Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mini-Howto : Athlon Powersaving
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
palatin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 113
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Mini-Howto : Athlon Powersaving Reply with quote

I want to share a tip I just found on the net, which might be quite useful for a few of us. Note that I do not take any credit for such work.

First, here is the link :
http://www.daniel.nofftz.net/linux/

In a nutshell, the author mentions some tip in order to save power, and thus decrease the temperature on Duron, Ahtlon and Athlon XP CPUs.

Make sure to read the list of potential issues and workarounds.

I personnaly own a gigabyte ga7vrxp mothercard with a 1800+ athlon XP. I just issued the following commandlines :

Code:
# setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=$(printf %x $((0x$(setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 92) | 0x80)))

# setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=$(printf %x $((0x$(setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95) | 0x02)))


which provided me with a 20-25°C decrease for the CPU. while idling (browsing the internet + xmms).

here is a screenshot showing the temperature of the motherboard (top) and CPU (bottom).

http://palacaze.spymac.net/sc.png

EDIT :

I had to use the tip in order to remove high frequency noises.

Code:
setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=$(printf %x $((0x$(setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70) | 0x08)))


Excuse me for my English.

bye.
_________________
fumo~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what about emerge athcool?
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lysek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works for me. I had 60C Idle ( overclocked athlon on pure fan ) and ~77C on load, now i have 34 idle, and 61 on load;P
But my cpu get noisy when idle :-( is this normal ? i dont want to corrupt it with it...
_________________
home: w budowie
gg: 4099964
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDamage
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 650
Location: Oviedo, Spain

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the problem is the fans on your PC are designed for a speed in RPM and, as athcool makes them run slower when the CPU is in power saving mode, they make more noise. In my case is the opposite, they are more silent when on power saving mode.

I've been using athcool for 2 years on my Gentoo, and before that I used lvcool, and vcool on WinXP before that... and never had a hardware problem. :wink:
_________________
La PDA de tungsteno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, the noise come from cheap capacitors or "Spulen" (English term?) on the motherboards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: chardon, ohio

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

geez, your guys procs are running at a really high temp, mine sits idle at 30ish and only gets up to around 45 at max load while im folding
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2063
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahorn wrote:
what about emerge athcool?


so sayeth the website:

Quote:
2.2. The Athcool Program (recommanded)

Athcool is a small program which performs the same task as the setpci commands above. It supports the same chipsets and detects what chipset you have, issuing the right settings in the chipset to get the power-saving to work.


so, I would just go with athcool as well.
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. packages | dvds | blurays | blog | wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athcool rox and is a very must-have program! your cpu temp is mostly much lower than 40°C and you can put the multiplier higher (and stable) as without (maybe this works not at all athlons, but on my 2500+, i get 2,5GHz with 42°C). ive running it for 1,5 years on athlon 2000+ (palomino, kt266) and for 1 year on 2500+ (barton, kt400). never heard from problems.
i think, there must be a athcool guide or something similar on the gentoo page.
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lysek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahorn wrote:

i think, there must be a athcool guide or something similar on the gentoo page.


$ emerge athcool
$ rc-update add athcool default

whole guide :lol:
_________________
home: w budowie
gg: 4099964
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah!
but important are the simple things :-)
just look to the prelink guide or the udev guide. they have also less commands.
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lysek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxDamage wrote:

(...)
I think the problem is the fans on your PC are designed for a speed in RPM and, as athcool makes them run slower when the CPU is in
(...)


No.
lm-sensors are showing the same speed ( ~4000 RPM ), this noise must be related to processor itself :) in this tutorial author mentioned about it :) luck i dont experience other issues.
_________________
home: w budowie
gg: 4099964
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Helloooo? What did I write about the noise?:roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lysek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashP wrote:
Helloooo? What did I write about the noise?:roll:


ok maybe its capacitors. What is that "Spulen":twisted: ? "Washed" ? "Overclocked" ? ;P This only i had found in german->english dict .
_________________
home: w budowie
gg: 4099964
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you looked for "spülen". ;) I was referring to the things you need if you want to change voltages by inductive power. (coil?) If this is the cause, a properly dispensed bit of glue will help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palatin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 113
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case, I mainly brought this tip because of previous problems with similar programs under windows : I kept running into trouble with my soundcard (either PCI or onboard). 8O
I didn't check athcool but I noticed it's presence in portage. Can I further tweak the settings in order to make those nasty noises disappear? It works well by hand. :)
Anyway, IMHO creating a 2 or 3 command-long script loaded at startup (in local.start) is lighter than emerging athcool. :) Ok, I'm being stubborn, and it doesn't comply to the "gentoo way". :wink:
_________________
fumo~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for this great tip, my pc idles now at CPU: 31 C and MB: 27 C :lol:

Frank
_________________
http://techfield.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SaFrOuT
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 256
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a 2600+ Mobile-XP and it is overclocked to the setings in my sig , so will athcool work with my O/Cing settings and won't hang my system and won't affect my settings

since on Windows for example any prg that will decrease the proc FSB or multi won't work well with O/Ced hardware or it will hang the whole system

anyone here with O/Ced setting can help plz ?

edit: wel i couldn't wait for an answer and i emerged it , even though i'll still be waiting for answers :)
_________________

[1] DFI NF4-Ultra
[2] Opteron 165 @ 2.5Ghz
[3] Palit X800Pro ( trying to change it for a 7600GT )
[4] G.Skill 2GB ZX @ DDR500 3-3-3-8
[5] SkyHAwk 620watt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeadbangingMan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Mar 2003
Posts: 265
Location: Heimbach-Weis / Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Athcool is really cool, but don't forget to turn it off before using a tv-card. I had a very bad picture quality (stripes and noise) with my wintv-pci, turning off athcool solved this.
_________________
Always bang your Head!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobers_2002
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does athcool require the kernel CPU frequency something to be compiled in??
when i used athcool my system hung and had to hard boot.....ny ideaz?
_________________
Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rlazo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Arequipa-Peru

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used athcool and it worked fine... until it gets to 45Cº. If the temperature gets lower, the image is messed up, with red borders in the letters. Does anyone have had the same problem? My specs : Athlonxp 2400+; msi kt4v and ati 7000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rlazo wrote:
I used athcool and it worked fine... until it gets to 45Cº. If the temperature gets lower, the image is messed up, with red borders in the letters. Does anyone have had the same problem? My specs : Athlonxp 2400+; msi kt4v and ati 7000

Which image? Which program?

Frank
_________________
http://techfield.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Athlon SMP users should also look at this patch:
http://muru.com/linux/amd-smp-idle/

As I understand it it does the same thing athcool does and a bit more. I have been using it since 2.5.something with no problems whatsoever on an Asus A7M266-D with two AthlonMP 1800+ CPUs
Latest version is for kernel 2.6.6, but is trivial to apply to more recent kernels (if you don'T succeed and I can mail you a version applying to 2.6.10).

Heed what HeadbangingMan said above!
I have had ugly stripes with my Pinnacle PCTV (bttv-driven) card and couldn't figure out wat it was until very recently. This effect seems not to be documented anywhere.
(I actually just blamed it on SMP and worked around it by running something CPU-intensive like "cat /dev/zero" to saturate the other CPU. Works, but kind of defeats the power-saving/cooling effect ;) )
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum