Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Triple Boot?! Help Please
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rawn027
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Triple Boot?! Help Please Reply with quote

I right now i have PPC64 and Mac OS X could I install Darwin via source code like gentoo is and use the 64 bit tiger source for Darwin? With darwin I can install darwinports for a source of programs and have a triple boot right?
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 1.8
1GB DDR 400 RAM
Nvidia 6600 GT

MacBook Pro Duo 1.67
1GB DDR2 667 RAM
ATI x1600 Mobility
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm... Mac OSX == Darwin...

Not sure what you mean here.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rawn027
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

macosx == darwin : false

macosx is the operating system that apple produces and codes and releases for 129 bucks every year or so...

darwin is the open source low level command live operating system that mac os x is built upon. it is basically the only version of freebsd that is available for for a ppc G5.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 1.8
1GB DDR 400 RAM
Nvidia 6600 GT

MacBook Pro Duo 1.67
1GB DDR2 667 RAM
ATI x1600 Mobility
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servobf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tripple booted linux/linux/OSX before. I was trying out Debian (Note I'm still here :D ).

As long as you've got separate partitions, the installs should go fine. The problem you may have, is who's in charge up updating yaboot? Does Open Darwin use Yaboot?

What happened with Debian is it installed it's own yaboot preferences, and I had to give some parameters at boot time (disk and partition number, path to kernel) to get Gentoo back up. If OD uses Yaboot, or installs it's own boot loader, you may have to either manually select Gentoo and update yaboot to taste, or boot from a live CD, choose your Gentoo manually, and update from there.

Annother note. If you've used mac-fdisk to re-arrange your partition order, pdisk doesn't seem to respect the new orders, but the orriginal partitioning order. :cry:

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeekec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: Athens, GA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the yaboot HOWTO

Quote:
6.4 Boot Menu Options

A CHRP script (ofboot) has been provided which ybin will modify using yaboot.conf settings, to display a very handy multi-OS boot menu.

If you are setting up a multi-OS boot menu, you'll need to identify the partitions where each OS lives. You can use Linux-style or OpenFirmware partition paths. Here are some examples illustrating the possibilities:

Code:
macos=/dev/hda10
macosx=/dev/hda12
darwin=hd:9
bsd=zip:1


When using macosx=, if you have OSX installed on a UFS partition, then point the macosx to the OSX bootstrap partition, not the UFS root. Don't be tempted to use the OSX bootstrap partition for ybin, however — you still need a separate Apple_Bootstrap partition.

When using bsd=, on the other hand, point to the BSD root partition, not a bsd bootstrap partition. To use bsd=, you also need to have the bsd bootloader (ofwboot) available in /usr/local/lib/yaboot/ when running ybin.

If nothing is selected from the boot menu when it appears, the system launches yaboot to start Linux. To launch another OS when no key is pressed, add a defaultos= line, for example defaultos=macos or defaultos=bsd.


Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum