Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
still at it
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:25 am    Post subject: still at it Reply with quote

i've finished up part one of the install for what feels like the 100th time and i have recieved an all too familiar error upon reboot:

*Checking root filesystem. . .
ext2fs_check_if_mount: No such file or directory while determining whether /dev/hda4 is mounted.
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hda4
/dev/hda4:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>
*Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(

Give root password for maintenance
(or type Control-d for normal startup):


Oh please tell me how to fix this. i have tried running e2fsck -vf /dev/hda4 both of the install disk and in "maintenance mode"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porodzila
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please post your /etc/fstab
and while your at it go into mac-fdisk and post your partition table too.
_________________
ubi primum potero, me hinc subduco.


Last edited by porodzila on Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noup
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 917

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure it is /dev/hda4 the device which contains the root filesystem?
restart your computer with the live cd and run:
Code:
fdisk /dev/hda

try to identify your root filesystem, to find out whether /dev/hda4 corresponds to your / filesystem.
_________________
noup.


Last edited by noup on Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
#/dev/BOOT /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 1
/dev/hda4 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
#none /proc/bus/usb usbdevs defaults,devmode=0666 0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

# type name length base ( size ) system
/dev/hda1 Apple_partition_map Apple ? ( 31.5k) Partition map
/dev/hda2 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap ? (800.0k) NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap ? (512.0M) Linux swap
/dev/hda4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root ? ( 55.4G) Linux native

i put '?' in the length base fields bc i typed this as apposed to copying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please help....

i have another question: i am going to use the .config file for my kernel from ppcconfdb.sourceforge.net (Tibook_1Ghz_G4_15inch_IV). i noticed one option when i ran make menuconfig that didn't match up with the handbook:

under pseudo filesystems, under /dev filesystem support (OBSOLETE), Automatically mount at boot had not been selected.

the handbook says to select this option but it is also my understanding that the .config from ppcconfdb is reliable and is said to work. should i leave my configuration alone after ppcconfdb or make adjustments such as this?

back to the original topic of this post...

man i do not want to get that filesystem error again. please assist me in avoiding this error. after partitioning i apply a filesystem by mke2fs -j /dev/hda4 and everything seems to go fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noup
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 917

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just to confirm, in what step during the gentoo installation are you having problems? cause i don't understand why you say "part 1".
try going to /dev and see if you have /dev/hda1, /dev/hda2, etc... i think the system isn't setting them up during boot. also i really think you should enable
Quote:

under pseudo filesystems, under /dev filesystem support (OBSOLETE), Automatically mount at boot
.
_________________
noup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry for the part 1 confusion. the handbook is divided into two parts, installing gentoo and working with gentoo (what i have been referring to as parts 1 and 2 respectively). i have essentially finished part 1- installing gentoo (several times). after setting up yaboot.conf i reboot the machine as instructed by the handbook and receive the filesystem error that i have mentioned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noup
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 917

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noup wrote:

try going to /dev and see if you have /dev/hda1, /dev/hda2, etc... i think the system isn't setting them up during boot. also i really think you should enable
Quote:

under pseudo filesystems, under /dev filesystem support (OBSOLETE), Automatically mount at boot



have you tried this?
_________________
noup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porodzila
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so what are hda1(partitionmap) and hda2?
_________________
ubi primum potero, me hinc subduco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hda1 is the apple partition map and hda2 is the 800k bootsrap partition






*someone mentioned having a similar problem when installing from 2004.3 (like me) but not with 2004.2... i'd like to give 2004.2 a try but can't seem to find it on the net. someone help. i've tried to use the 2004.2 cd once without success. i plan on trying again today. one thing i noticed is that it freezes when i try to reboot off it. is that a problem as long as i complete the install process then force the computer to restart if i have to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt it will solve anything, but you can use my http://stimuli.ca/linux/files/.config-2.6 to compile your kernel with. I've been successfully using linux on a TiBook IV for years.

Why isn't your root partition ext3?

If your problem persists you might try emerge --oneshot baselayout as perhaps there's a glitch in yours?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my root partition is ext3. what has made you think differently?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pegasos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobotoes:

try - emerge devfsd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum