Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
iPod troubles (once again)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:25 am    Post subject: iPod troubles (once again) Reply with quote

Hey,

I am running udev and 2.6.7-hardened-r18 kernel. I tried to plug in my 3G iPod with Firewire but it's not being picked up. When it's plugged in, that's what dmesg says

Code:
root@tigger ~ # modprobe ieee1394
root@tigger ~ # dmesg
...
ieee1394: Initialized config rom entry `ip1394'
root@tigger ~ # modprobe ohci1394
root@tigger ~ # dmesg
...
ieee1394: Initialized config rom entry `ip1394'
ohci1394: $Rev: 1223 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
ohci1394: fw-host0: Unexpected PCI resource length of 1000!
ohci1394: fw-host0: OHCI-1394 1.0 (PCI): IRQ=[40]  MMIO=[f5000000-f50007ff]  Max Packet=[2048]


So at least the modules are here and working. But it's not in /dev/sda? so I can't mount it.

I'm not sure how to continue from here. It was working with an older kernel and devfs some few months ago, but I switched now to udev and a newer kernel, and it's gone.

Thanks heaps,
Jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:42 am    Post subject: Re: iPod troubles (once again) Reply with quote

_savage wrote:
Hey,

I am running udev and 2.6.7-hardened-r18 kernel. I tried to plug in my 3G iPod with Firewire but it's not being picked up. When it's plugged in, that's what dmesg says

Code:
root@tigger ~ # modprobe ieee1394
root@tigger ~ # dmesg
...
ieee1394: Initialized config rom entry `ip1394'
root@tigger ~ # modprobe ohci1394
root@tigger ~ # dmesg
...
ieee1394: Initialized config rom entry `ip1394'
ohci1394: $Rev: 1223 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
ohci1394: fw-host0: Unexpected PCI resource length of 1000!
ohci1394: fw-host0: OHCI-1394 1.0 (PCI): IRQ=[40]  MMIO=[f5000000-f50007ff]  Max Packet=[2048]


So at least the modules are here and working. But it's not in /dev/sda? so I can't mount it.

I'm not sure how to continue from here. It was working with an older kernel and devfs some few months ago, but I switched now to udev and a newer kernel, and it's gone.

Thanks heaps,
Jens


Is there a /dev/sda at all? You wouldn't mount /dev/sda but
/dev/sda1 I presume. If you have /dev/sda you could try
Code:
touch /dev/sda

and see if /dev/sda1 appears. I have this kind of problem
on x86 with usb2.0 stick and plug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it's all here, but I can't mount it as a block device.

Code:
root@tigger ~ # ll /dev/sda*
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  0 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  1 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda1
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8, 10 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda10
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8, 11 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda11
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8, 12 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda12
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8, 13 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda13
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8, 14 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda14
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8, 15 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda15
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  2 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda2
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  3 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda3
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  4 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda4
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  5 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda5
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  6 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda6
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  7 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda7
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  8 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda8
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  9 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda9


Cheers
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiskBreaker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 224

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_savage wrote:
Yes, it's all here, but I can't mount it as a block device.

Code:
root@tigger ~ # ll /dev/sda*
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  0 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda
brw-rw----  1 root disk 8,  1 Jun  4  2004 /dev/sda1
[...]


If you are running pure udev, this shouldn't even be there.

From you dmesg output I see no messages from the sbp2 module... this would be the one that usually binds the device in /dev...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
modprobe sbp2
sbp2: $Rev: 1219 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>


So that module is here too. But where's the iPod now?
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally sbp2 (which should be auto-loaded as a consequence of plugging in the iPod) should detect the hard disk, spew out in the system logs information about it, and make it available. As it happens with an enclosure of mine, this does work at times, and some other times does not. If it does not work, then plugging the enclosure on and off sometimes fixes the thing (you may need to unload the modules by hand too). I am not sure which is flaky, my enclosure or the Firewire stack in the kernel, though I suspect the enclosure (which does look cheap and has at times problem even connected through the rock solid USB). I am in the process of getting another enclosure (this time from a reputable vendor) and then I will figure out who does what.

As for the note to your problem, you could try removing the modules (ohci1394 and sbp2 and possibly ieee1394), plugging in the device, and then modprobe ohci1394 by hand--this may or may not make the iPod available. I did definitely have to do this each and every time I would need to plug my enclosure under an older kernel (2.6.8 of memory serves me well), now with the 2.6.10 series things seem to work without it at times (again, this may happen because of the crappy enclosure of mine).
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, now I'm a little confused... I unplugged my iPod and tried to unload the modules, and this happens:

Code:
root@tigger ~ # rmmod ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394
ERROR: Module ohci1394 does not exist in /proc/modules
ERROR: Module sbp2 does not exist in /proc/modules
ERROR: Module iee1394 does not exist in /proc/modules


That's not supposed to be there. Funnily, modprobe doesn't complain about anything:

Code:
root@tigger ~ # modprobe -v ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394
root@tigger ~ #


So then I did this:

Code:
root@tigger ~ # modules-update
root@tigger ~ # modprobe -v ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394
root@tigger ~ # rmmod ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394
ERROR: Module sbp2 does not exist in /proc/modules
ERROR: Module iee1394 does not exist in /proc/modules
root@tigger ~ # modprobe -v ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.7-hardened-r18/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/ohci1394.ko sbp2 iee1394
root@tigger ~ # rmmod ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394



Here my kernel gets stuck. And now? I mean, are the modules here or not?
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's interesting, /proc/modules should contain the modules that are currently loaded, so their absence in there should mean they are not loaded, but then modprobe does not complain. I have never seen something like this, so I have no idea what's going on. Could it be that you do not have module unloading compiled into your kernel? I am not that familiar with the hardened kernels either. Sorry for not being of any help.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, now when I run with

Code:
root@tigger ~ # uname -a
Linux tigger 2.6.9-gentoo-r9 #3 Wed Jan 5 07:03:23 CET 2005 ppc 7455, altivec supported PowerBook3,5 GNU/Linux


and then run a

Code:
root@tigger ~ #  modprobe -v ohci1394 sbp2 iee1394
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.9-gentoo-r9/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/ieee1394.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.9-gentoo-r9/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/ohci1394.ko sbp2 iee1394


I can mount the iPod from /dev/sda3. Excellent :-) Perhaps there's something with the hardened kernel?

Jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. Rebooted, same kernel, same procedure, and I get this

Code:
root@tigger ~ # modprobe -v ohci1394               
root@tigger ~ # modprobe -v sbp2
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.9-gentoo-r9/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/sbp2.ko
root@tigger ~ # modprobe -v ieee1394
root@tigger ~ # mount -t hfsplus /dev/sda3 /mnt/ipod/
mount: special device /dev/sda3 does not exist


What the.... ?? Anybody any idea what's happening here?
Thanks heaps!
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum