Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE tips & tricks
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tpr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sakus wrote:

Which one of the split KDE builds do I need to emerge to get this? Currently I get "protocol not supported" error when I try that.

Don't know about Gentoo packages at all, but kio_man is inside of kdebase. (kdebase/kioslave/man/)
_________________
RSS aggregator for KDE? Check Akregator.
For Finns: KDE Finnish Translation Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sakus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tpr wrote:
sakus wrote:

Which one of the split KDE builds do I need to emerge to get this? Currently I get "protocol not supported" error when I try that.

Don't know about Gentoo packages at all, but kio_man is inside of kdebase. (kdebase/kioslave/man/)


Okay thanks, emerging kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superstoned
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vdboor wrote:
freeix wrote:

Erm well, I'd rather have a real mount so I can use good 'ol cp, edit files directly, and such:


I can see your point (and the keygen example), but did you know you can open FTP/SFTP files with KWrite, and the KIO-slave uploads the file automatically if you have it? :)


this is nothing... I am waiting until I can open two ftp folders, go into a tar.gz in one of them, cd into a tar.gz in the other, and drag'n'drop files between them... :D

actually I don't know if this is possible now (I can't test it now, installing gentoo... :D) but I thought it isn't, and they are working on it. but you *can* copy files from one ftp folder onto another, without even noticing they are on ftp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add MouseMiddleClickClosesTab=true to the [FMSettings] section in ~/.kde/share/config/konquerorrc to have it do what it says.
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
totencham
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 299
Location: Szczecin, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can make your "Launch Pager" (desktops previewer) transparent by clicking it with right mouse button and in "Show" select transparent.
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Index
cd /usr/src/linux && egrep -ir "( fuck)|( shit)" *
Linux registered user #376896
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monotux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another feature:

Install dbus / hal (make sure you have compiled in support for it...) and make it work, and enable device icons on your desktop.
Then try plug in your USB-memory...and click on the USB-disc icon on your desktop.

Another one:
Insert a audio cd, and click on the icon on the desktop - in there, you'll find a few different directories, like "Mp3", "FLAC" and "Ogg Vorbis".
Take one of these directories, and drag it to your desktop - and konqueror will start ripping and encoding it :D
(you can customize it, of course! Take a look in the control panel)
_________________
Computer science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdgill0
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1366
Location: Lexington, Ky -- USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

acdispatcher wrote:
In Konqueror you can also browse some man pages quick and easy just type:

man:///


Then you can bookmark it for later use.


Ah yes this is nice ... I have actually been using man:some_command in konq, but I never realized I could get a listing of everything that was available with man:///.

Also, these same tricks with man work with info in konq.
_________________
Vim has excellent syntax highlighting for configuration files: emerge gentoo-syntax
Learn how to use Vim: vimtutor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also if you try for example
Code:
#xo
you will get "list" of all available manpages starting xo :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdgill0
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1366
Location: Lexington, Ky -- USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radfoj wrote:
also if you try for example
Code:
#xo
you will get "list" of all available manpages starting xo :D


hmmm ... this does the same thing as
Code:
man:xo


If you type just
Code:
#

and hit enter it does the same as man:/// ... so it appears that # is a shortcut to man, but it certainly is faster to type :!:
_________________
Vim has excellent syntax highlighting for configuration files: emerge gentoo-syntax
Learn how to use Vim: vimtutor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superstoned
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

another tip:
select some music tracks in amarok, drag'n'drop them onto the usbstick icon on your kicker, and the files are copied to the usbstick (it has to be mounted, btw). as easy as it gets.

edit: also works for the icon on the desktop!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdgill0
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1366
Location: Lexington, Ky -- USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This trick I got from http://wiki.kde.org

Quote:
Create a normal textfile with the name
e-mail.desktop
in the directory
~/.kde/share/apps/konqueror/servicemenus/
with the following contents

[Desktop Entry]
ServiceTypes=all/allfiles
Actions=mailto

[Desktop Action mailto]
Name=e-Mail as Attachement
Exec=kmail --attach %U
Icon=kmail


Now when you right-click on any file in konqueror's file manager mode you can e-mail that file as an attachment with KMail.


Now the e-mail command is located under the actions when you right-click, at least in KDE 3.4.
_________________
Vim has excellent syntax highlighting for configuration files: emerge gentoo-syntax
Learn how to use Vim: vimtutor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superstoned
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jdgill0 wrote:
This trick I got from http://wiki.kde.org

Quote:
Create a normal textfile with the name
e-mail.desktop
in the directory
~/.kde/share/apps/konqueror/servicemenus/
with the following contents

[Desktop Entry]
ServiceTypes=all/allfiles
Actions=mailto

[Desktop Action mailto]
Name=e-Mail as Attachement
Exec=kmail --attach %U
Icon=kmail


Now when you right-click on any file in konqueror's file manager mode you can e-mail that file as an attachment with KMail.


Now the e-mail command is located under the actions when you right-click, at least in KDE 3.4.


thanx, great tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
totencham
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 299
Location: Szczecin, Poland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can regulate volume of amaroK (so PCM too) by moving mouse wheel over amaroK's tray icon.
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Index
cd /usr/src/linux && egrep -ir "( fuck)|( shit)" *
Linux registered user #376896
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NamShub
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure to use Qt-Gtk engine to have a consistant looking desktop. After installing, look for the new entry in KControl (Look & Feel)

The more details you put in your X.org configuration file, the more the display section of KControl becomes useful

Editing your /usr/kde/3.x/share/config/kdm/Xservers file will let you have the "Switch User" option in your K Menu. Just hit Ctrl+Alt+F? to switch desktops.
_________________
Free Software Tips & Tricks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hoek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Bayreuth, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe everyone knows that already, i'll mention it though:

In Konqueror, there's something called "web shortcuts", a very handy feature that lets you save a lot of time.
For example, type "gg:keyword" into Konqueror's address bar to browse to google searching for "keyword".

The same thing with e.g. "wp:keyword": There's no way finding a keyword on Wikipedia faster =)

You can list all possible shortcut conbinations in Konqueror's preferences - and even create your own.

Want to find something on eBay really fast?

Go to web shortcut preferences, call the new shortcut something like "eBay search", with the shortcut "eb" or something, and type the following as search query URL:

Code:
http://search.ebay.com/\{@}


Replace ".com" with any other eBay domain (.de, .fr, .jp or something)

If you want to find out how to send more extended search queries, use the "quickhelp" feature: click on the question mark button in the dialog box and then on the URL input field and you get an explanation of the special characters you can use to express your search.

Now typing "eb:stuff" into Konqueror's address bar finds stuff on eBay.. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superstoned
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

even handier, you can set each of these searches as default. so you just type some words in the locationbar, and it can search whatever you want by default - google, google image search, ask jeeves, etcetera.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1599
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And the url to that you can use to create a Gentoo forums search is:
https://forums.gentoo.org/search.php?sourceid=Konqueror-search&search_keywords=\{@}
Then just add whatever shortcut you want to it and you have quick forum searching handy.
_________________
#gentoo-kde on freenode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superstoned
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firephoto wrote:
And the url to that you can use to create a Gentoo forums search is:
https://forums.gentoo.org/search.php?sourceid=Konqueror-search&search_keywords=\{@}
Then just add whatever shortcut you want to it and you have quick forum searching handy.

cool 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally figured out how to take rid of two things that annoyed me for some time.

First was the kmenu titles, that are pretty useless. Now the menu looks much more simpler and beautifull, second was the kmenu icons, that i dont need, now the menu displays much faster that before. For both things you have to edit the ~/.kde/share/config/kickerrc file and add tow lines like these under the [menus] section:

Code:

ShowMenuTitles=false   ## This is for annoying grey titles
MenuEntryHeight=-1   ## This one is for the icons


Note that what the line for the icons do is to set the height of that column to -1, so it won't display. You can also use a value like 32 to get one kmenu a la winxp, with bigger icons. The default is 16, that are the small icons that you see by default when you install kde.

These little tips came from here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-337050-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-.html

Thanks to fuji for that. :D
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdgill0
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1366
Location: Lexington, Ky -- USA

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 6:19 pm    Post subject: Konqueror's favicons Reply with quote

Konqueror stores its favicons in /var/tmp/.../kdecache-username/favicon/ or something like that. This normally isn't a problem, but if you happen to be one of those people who regularly cleans out /var/tmp you will delete your favicons too.

You can avoid this problem by backing up the KDE specific tmp directories, but an easier method of dealing with this is to set KDEVARTMP and KDETMP environment variables ... I export them myself to /home/usrname/.KDEVARTMP and /home/usrname/.KDETMP, respectively.

[EDIT]
In fact, see this webpage for a list of KDE's environment variables.
_________________
Vim has excellent syntax highlighting for configuration files: emerge gentoo-syntax
Learn how to use Vim: vimtutor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir-Gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, damn, that are some really nice tips, thx goes to the one who told about the usbstick thingy on the desktop, its right that what i wanted, and thx to the one with the amarok volume switch per mouse wheel, pretty nice...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
merced
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

furiorc wrote:
Another feature:

Install dbus / hal (make sure you have compiled in support for it...) and make it work, and enable device icons on your desktop.
Then try plug in your USB-memory...and click on the USB-disc icon on your desktop.


Thanks for the tip, furiorc! However, I'm having some problems with it.

How do I get my users to be able to "Safely Remove" the device? I can only do this as root.

I know it has something to do with kdeeject and the device permissions, but I don't want to give my users access as a part of the disk group.
_________________
Merced
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmercer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 95
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you paste an address into kmail, it will translate "myname at foo dot bar" into "myname@foo.bar"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monotux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

merced wrote:
Thanks for the tip, furiorc! However, I'm having some problems with it.
How do I get my users to be able to "Safely Remove" the device? I can only do this as root.
I know it has something to do with kdeeject and the device permissions, but I don't want to give my users access as a part of the disk group.
Ever considered using sudo? :-)
_________________
Computer science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
merced
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

furiorc wrote:
Ever considered using sudo? :-)

Well, I actually found (can't remember where...) that I have to copy /usr/share/hal/fdi/90defaultpolicy/storage-policy.fdi to /usr/share/hal/fdi/95userpolicy/storage-policy.fdi and make one change.
Code:
<merge key="storage.policy.default.mount_option.user" type="bool">true</merge>

should be changed to
Code:
<merge key="storage.policy.default.mount_option.users" type="bool">true</merge>

Now users can unmount the device with "Safely Remove", but the icon doesn't disappear like it does for root. Any ideas on how to get the icon to disappear?
_________________
Merced
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum