Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo PPC and ADSL
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:27 pm    Post subject: Gentoo PPC and ADSL Reply with quote

I just kind of installed Gentoo on my Mac but am going to have to switch back to Debian because I can find no way to setup my ADSL (PPPoE) internet connection. adsl-setup is not included with the universal livecd. This is really not good.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you look at the gentoo handbook chapter3.c

Quote:

Alternative: Using RP-PPPoE

Assuming you need PPPoE to connect to the internet, the LiveCD (any version) has made things easy for you by including rp-pppoe. Use the provided adsl-setup script to configure your connection. You will be prompted for the ethernet device that is connected to your adsl modem, your username and password, the IPs of your DNS servers and if you need a basic firewall or not.

Code Listing 7: Using rp-pppoe

# adsl-setup
# adsl-start

If something goes wrong, double-check that you correctly typed your username and password by looking at /etc/ppp/pap-secrets or /etc/ppp/chap-secrets and make sure you are using the right ethernet device. If your ethernet device doesn't exist, you will have to load the appropriate network modules. In that case you should continue with Manual Network Configuration as we explain how to load the appropriate network modules there.

If everything worked, continue with Preparing the Disks.



as the handbook says it should be included in any version of the live cd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Yes Reply with quote

That is exactly what I did. But adsl-setup and adsl-start did not work. I even search the livecd and those two scripts are nowhere on the system. So it makes the handbook section kind of pointless.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Pathetic Reply with quote

And the best help I could find by searching the web is http://www.ppczone.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=98&forum=7

which isn't much at all.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you search for adsl-setup or for rp-pppoe?

i cannot believe that they simply forgot to put in on the cd. most probably there is another reason for you not finding it! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:32 pm    Post subject: I'm not that dumb Reply with quote

I know enough to not do that.

I look in every directory where stuff like this is located, and tried using the locate command but nothing showed up.

So as hard to believe as it may sound, it does look as though adsl-setup is not on the livecd. I tried universal and minimal.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry if some questions sound stupid. i just want to exclude some possibilities.

here is another one! did you do
Code:
emerge rp-pppoe ppp


(after chrooting into your new system, of course!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So they actually let you do that? :D

And after emerge --metadata and setting the time zone, etc. I'll try it.

By the way I ask obvious questions like that to, people learn.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

artooro wrote:
So they actually let you do that? :D


well if you don´t emerge (means: install) a program you won´t be able to use it. :lol:

it just uses the files of the live-cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was that a trick?

I just tried it and it tried to fetch something from the internet and so failed of course.

Is there a way to get it onto a nice cd and have a fun time installing it all manually?

It shouldn't be that hard because it's just some scripts and configuration files. Just where to get it.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

artooro wrote:
Was that a trick?


look! i´m just trying to help. i neither use ppc nor an adsl connection. i ask you to try this or that, so we can isolate where your problem is. the more info we get the easier it will be to help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artooro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK,

Well thanks for trying to help.

I'm going back to Debian now, maybe a year from now I'll try Gentoo again for no good reason.
_________________
<Arthur/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does
Code:
/sbin/ifconfig
tell you?

obviously
Code:
ping -c 3 www.yahoo.com
does not work, right?

what exactly do you get when you typ
Code:
adsl-setup
outside your chroot enviroment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bye! :|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same experience on the 2004.1 and the 2004.3 cd. I fetched rp-pppoe from the 2004.1 package cd to get it work.
On the 2004.2 cd adsl-setup worked during installation. So I'm thinking of setting my own install cd together with a working adsl script (hope it works).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnEptUne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 653

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the other hand, you can just burn the distfiles on another cd and use them to install rp-ppoe under the chroot environment. However, if you only have one cdrom drive, this could be a problem. artooro is lucky that the livecd works. My oldworld Mac cannot even boot from CDs, so I have to install debian from floppy and then install gentoo from the debian environment. I think Gentoo should have a floppy installation as an option.
_________________
"There will be more joy in heaven over the tear-bathed face of a repentant sinner than over the white robes of a hundred just men." (LM, 114)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum