Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Gentoo 2005.1 on Dell 700m
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cchee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 214
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Qingy Reply with quote

I am trying to get the framebuffer and qingy to work with my 700m? Notice there is an issue with fbset resolution in 700m. Somehow the resolution generated by fbset won't work? Anyone has any fix/solution to this? Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bookstack
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could anybody check out this post ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plac3bo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Philly, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:51 pm    Post subject: Re: A note to n00b's like me who are trying to configure 128 Reply with quote

scylding wrote:
I couldn't get 855resolution to have any effect on the resolution that X loaded until I used the mode "34", as in

Code:
#855resolution 34 1280 800


All 855resolution does is to change one of the modes in the VBIOS to 1280x800 resolution. There are several modes that can be changed, as you can see if you run:

Code:
#855resolution -l


The key (which I was missing) is to change the right mode, that is, the mode that X thinks is 1024x768, and this happens to be mode 34. At least that's the way I understand it at this point. I'm grateful to everyone who posted on this, as it was mostly this thread that got my 1280x800 up and running.


Interesting. The first thing I did after I downloaded and compiled 855resolution was run this
Code:
855resolution -l

and I noticed that mode 7e was 1280x801. I briefly skimmed the README file, but, by no means dove into any code or actually tried to figure out what this program was actually doing. I just assumed it set the current mode in the vbios to the mode specified by the first parameter of 855resolution. I am still not really sure what is happening, but thought it might be worth noting that this works for me
Code:
855resolution 7e 1280 800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neo_phani
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody got the wi-fi working on 700m?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bookstack
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure. it does.

In my 700m, I selected Dell TruMobile 1350( one minipci based on Broadcom's chipset) in customization.

I need to use ndiswrapper to use windows driver. It works great.
Even thought the Fn+F2 works out of box.

My friend got the same laptop, but with IPW 2200. He uses the native driver support, but the status of wifi does not
work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ScArE2100
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:02 pm    Post subject: Re: framebuffer Reply with quote

MrStubby wrote:
Anyone else have issues using the framebuffer after exiting X?

Framebuffer works fine before entering X, upon exit I cannot access any consoles though. The screen appears to be a low rez version of a chunk of my X windows desktop and no matter which console doesn't display text. You can type commands but cannot see what you type or the output, unless you startx in which case X will come back.


I'm having a similar problem. When I boot w/ vesafb all is well but once x starts it corrupts all the consoles. Stopping x doesn't even fix it. I can't get intelfb to work at all it gives :"intelfb: Cannot remap FB region." in dmesg.

Also anyone make any headway on getting more shared video memory?

Thanks,
Marshall
_________________
School, bored, sleep. My life in 3 words 2 commas and 1 period.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ScArE2100
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:51 pm    Post subject: Re: framebuffer Reply with quote

ScArE2100 wrote:
MrStubby wrote:
Anyone else have issues using the framebuffer after exiting X?

Framebuffer works fine before entering X, upon exit I cannot access any consoles though. The screen appears to be a low rez version of a chunk of my X windows desktop and no matter which console doesn't display text. You can type commands but cannot see what you type or the output, unless you startx in which case X will come back.


I'm having a similar problem. When I boot w/ vesafb all is well but once x starts it corrupts all the consoles. Stopping x doesn't even fix it. I can't get intelfb to work at all it gives :"intelfb: Cannot remap FB region." in dmesg.

Also anyone make any headway on getting more shared video memory?

Thanks,
Marshall

I always hate quoting myself but I have answered some of my own questions :)

First off to enable 64mb of ram you can set the VideoRam flag under the device section in xorg.conf:
Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier              "Videocard0"
        Driver                  "i810"
        VideoRam                65535
        Option  "DDC"           "on"
        VendorName              "Intel"
        BoardName               "Intel 855"
EndSection


Secondly I got fb console working using vesafb mode 791, I couldn't get vesafb-tng working w/o x corrupting it. This confirms someone elses post.

Finally I'd like to point out two links:
http://www.xijio.com/wiki/index.php/700m The wiki page for my 700m
http://www.700mUsers.com A forum I've set up for 700m Users. There is a linux forum on there that you should all post in :)

I need mods for the forum so if you're interested sign up and pm me over there.

-Marshall
_________________
School, bored, sleep. My life in 3 words 2 commas and 1 period.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxwatcher
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 121
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Secure Digital reader Reply with quote

Has anyone had success getting th SD Card reader to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bookstack
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Secure Digital reader Reply with quote

tuxwatcher wrote:
Has anyone had success getting th SD Card reader to work?


AFAK, there is no SD Card driver support, hope somebody would like to develop one for the community,
since the specification for the chip is publically accessed through TI's website.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamstereyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:57 am    Post subject: Problems with Suspend to Disk Reply with quote

I have a dell 700m as well, and everything works pretty well..

Except one thing, that being suspend to disk.

suspend to ram works flawlessly.

Now Suspend to disk almost works for me. When I suspend to disk, it goes down ok, but when it comes back up
it doesnt log back into to X as the previous user and with the previous windows open..

Instead it stops at the GDM asking for a login.

If I kill GDM before I hibernate (suspend to disk) it works perfectly!!!

So here is my question, how do i get hibernate to work with GDM ??

Note: this problem occurs for users and root.

Thanks for your help =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamstereyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I killed gdm..

So it works for the most part, the only problem is that it doesnt come back on its Native 12x8 res, it
comes back on 10x7.

I figured out that 855resolution needed to be rerun after the hibernation.
But now X doesnt start i ll paste in the important of the log..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamstereyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Mon Sep 26 21:50:04 2005
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) ServerLayout "single head configuration"
(**) |-->Screen "Screen0" (0)
(**) | |-->Monitor "Monitor0"
(**) | |-->Device "Videocard0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Mouse0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Keyboard0"
(WW) The directory "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts" does not exist.
Entry deleted from font path.
(II) I810(0): xf86BindGARTMemory: bind key 0 at 0x07fff000 (pgoffset 32767)
(II) I810(0): xf86BindGARTMemory: bind key 1 at 0x07ffb000 (pgoffset 32763)
(II) I810(0): xf86BindGARTMemory: bind key 3 at 0x07fea000 (pgoffset 32746)
(II) I810(0): xf86BindGARTMemory: bind key 2 at 0x07ffa000 (pgoffset 32762)
(EE) I810(0): Set VBE Mode failed!

Fatal server error:
EnterVT failed for screen 0


Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.X.Org
for help.
Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional informati
on.

(WW) I810(0): Setting the original video mode instead of restoring
the saved state
(WW) I810(0): Successfully set original devices
(II) I810(0): xf86UnbindGARTMemory: unbind key 4
(II) I810(0): xf86UnbindGARTMemory: unbind key 0
(II) I810(0): xf86UnbindGARTMemory: unbind key 1
(II) I810(0): xf86UnbindGARTMemory: unbind key 3
(II) I810(0): xf86UnbindGARTMemory: unbind key 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamstereyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

X will restart, but back in 10x7 and not 12x8.

Sigh dont know why..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
btlee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 168
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hamstereyes wrote:
X will restart, but back in 10x7 and not 12x8.

Sigh dont know why..


Have you tried to restart i855resolution while waking up?
_________________
AMD64 3200+, 2G/160G+250G
DELL 700m, 1.8GHz, 2G/80G
iBook G3-500Mhz, 640M/100G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamstereyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hamstereyes wrote:
I killed gdm..

So it works for the most part, the only problem is that it doesnt come back on its Native 12x8 res, it
comes back on 10x7.

I figured out that 855resolution needed to be rerun after the hibernation.
But now X doesnt start i ll paste in the important of the log..


<-- Hhehe yep I figured out that part, but vbe still tries to use a wrong setting or something....

Still havent figured it out..

Did you get it to work ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hamstereyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally I got it to work.

I tried a bunch of things with vbetool savestates ... wow bad way to go.

The problem is that the hibernate script, RestartServices, portion of the script does not work.

To get 12x8 upon resuming from a hibernation to disk add this line to your hibernate.conf

Code:
 OnResume 98 /etc/init.d/855resolution restart


Now it works great!

There you go, my contribution to this guide =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Williamstown, MA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm curious what kernel versions people are using that have Sleep / Suspend-To-RAM working.

gentoo-sources-2.6.12-* worked great, but I've been struggling with gs-2.6.13 and now gs-2.6.14. If someone has sleep working on those kernels, please post, as I'd like to know.

(Less interested in Hibernate -- it generally has always worked. ;-))
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
btlee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 168
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fafhrd wrote:
I'm curious what kernel versions people are using that have Sleep / Suspend-To-RAM working.

gentoo-sources-2.6.12-* worked great, but I've been struggling with gs-2.6.13 and now gs-2.6.14. If someone has sleep working on those kernels, please post, as I'd like to know.

(Less interested in Hibernate -- it generally has always worked. ;-))


gs-2.6.13 work fine for suspend to ram.
But you should remove b44 module before suspending.
gs 2.6.14 is the same case, but i don't use the version
for it does not work with gnome-volume-manager for firewire external drive.
_________________
AMD64 3200+, 2G/160G+250G
DELL 700m, 1.8GHz, 2G/80G
iBook G3-500Mhz, 640M/100G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Portland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: software suspend Reply with quote

I am still trying to get the suspending to ram working right. Ive tried many configs from many places found on google, but alot of it seems out of date, or only half accurate :-/ What I have now, is that I modified hibernate.conf to use the sysfs_power_state to suspend. Now I can use the command "hibernate" and the machine sleeps just the way I want it to. Then I close the lid, and open the lid, and it wakes up, but the screen is blank.

I saw the suggestion from jameshuang and kbranch, but video-post does not seem to be in portage, and all those scripts (chvt etc) look damn dirty, so I want to stay away from that for now. I also read on many sites that you need vbetool to get this working right, but when I run it (as root) I get the error message "mmap /dev/mem: Permission denied". Which is strange, because I can cat it just fine, so I am not really sure what to do.

Also I am running acpid, but I dont really know what it's doing. Is that what I am going to need when I set it up so it sleeps when the lid closes? Maybe I am missing something simple here.. does anyone have any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Williamstown, MA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

gs-2.6.13 work fine for suspend to ram.
But you should remove b44 module before suspending.
gs 2.6.14 is the same case, but i don't use the version
for it does not work with gnome-volume-manager for firewire external drive.


... hrm. Would you mind making your kernel .config for 2.6.13/4 available somewhere so I can compare/constrast it with mine?

I have been removing b44 and ipw2200, but something is causing the machine to know wake up with those kernels.

Thanks!
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
detz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone show me how to get DRi to work? I have it compiled as a module but I don't know how to start it(if I have too) and it's setup in my xorg from reading all the posts. When I run glxinfo though it's off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pierce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Portland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

detz wrote:
Can someone show me how to get DRi to work? I have it compiled as a module but I don't know how to start it(if I have too) and it's setup in my xorg from reading all the posts. When I run glxinfo though it's off.


As long as you have the i915 module compiled, and Driver "i810" in your xorg.conf, DRI should work fine I think.

also

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 666
EndSection

is always good to have in there as well :-)
I have my configs at web.pdx.edu/~piercede/configs/ if you want to compare.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jteddy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 3:22 am    Post subject: Move to Gentoo Wiki Reply with quote

These posts are great, and have helped me so much have my hardware working correctly.

Just as a though, I would like to get everyone involved in porting this information to a new page on the Gentoo Wiki. This way we could ensure the information is always up to date and aveliable for everyone.

Great job guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jteddy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:32 am    Post subject: 700m HOWTO now on the WiKi Reply with quote

I hope some of you are still watching this thread.

I have just started drafting up the 700m HOWTO on the gentoo wiki.

It would be great if everyone could review and help maintain it.

Thanks.

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Dell_Inspiron_700m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum