Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE tips & tricks
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
huru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 59
Location: lappeen Ranta, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:27 pm    Post subject: KDE tips & tricks Reply with quote

I couldn't find existing similar thread so I thought to make one myself.

There's lots and lots of hidden or not-so-obvious features in KDE that most users probably do not know, like various KIO-slaves, web shortcuts etc. Maybe there's documentation somewhere but every now and then I've run into something new and I get the feeling "whoa, if I only knew earlier that was possible!". So, post your favourite KDE tricks here, whether it's handy less known KIO-slave, DCOP trick, ..whatever.

I'll start: Alt-F2 starts the "run command" dialog. What is probably less known is that the dialog can be used as simple calculator, just enter formula and hit enter. No need to start terminals or run kcalc for simple calculations :)

Another I discovered by accident: When running konqueror in filemanager mode and moving files around (dragging), stop mouse cursor on top of folder (don't release button) for a moment. Konqueror opens the folder for you. This way you can drag and drop file deeper into hierarcy without opening new windows. Seems to be implemented in KDE 3.3.
_________________
There's someone watching me. I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1599
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your mouse decides to quit working from some application crashing or the batteries go dead or whatever you can press 'shift+numlock' and it lets you move the mouse cursor around with the number pad.

If you have the IRC client Konversation insalled it comes with some scripts you can use. If you're listening to a song with juk and type in '/juk', it will report what song you are listening to. Here's a list of the default scripts that get installed with Konversation-0.15.

amarok - Now playing script
cmd - Outputs the results of a command, '/cmd cat ~/my.file'
fortune - displays a fortune
gauge - Beer load
kaffeine - Now playing script
noatun - Now playing script
uptime - Sends your uptime info.
bug - '/bug 93482' would open kde bug 93482 in Konqueror.
colorizer - Colorizes your words.
juk - Now playing script
kdeversion - Sends the version info for Qt, KDE, and kde-config.
sayclip - Prints the contents of the clipbaord into Konversation with flood protection.
weather - Sends the weather info from KWeather

They are located in /usr/share/apps/konversation/scripts/ so you can take a look at them to see how they work and maybe make your own.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hauser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 650
Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like to the assign my own keyboard shortcuts, for example I've changed 'Switch to desktop n' to 'Alt+n' so I can switch to one of the 4 desktops I use with my left hand very easily. The command shortcuts are also very interesting, for instance to bind 'Ksnapshot' with the 'Print Screen' key is a very natural thing to do.

I also like to make the panel hide automatically 1 sec after the cursor leaves the panel, it kind of makes your desktop look slightly larger.:)

If a user can mount a device (for instance by putting the 'users' option in the fstab), you can mount a device in Konqueror by clicking 'Services' (on the side bar), 'Devices' and then any one of the devices listed there, you'll immediately find yourself in the mount point (directory) associated with that device. To umount, leave the directory first, right-click the device, and choose 'unmount'.
_________________
AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl

Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 59
Location: lappeen Ranta, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hauser wrote:
I like to the assign my own keyboard shortcuts, for example I've changed 'Switch to desktop n' to 'Alt+n' so I can switch to one of the 4 desktops I use with my left hand very easily. The command shortcuts are also very interesting, for instance to bind 'Ksnapshot' with the 'Print Screen' key is a very natural thing to do.


Hmm, why didn't I never think of binding ksnapshot to printscreen :)

Khotkeys is quite handy for making shortcuts. (Under regional & accessibility in control-center), for example you can program your extra multimedia keys to control amarok via dcop.
_________________
There's someone watching me. I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yanaar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I wrote my script to record tv I decided it would be better to stop setiathome/ksetiwatch during recording, but I wanted to start it after the record is finished. But ksetiwatch did not want to start, claiming about it could not connect to X. Took me some days to find out how to do it:
ksetiwatch -display :0
So when someone needs to start an application out of a script or another Server, this might help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KHotKeys is awesome, I configured global Opera-esque mouse gestures for everything. Left -> Alt+Left (previous), Right -> Alt+Right (next), Up -> Esc (stop), Up+Down -> F5 (reload), Down -> Ctrl+N (new), Down+Right -> Ctrl+W (close).
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deprave
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Flint, Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heres one some people might not possibly be aware of.....in Konquerer you can browse thru ssh protocal via fish://
_________________
http://www.migamer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venkat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 110
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hauser wrote:

I also like to make the panel hide automatically 1 sec after the cursor leaves the panel, it kind of makes your desktop look slightly larger.:)


actually choosing "allow other windows to cover the panel" and checking "raise when ..." and choosing "bottom edge" does a neat job. just that i hate when the panel disappears while i'm at the root window ...
_________________
http://venkatu.dotgeek.org/blog/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 373
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

deprave wrote:
heres one some people might not possibly be aware of.....in Konquerer you can browse thru ssh protocal via fish://


Oh my!

That's one of the most useful features I've seen in a long time! Wow!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gkmac
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2003
Posts: 333
Location: West Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herring42 wrote:
deprave wrote:
heres one some people might not possibly be aware of.....in Konquerer you can browse thru ssh protocol via fish://
Oh my!

That's one of the most useful features I've seen in a long time! Wow!

And you can copy a file in that browser, then paste it in a hard drive view to download the file. Or you can view your hard drive, copy a file on your hard drive and then paste it in the fish:// view to upload it.

It gets better! If you see a text file in fish:// you want to edit, there's no need to download it, edit and re-upload. You can open KWrite (or Kate, or Kedit), type fish://whatever in the Location and the file selector dialog will browse the files on that server. You can then open, make edits and then save directly back to the ssh-connected server. (Just be prepared to re-enter your ssh password when you edit for a long-ish time).

It also works with plain FTP, you can type ftp://whatever and edit those HTML files on your ISPs webspace without having to download/upload back and forth all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sftp:// is also really nice.

About about dragging a picture from a website to your desktop? The file will be copied from the http:// location to your desktop (or used as background)!

Update:

Did you know you could replace the "lpr" command with "kprinter --nodialog" in your non-KDE applications? :) :)

Did you try entering man:/ in KWrite?

Did you try opening a file on an FTP share with KWrite? The KIO-slave automatically uploads the file again if you save it.

Most window managers (inclusing KWin): Hold Alt down to move windows across the screen.

I happened to find some interesting tips in KTip:
Quote:
Want to print by using "DragNDrop"?
Drag a file and drop it on the "Files" tab of an opened kprinter dialog.


Quote:
If you drag a file from Konqueror or from the desktop to Konsole, you will have the choice between pasting the URL or entering that folder.


Quote:
You can access a man page by entering a hash mark (#) and the name of the man page wherever you can enter a URL, like in the location field of the web browser or the Alt+F2 command-line.

You can access an info page by entering a double hash mark (##) and the name of the info page wherever you can enter a URL, like in the URL line of the web browser or the Alt+F2 command-line.


Quote:
You can change the background color of the desktop by dragging a color from a color selector in any application to the desktop background.


Quote:
You can use Konqueror to browse through tar archives, even compressed ones. You can extract files simply by dragging them to another place, e.g. another Konqueror window or the desktop.


Quote:
The program Klipper, which is started by default and resides in the system tray at the right end of the panel, keeps a number of text selections around. These can be retrieved or even (in the case of URLs, for example) be executed.


And finally: press the maximize button with your middle or right mouse..!
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LinuxRocks
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 397
Location: New Mexico

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herring42 wrote:
deprave wrote:
heres one some people might not possibly be aware of.....in Konquerer you can browse thru ssh protocal via fish://


Oh my!

That's one of the most useful features I've seen in a long time! Wow!


Oh My is right. That flat out ROCKS!!!

This will save me TONS of time scp'ing and what not...

Great Tip!!!!

Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FormerSlacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 340
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CTRL + ESC brings up a nice little process manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LinuxRocks wrote:
Herring42 wrote:
deprave wrote:
heres one some people might not possibly be aware of.....in Konquerer you can browse thru ssh protocal via fish://


Oh my!

That's one of the most useful features I've seen in a long time! Wow!


Oh My is right. That flat out ROCKS!!!

This will save me TONS of time scp'ing and what not...

Great Tip!!!!

Joe

Erm well, I'd rather have a real mount so I can use good 'ol cp, edit files directly, and such:

Code:
emerge shfs
modprobe shfs
mkdir /mnt/point #or whatever
echo "user@server:/                           /mnt/point/     shfs    noauto,user,stable      0 0" >> /etc/fstab
mount /mnt/point

Now just add shfs into your kernel's autoload so it gets loaded at boot.

Combined with keychain and a general-purpose multimount script like mmt, shfs is really badass for managing multiple machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acdispatcher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Konqueror you can also browse some man pages quick and easy just type:

man:///


Then you can bookmark it for later use.
_________________
Budget PC -
DFI NF3 250Gb Socket 754
AMD Sempron 3100+
1.5 GB Crucial DDR 400(PC 3200)
SAMSUNG 160GB SATA
NVIDIA 6600


Last edited by acdispatcher on Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

freeix wrote:

Erm well, I'd rather have a real mount so I can use good 'ol cp, edit files directly, and such:


I can see your point (and the keygen example), but did you know you can open FTP/SFTP files with KWrite, and the KIO-slave uploads the file automatically if you have it? :)
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to Control Centre -> System Administration -> Paths, and change the desktop path to system:/. Also try media:/, applications:/, and settings:/. (The first one may or may not require 3.4, the other three certainly do.)
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akvalentine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Go to Control Centre -> System Administration -> Paths, and change the desktop path to system:/. Also try media:/, applications:/, and settings:/


What does this do? I tried it, but didn't notice any change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In konqueror, displaying a long web page, shift up/down arrow starts the page auto-slow-scrolling.

Successive shift up-down's let you control the speed. esc stops it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In KMail, select a fragment of an e-mail message and press "r". Your reply only quotes the selected text.
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wget
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FormerSlacker wrote:
CTRL + ESC brings up a nice little process manager.
In addtion, Ctrl+Alt+Esc loads Xkill.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hvengel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 515

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vdboor wrote:
In KMail, select a fragment of an e-mail message and press "r". Your reply only quotes the selected text.


You can also select reply to or foward from the menu and only the selected text will be included.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

firephoto wrote:
If your mouse decides to quit working from some application crashing or the batteries go dead or whatever you can press 'shift+numlock' and it lets you move the mouse cursor around with the number pad.

very handy. its interesting that it works with the numeric pad but not with the cursor keypad. :?
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob P wrote:
firephoto wrote:
If your mouse decides to quit working from some application crashing or the batteries go dead or whatever you can press 'shift+numlock' and it lets you move the mouse cursor around with the number pad.

very handy. its interesting that it works with the numeric pad but not with the cursor keypad. :?

No, its not interesting. It is identical to the functionality of windows.

The cursor keypad has other, more important uses. The numpad is sort of "auxilary" to the main parts of the keyboard and is much more suited to acting as a makeshift mouse.

Also, it's not KDE-specific. I know it works in Fluxbox, so it is likely an X thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sakus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

deprave wrote:
heres one some people might not possibly be aware of.....in Konquerer you can browse thru ssh protocal via fish://


Which one of the split KDE builds do I need to emerge to get this? Currently I get "protocol not supported" error when I try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum