tried to recompile my kernel but must not have done it correctly (i had to use the install cd) because it stalled at the same spot. any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum