Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
64 or 32?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: 64 or 32? Reply with quote

I am kinda thinking about getting a mac to use as a Gentoo based system to play about on..

How do I know what systems are 64bit and what are 32bit ?

Also a more spcific question, there are some very cheap G3 system around now, how would thease compare speed wise to an x86 PC if bother were running Gentoo

Cheers
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Toady wrote:
there are some very cheap G3 system around now, how would thease compare speed wise to an x86 PC if bother were running Gentoo?

Very poorly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firekopf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 7:50 pm    Post subject: not quite true Reply with quote

i'm running an old purple imac g3 and it runs just fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the question was not whether it would run, but rather how it would compare to an x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porodzila
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i find it like this : my 700MHZ imac is roughly equivalent to my 1.25 GHZ laptop. except that it compiles slower and boots faster.
_________________
ubi primum potero, me hinc subduco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firekopf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, my imac 333 runs as fast as my 700 mhtz computer, but it doesn't compile as quickly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI, comparing the performace per processor clock of different processor architectures is pointless.

Instead, compare performance per $$$.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spitzwegerich
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 697
Location: Lower Bavaria, Central Europe

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I compare my G3 iBook 800 MHz to my Athlon 1333 MHz, the iBook definitely is a good part slower than the Athlon. But on the other hand, it is fast enough for everything I do. All application run smooth, I do not want a system that consumes more power and produces more heat.
_________________
"Work is the curse of the drinking classes."
-Oskar Wilde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To answer the 32-bit vs 64-bit. G3/G4 are 32 bits and the G5 is the 64-bit.

At the instruction set level:
G3: 32-bit PowerPC
G4: G3 + altivec instructions
G5: 64-bit processor that can run 32-bit or 64-bit code.


spitzwegerich wrote:
If I compare my G3 iBook 800 MHz to my Athlon 1333 MHz, the iBook definitely is a good part slower than the Athlon. But on the other hand, it is fast enough for everything I do. All application run smooth, I do not want a system that consumes more power and produces more heat.


I have a iBook G3 700MHz and Athlon 1200MHz. I have the same performance experience.

Gentoo + WindowMaker is definitely faster than Mac OS X, the OS pre-installed.

About compiling, note that the PowerPC has 32 registers whereas x86 only 8. Register allocation is not a trivial problem and this is my hypothesis why on PowerPC is compiles slower than x86.

Note that there is a very big improvement in compilation time from gcc 2.96 and the 3.x series on PowerPC, at least for my work, SableVM development.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help guys thats aswered alot of my quiries..

Well I now know what to Look for I think ;)
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aronchi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxOSX and WindowMaker are difficult to compare. They have different graphic features and usability. But this is the best of Linux: you can choice from a Blackbox (or Fluxbox) to a full of features KDE, if you want.
With Windows or MacOSX it's very difficult to make any choice, another one has already done it for you, that's the point.
_________________
Alessandro Ronchi Home Page
SOASI: Sviluppo Software e Sistemi Open Source Forlì
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iTux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 586
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aronchi wrote:
MaxOSX and WindowMaker are difficult to compare. They have different graphic features and usability. But this is the best of Linux: you can choice from a Blackbox (or Fluxbox) to a full of features KDE, if you want.
With Windows or MacOSX it's very difficult to make any choice, another one has already done it for you, that's the point.


Hi,

Actually, my intention was not to compare WindowMaker vs OS X. :) I mentionned WindowMaker to complete my system description as it might have some impact on the performance. But I think it is not only the OS X GUI that might be the cause, there are some things (I don't know what) that makes OS X slower than it should be... I am (was) using 10.2, might have improved in more recent versions.

iTux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aronchi wrote:
MaxOSX and WindowMaker are difficult to compare. They have different graphic features and usability. But this is the best of Linux: you can choice from a Blackbox (or Fluxbox) to a full of features KDE, if you want. With Windows or MacOSX it's very difficult to make any choice, another one has already done it for you, that's the point.

Choosing a shell for windows only requires changing a path in the registry which really isn't any more esoteric than $EDITOR ~/.xinitrc.

And in the majority of cases a new shell's installation program will take care of this for you.

The true difference between the windows and linux worlds is that in all actuality not many people are interested in changing the windows shell because it is simple, straightforward, standard, and above all Just Works.

Or perhaps these are simply the reasons relatively few alternate windows shells have been developed in the first place.

Either way the point is the same... I'm all for criticizing windows, but try to be honest when you do it and make the correct statement:

With Windows [or MacOSX] it's very difficult to make any choice

becomes...

With Windows [or MacOSX] there are fewer choices available because users/developers are not as interested in using/developing alternate environments
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doom.it
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Pavia, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a question:
what happens if I try to use PPC32 on a G5 system?
I ask this because i was pretty sure i had to use PPC64 on such a system, but since os X.3 is actually a 32bit system (OS X.4 will be partially 64bit) and G5 systems can run 32 bit appz fine, maybe i could use Gentoo PPC32 bit instead of PPC64 which is far more unsupported and unstable......... what do you think about this? anyone tried to use gentoo PPC (32) on a G5 ?
thanx
DooM
_________________
I have discovered photography. Now I can kill myself. I have nothing else to learn.
Pablo Picasso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum