Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using a partition set aside for Linux (PowerPC)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
J. Hagmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:17 am    Post subject: Using a partition set aside for Linux (PowerPC) Reply with quote

After having read the Gentoo Linux/PPC Handbook, I partitioned my second harddisk (160 GB) as follows:
1. 51.3 GB set aside for Linux (formatted Unix)
2. The next 11.9 GB running OpenDarwin
3. The remaining 89.9 GB formatted Mac OS extended.
(System: G4 Powermac, Mac OS X 10.3.7)

Running diskutil in OS X or print in Pegasos (after booting from the LiveCD) shows me that disk1 (or hdb) contains the minor partitions 1-9 occupied with Apple_partition_scheme, Apple_partition_map, Apple_Driver43 (2x), Apple_Driver_ATA (2x), Apple_FWDriver, Apple_Driver_IOKit, Apple_Patches and Apple_Boot. Number 10 is 49.7GB and is what I intended for Linux, Numer 12 is the OpenDarwin part and Number 14 the Mac OS X partition.

Based on the Handbook, an ignoramus like myself didn't expect this. What should I do?
- use mac-fdisk /dev/hdb and delete #10, then create 10p for swap and 11p for root, leaving out the boot partition? Or can I somehow subdivide 10 into 3 parts, using what identifiers?

- use parted, indicate START and END using the numbers given in "print" and create two partitions (according to the handbook; what happened to the boot partition?)

I couldn't find an answer to my questions in various FAQs, in "Learning Linux" (things seem to be different in i386) and would be grateful if somebody could enlighten me. Thanks, Jorg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
strubbldesign
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Location: still somewhere in the matrix but once i was able to look out of it

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you used commands like

Code:
+32M


for Setting boot partition to 32 MB?

First it asks sektor start (xxxx) : press enter
end sektor (comand)
possible is also instead of M - K - and G
Code:
+50G


probably this will help you 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo, you'll probably get more help here.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Using a partition set aside for Linux (PowerPC) Reply with quote

J. Hagmann wrote:
Running diskutil in OS X or print in Pegasos (after booting from the LiveCD) shows me that disk1 (or hdb) contains the minor partitions 1-9 occupied with Apple_partition_scheme, Apple_partition_map, Apple_Driver43 (2x), Apple_Driver_ATA (2x), Apple_FWDriver, Apple_Driver_IOKit, Apple_Patches and Apple_Boot. Number 10 is 49.7GB and is what I intended for Linux, Numer 12 is the OpenDarwin part and Number 14 the Mac OS X partition.

Based on the Handbook, an ignoramus like myself didn't expect this. What should I do?

You just delete partition 10 (and if you like partitions 2 to 9, they are used only for booting Mac OS 9), and then create the partitions you want (using `c' or `C' from within mac-fdisk). Don't wory about partition numbers, they are allocated automatically (but write them down for later when you have to change fstab).

One thing I had some problems with in the past are partitions with numbers over 15, but then if you delete those small (and useless) partitions you won't have problems with running out of partition numbers.

Besides the root and swap partitions you definitely need a small partition for yaboot (of type Apple_Bootstrap), see the handbook for details but do not forget about it.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, wait, this is your second hard disk, do you have the yaboot partition on the first one? If so, I believe that you do not need it once more on the second drive (but I might be wrong).
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J. Hagmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. I was afraid to overwrite something, but of course it worked.
What are the partitions for booting OS 9 doing on a second harddisk? Are they put there just in case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

J. Hagmann wrote:
What are the partitions for booting OS 9 doing on a second harddisk? Are they put there just in case?

You probably initialized the disk using Mac OS's Disk Utilities, with the option to install old drivers (or something to this extent) checked. This creates those partitions no matter where the disk is. Which is kind of normal, if you install them then you know what you are doing, i.e., want to boot some pre-OS X off the disk.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum