Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Switch User (multi users) Super-Mini Howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: KDE Switch User (multi users) Super-Mini Howto Reply with quote

Tried to find some info in the forums but couldn't find anything, so here you go.

I have kde 3.3.1 installed.

All you need to do it edit
Code:
nano -w /usr/kde/3.3/share/config/kdm/Xservers


and change

Code:
:0 local@tty1 /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp
#:1 local@tty2 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :1
#:2 local@tty3 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :2
#:3 local@tty4 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :3
#:4 local@tty5 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :4


to

Code:
:0 local@tty1 /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp
:1 local@tty2 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :1
:2 local@tty3 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :2
:3 local@tty4 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :3
:4 local@tty5 reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp :4


and restart KDE.

You should then have "Start new session" in your Kmenu.

I'm sure you can work it out from there.

[edit]: I'll tell you just in case... ;)

select "Start new session" and it will take you to a log in screen. Log in as usual.

To switch between users use CTRL + ALT + F7-F9 etc

-chris
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fourhead
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 875
Location: Cologne, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, did I get this right. If I follow your how-to, I'd be able to work on vt/7 with my user account, and I could open up a completely separate KDE session with my girlfriends's user account on vt/8, so we could both have our very own desktop and wouldn't interfere with each other? Sounds great, will have to try this!

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

elektrohirn wrote:
Hmm, did I get this right. If I follow your how-to, I'd be able to work on vt/7 with my user account, and I could open up a completely separate KDE session with my girlfriends's user account on vt/8, so we could both have our very own desktop and wouldn't interfere with each other? Sounds great, will have to try this!

Tom


that is correct

you just need to have a seperate user for her to log on as, of course ;)

In fact with linux you could attach another monitor and keyboard and mouse and she can log onto your computer on the other monitor, and use the pc AT THE SAME TIME AS YOU. But I haven't configured this yet..

let me know how you go.
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 425

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do i need kdm running? installed?
PD: I'm also not able to get the prompt that asks for reboot, logout, halt when logging out from kde, i think only works with kdm running, am i wrong? thanks :)
_________________
Si el tonto te alaba lamentalo, si el listo te censura piensalo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

soya wrote:
do i need kdm running? installed?
PD: I'm also not able to get the prompt that asks for reboot, logout, halt when logging out from kde, i think only works with kdm running, am i wrong? thanks :)


no idea actually! I would assume you need kdm.. can u try with kdm and see if it works?
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parasietje
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taskara wrote:
elektrohirn wrote:
Hmm, did I get this right. If I follow your how-to, I'd be able to work on vt/7 with my user account, and I could open up a completely separate KDE session with my girlfriends's user account on vt/8, so we could both have our very own desktop and wouldn't interfere with each other? Sounds great, will have to try this!

Tom


that is correct

you just need to have a seperate user for her to log on as, of course ;)

In fact with linux you could attach another monitor and keyboard and mouse and she can log onto your computer on the other monitor, and use the pc AT THE SAME TIME AS YOU. But I haven't configured this yet..

let me know how you go.


I have tried this back at 4.3.0 xfree. The problem then was that XFree only has ONE input device. So using two USB keyboards+mice isn't an option.
Using a (very unstable) patch, I managed to get two images on two seperate monitors at the same time, being able to control the two X-servers independently from each other. But this was really, really unstable.
The only thing to implement is: disable vt-switching by the X-servers (using a patch), and adding a seperate input device that distincts USB keyboards seperately.
I would have to try it using Xorg-x11. Hope you could manage it better than me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum