Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on IBM Thinkpad T42
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sm1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 251
Location: Ames, IA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After you have emerged ibm-acpi, you have to load that module.
Code:

modprobe ibm-acpi


This will load it for the current boot, but add it into your

/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel2.6

Add the line
Code:

ibm-acpi


So that it will load on the next boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultraslacker
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Aug 2002
Posts: 124
Location: lazy fairy land

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Option "MinSpeed" "0 .06"
Option "MaxSpeed" "0 .18"

Option "CircularScrolling" "1"
Option "CircScrollDelta" "0 .195"
Option "CircScrollTrigger" "0"


There shouldn't be a space before the decimals.
_________________
�The nationalist not only does not disapprove of atrocities committed by his own side, but he has a remarkable capacity for not even hearing about them.� -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xchric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has someone got the built-in mic work?

no idea how to configure the mic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultraslacker
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Aug 2002
Posts: 124
Location: lazy fairy land

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mic works - I've used it with alsa 1.0.8 (in 2.6) and 1.0.9rc. Once I got the sound working it didn't require any special effort.

Check that you have the mic volume up and unmuted in alsamixer.
_________________
�The nationalist not only does not disapprove of atrocities committed by his own side, but he has a remarkable capacity for not even hearing about them.� -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xchric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried

and it works

perfect!! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xchric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I failed on the Fn+F3
I followed exactly the steps including creating sh scripts in /etc/acpi/events /actions
But when I hit Fn+F3, nothing happen
I did check the /var/log/acpi and the Fn+F3 was recognized
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sm1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 251
Location: Ames, IA

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the way you have it setup:

Your /etc/acpi/events/default should point to wthe scipt that you want to handle all these interactions. In my case
Code:
action=/etc/acpi/tp.sh %e


And then I place all my actions in tp.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rapolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm using software suspend 2 on my thinkpad

hibernating to disk works fine.

but hibernating to ram doesnt work.
after "echo 3 > /proc/acpi/sleep" it goes to sleep.
I can then see the led of the moon.

but how can I awake from sleep? after pressing the powerbutton i.e. the notebook boots as usual


thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sm1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 251
Location: Ames, IA

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to press the "fn" to wake up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rapolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in this case it starts a usual boot as well !?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC the default /etc/acpi/defaults.sh from acpid shuts down the computer when the "button/power" event is recognized which happens when you press the power button :wink: Just comment that line in there. Btw. it's better to use sys-power/hibernate-script to activate the different sleep modes instead of directly echoing numbers to /sys/... or /proc/...
_________________
KDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sm1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 251
Location: Ames, IA

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Earthwings,

there is a problem using fglrx as i mentioned earlier in this post. You have to use another means to go into s3 or s5, and that solution has to include vbetools and switching vt's. Hibernate-script doesn't handle this (at least not by default).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, sorry, I just read the last three posts or so :oops:
_________________
KDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rapolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jep and hibernate-sleep leeds to the same problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M4tteo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much for you "fast howto" i configured my T43 without problems :wink:
_________________
M4tteo

"... WhO.WaNTs.CaN ......"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linpacman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did anyone got the trackpoint driver from http://people.clarkson.edu/~evanchsa/ working?

I patched my gentoo-sources 2.6.11-r9 and recompiled the kernel without mistakes. But there is no module trackpoint.h, which would be loadable in xorg.conf. I think, this module must be in /usr/lib/modules/input/ but it isn't. I tried with psmouse as kernel module and fix in the kernel.

Has anyone an idea how to get the trackpoint driver working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 4:42 am    Post subject: Overheating Reply with quote

I bought this T42 about a month ago. Compiled loads of stuff (not all because I was switching from Dell I6000 to this laptop) and never had any thermal troubles. Since last week, my laptop is overheating at fullspeed of 1.7 GHz. It shuts down on a critical temperature (between 90 and 95 C). I juste can't find what's going wrong. I made lots of tests, and find my cpu lot cooler with acpi disabled and lot more cooler with APM enable. Switching from 600 Mhz (33%) on acpi to 1.7 cause my cpu to gain 16 degrees (43 -> 59) wich is not suppose to change while cpu runs idle calls.

Any idea, known story, solutions ?
thanks
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guglie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 240
Location: switzerland - zürich

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on IBM Thinkpad T42 Reply with quote

cb100: thanks for the howto, but I have some problems with some scripts
cb100 wrote:

Lets define our actions for these events. First, create /etc/acpi/events/buttons:
Code:

# Fn keys
event=ibm/hotkey.*
action=/etc/acpi/actions/buttons_act.sh

This defines buttons_act.sh as our handler for all hotkey related events.

That doesn't work for me: that code exec the script /etc/acpi/actions/buttons_act.sh without arguments.
I've used %e to send the arguments and it works fine:
Code:

# Fn keys
event=ibm/hotkey.*
action=/etc/acpi/actions/buttons_act.sh %e

cb100 wrote:

As you will have already seen, I'm not really a bash programmer. Especially the LCD switching will not work the way you will want it. Somehow the script should remember how often the button was pressed and appropriately use "off" or "on" as a parameter. If anyone could help me with this: Thank you!

I've done that:
buttons_act.sh
Code:

#!/bin/bash

case "$4" in
  "00001003") # Fn+F3
     FILE="/usr/local/light_state"
     
     if [ -f $FILE ] ;
     then
       STATE=`cat $FILE`
     else   
       echo 0 > $FILE
       STATE=0
     fi

     if [ "$STATE" = "0" ] ;
     then
       radeontool light on
       echo "1" > $FILE
     elif [ "$STATE" = "1" ] ;
     then
       radeontool light off
       echo "0" > $FILE
     fi
   ;;
   
   "00001004") # Fn+F4
       echo 3 > /proc/acpi/sleep
   ;;
esac

that's all (for the moment :lol: )
_________________
A! Elbereth Gilthoniel! silivren penna míriel o menel aglar elenath!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bllgtse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I tried this code to sleep, and as I read this thread before, i though it was efficient, but ... nope

Code:

    chvt 1
    vbetool vbestate save >/tmp/vbestate
    echo 3 > /proc/acpi/sleep
    vbetool post
    #modprobe fglrx
    vbetool vbestate restore </tmp/vbestate
    chvt 2
    rm -f /tmp/vbestate


and added this parameter to the kernel in grub.conf

Code:

    acpi_sleep=s3_bios


And I use fglrx module to have hardware acceleration
I can't set my laptop sleeping... It wakes up but not cleanly, i have to restart X

NB1: my ohci, uhci, ... are builtin the kernel, and i tried to remove fglrx before the sleep and reinsert it after but nothing changed
NB2: My ipw2100 driver seems to wake up cleanly (i kept it by mistake) but i prefer to remove it manually
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icantux
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2005
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is all quite confusing... 8O

I have a T42 and trying to get at least three functions working here that are important to me without addtional "customized" tweaking (see below): close-lid sleep, turn off LCD on fn-F3 and sleep (fn-F4). From what I gather here, the sleep function is a stickler; turn off LCD (fn-F3) will only work if acpi, ibm-acpi, and radeontools are installed (using emerge) and includes an additional script; close-lid sleep will only work with additional scripting as well as acpi-ibm-acpi, and radeontool installed.

The problem I find with all these posts (a personal comment, in no way demeaning to the authors) is that the scripts are all "customized" and will not work without additional "customized" tweaking to their individual systems. In a word: inconsistent. For instance, with all due respect,

cb100's method is somewhat fubar-ed because of a) need to create various dir-ies and files as opposed to using the existing files in /etc/acpi and b) a missing parameter in the script as Guglie pointed out as well as creating a bunch of new files and directories to handle a simple event (LCD turn off ... fn-F3).
Code:

cb100's original code missing "%e" parameter for proper function
# Fn keys
event=ibm/hotkey.*
action=/etc/acpi/actions/buttons_act.sh  ("%e" missing to end this script line)


On the other hand, Guglie's proposed script will not help the average user because of some "customized tweaking" ... eg.
Code:

 !/bin/bash

case "$4" in
  "00001003") # Fn+F3
     FILE="/usr/local/light_state"     <---------- where does this come in ??? no such file on regular gentoo install!
     
     if [ -f $FILE ] ;
     then
       STATE=`cat $FILE`  ... etc... etc...


The third proposal made by Sm1 although provides a solution for the LCD turn-off feature (fn-F3) seems to make use of "vbetools" for other functions and due to which the functions may or may not work depending on additional enabled features or installed drivers (fglrx, for instance).

This isn't a rant on anyone's attempt to get the IBM Thinkpad functions to work as, of course, there will be individual attempts to make these work. However, are there any clear set of instructions (foolproof) that exist for gentoo users to activate these functions in such a way that would work on any Thinkpad without "customized tweaking" as seen above?

... if nothing exists, I'll write up a set of instructions for the un-initiated to at least allow the general user to make use of those functions that actually do work without software/driver conflict . A big thanks goes out to all those here that added their voice in an attempt to make these functions work.

//alsac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cb100
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alsac wrote:

cb100's method is somewhat fubar-ed because of a) need to create various dir-ies and files as opposed to using the existing files in /etc/acpi and b) a missing parameter in the script as Guglie pointed out as well as creating a bunch of new files and directories to handle a simple event (LCD turn off ... fn-F3).

Thank you ;-)
But to get ibm_acpi working, I just added two custom files (encapsulation!) in order to properly handle and forward the ACPI events.
We all just posted our personal fixes, hoping to help people out there looking for some hints.

So - I fully agree with you.
Our way of making the functions of our T42's work properly with Gentoo are solution attempts, no more, no less.
So if you find a better way (=minimal adjustments from portage installed packages) I'm sure everyone will appreciate it.


Last edited by cb100 on Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guglie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 240
Location: switzerland - zürich

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alsac wrote:
FILE="/usr/local/light_state" <---------- where does this come in ??? no such file on regular gentoo install!

That is true: when the script run for the first time the script create this wile (a better solution could be use a file in the home directory of the user or to store the variable in the RAM)
alsac wrote:
The problem I find with all these posts (a personal comment, in no way demeaning to the authors) is that the scripts are all "customized" and will not work without additional "customized" tweaking to their individual systems.

Eheh, I know that I'm not a professional developer :) : I wrote my script to fix my problem and I posted it on this forum: if somebody find it usefull he can use or work on it.

Unfortunally the Thinkpads works very good with the Windows XP patched by IBM: if a person will use another OS he should know that it is not a simple thing.

cb100 wrote:
So if you find a better way (=minimal adjustments from portage installed packages) I'm sure everyone will appreciate it.

That is sure :wink:
_________________
A! Elbereth Gilthoniel! silivren penna míriel o menel aglar elenath!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herrzattacke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use this... and it works quite well.
Code:

 # F3 - turn off lcd
                                        00001003)
                  /usr/bin/radeontool light |grep off  1>&2 && /usr/bin/radeontool light on || /usr/bin/radeontool light off
               ;;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anggarda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:44 am    Post subject: alsa mixer settings Reply with quote

Hiello fellow t42 users.

Hope this helps someone, I had a horrid time getting my soundcard to work using alsa.

After much much scouring, the sound problem were due to incorrect settings in the mixer.

I sorta enable

* Headphone Jack Sense
* Line Jack Sense

Please, please, please disable both options to have sound.

Salut.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
~L~
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 154
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sm1 wrote:

The other thing I do is enable those little keys above the arrows. These are back and forward for me in firefox. Use keyconfig to remap keys in firefox
Code:

xmodmap -e "keycode 234 = F19"
xmodmap -e "keycode 233 = F20"


I recently bought a T42 and I'm slowly trying to get things to work...
Does anyone know how I could change these buttons to scrolling function of the mouse. I absolutely need the middle button, so I don't like to use trackpoint for this. Google didn't get me anywhere...

thanks for a lot for all the tips :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum