Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
PowerMac G4, ATI Rage 128 Pro, X.org DRM
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Evinyatar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:11 pm    Post subject: PowerMac G4, ATI Rage 128 Pro, X.org DRM Reply with quote

Sorry for starting yet another thread on this topic but I couldn't find an answer even after 2 days of hitting the search button.
I've got a PowerMac G4 (Sawtooth AGP, Gigabit) with a Rage 128 Pro in it (some say 8MB, other say 16MB... I don't know anymore). I just installed Gentoo again for the first time in a long while and I'm trying to get X.org to work with hardware acceleration.
So far I've got agpgart, uninorth_agp, and r128 loaded as modules (loaded in that order). I've got this in my Xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "ATI Rage 128 Pro"
    Driver      "r128"
    VideoRam    8192
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
       
    Option "UseFbDev" "on"
    Option "ForcePCIMode" "true"
    Option "AGPMode" "4"
    Option "EnablePageFlip" "true"
       
    #BusID "PCI:0:10:0"
EndSection


This is what I get from dmesg:
Quote:
root@marcus root # dmesg | grep r128
[drm] Initialized r128 2.5.0 20030725 on minor 0: ATI Technologies Inc Rage 128 PF/PRO AGP 4x TMDS
root@marcus root # dmesg | grep agp
Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected Apple UniNorth chipset
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 691M
agpgart: configuring for size idx: 4
agpgart: AGP aperture is 16M @ 0x0
agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:0b.0 into 2x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:10.0 into 2x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:0b.0 into 2x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:10.0 into 2x mode


which indicates, to me, that the kernel modules are running as they should.

glxinfo, however, still reports this:
Code:
marcus root # DISPLAY=':0.0' glxinfo                                                                                                                             
name of display: :0.0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
    GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
    GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample
client glx vendor string: SGI
client glx version string: 1.2
client glx extensions:
    GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_import_context,
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_MESA_allocate_memory,
    GLX_MESA_swap_control, GLX_MESA_swap_frame_usage, GLX_OML_swap_method,
    GLX_OML_sync_control, GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGI_swap_control,
    GLX_SGI_video_sync, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
    GLX_SGIX_visual_select_group
GLX extensions:
    GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_import_context,
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_SGI_make_current_read,
    GLX_SGIS_multisample
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (1.4 Mesa 5.0.2)
OpenGL extensions:
.........


Setting the video RAM to 16384 only results in glxgears and glxinfo to segfault (so I'm guessing it's 8MB after all).

Anyone have any idea where I'm going wrong?
Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried Xautoconfig? Write back if that doesn't fix it for you.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evinyatar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent, that did it! I did have to uncomment the 'Load "DRI"' line in the Modules section to get glxinfo to tell me that DRI was enabled, and had to add
Code:
Option "AGPMode" "2"
to the Device section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum