Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to set up ISDN on Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rezza
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 434
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2003 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, the module the bloke used was the st5481. to get to it on my kernel config (2.4.20-gentoo-r5) its in ISDN subsystem, you need to enable the ISDN support (obviously), then in passive ISDN cards, enable the HiSax SeimensChipSet driver support, and its in there.

good luck getting it working :)

EDIT: having just read your previous adventures, it seems you've already tried this. well its a shame you didn't get it working, but then again, half the windows users we support have to get PCI ISDN cards anyway, because the USB TA in the highway box is an absolute POS, and the drivers provided for it are even worse ;)
_________________
screenshots
blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ben2040
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 445
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Thanks for that, and I did realise this when using SuSE. (They are ISDN Wizards:D) I was using the Acer P10 in SuSe and it still worked, and after selecting the Siemens Technology module (st5481) it works a lot better, eg no errors on boot or shutdown.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TenPin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 500
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone had any more useful experiences with the BT HomeHighway USB TA ?

I've just replaced a local gaming cafe's *cough*temporary*cough* copy of win2k advanced server with Gentoo/Samba as a PDC but they are still using a winxp home machine for ISDN sharing :(

They are not too fussed because it works so they don't want to buy a PCI ISDN TA but they agree that it would be ideal to use the Gentoo box as a gateway so they can remotely administer it.

I notice that smoothwall have a nobrainer setup for BT ISDN USB TA and if it works in Suse then it ought to be possible in Gentoo no ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billium
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 9:52 pm    Post subject: ISDN Reply with quote

Slightly off topic. Due to the many DSL converts, there are many ISDN routers for sale on the auction sites. I just got a Netgear 338 for £45, also a Microcom 808 for £10 (using on HomeHighway (UK)).

Billy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amigafan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Location: Ahrensburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried BackSeats solution but after doing
Code:
/etc/init.d/isdn4linux start
 /etc/ppp/isdn-setup
 /etc/init.d/isdn4linux stop
it doesn't work because after stopping isdn4linux there are two red !! and the config isn't saved. During boot the following message comes up:
SIOCSIFADDR: no such device
[...]
Sorry this system lacks ppp support (yes, i did the tricks ;) ).

Its a fritz!pci v2.
Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexKahl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Location: Leipzig / East Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2003 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I walked through all the points mentioned in the first entry of this topic. But after one week of trying und tricking, all I can achieve is a process of dialing. After it you can see "Online" in imon, but just for 1 sec, then it hanup - each time. What could be the reason?
My ISDN-card is an ASUScom 128bit Controller PCI, my isp is 1&1, if anybody know it, and my location is EastGermany, if it schould any effect on the config-files.

Please help me, I want my Gentoo. It's my first.
Thank you for any help.

Alexander Kahl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uriah Heep
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got ISDN working thanks to this thread, and noticed that when isdn4linux is stopped, in /var/lib/isdn4linux/isdnctrl.conf the HUPTIMEOUT value is always reset to 10, even though I've previously edited the file to give it a value of 0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sucker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Frastanz, Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This post is for everyone who has the problem to see this message
Code:
 sorry - this system lacks PPP kernel support.
check whether you configured at least the ippp0 device!

after executing the isdn-initialise script.

I set up my ISDN-Connection using this Documentation. But i always had the problem, that i got this strange error message. So i tried a little while and then i found a solution for my problem.

Besides the isdn-initalise script i had to add the isdn-setup script as well to /etc/conf.d/local.start. So my local.start looks like this:

Code:

/etc/ppp/isdn-setup 1>&2
/etc/ppp/isdn-initialise 1>&2


Then i changed the isdn-initialise script. I removed the line
Code:
/sbin/ipppd user $MYUSER remotename $REMNAME defaultroute


If i reboot now (or if i remove the ippp0 device and execute the isdn-setup and isdn-initialise scripts) and execute
Code:
isdnctrl dial ippp0

it works.

The next problem was, that every time i dialed in, my defaultroute was removed. So i wrote this short script, to dial my ISDN-Connection

Code:

#!/bin/bash
# this is the file /etc/ppp/isdn-dial

/sbin/isdnctrl dial ippp0
sleep 5
/sbin/route add default netmask 0 ippp0


made it executable

Code:

chmod a+x /etc/ppp/isdn-dial


If i now execute /etc/ppp/isdn-dial i have a working connection. :D

For those of you who have a flat-rate ISDN connection but always get disconnected after 8 hours by the provider but dont like this, i have found a solution too. I wrote a little script again, which is executed every minute in the crontab, checks the status of the connection and if the connection is lost, the script redials the connection. If anyone is interrested, i can post this as well.
_________________
Bombing for freedom is like fucking for virginity!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wille
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 6:41 pm    Post subject: Nameserver problem, solution for AlexKahl Reply with quote

Hi,
I've got ISDN working at last following Blackbeards recipe. There were two modifications I hat to make ( i.e. 2 days of trial and error).
1. I had to take the last statement (ipppd ....) out of the isdn-setup script and move it to the last line of isdn-initialize, otherwise I always got spurious error -messages like "no kernel ppp support".
2. and this is a hint to AlexKahl: I hat to change this line to
ipppd user XXXXX remotename "" \
name $MYUSER \
debug \
-detach \
mru 1500 \
mtu 1500 \
lcp-restart 20 \
/dev/ippp0 &

the key is lcp-restart 20 which is the number of attempts my provider needs. Otherwise I get a connection and a remote hangup after 30 seconds. I hope that helps.

I have an additional problem:

I "migrated " this system in my home-network from an adsl-connection back to isdn.
My box is used by the others (Microsoft systems) to access the internet which worked fine with adsl. Under ISDN I have not yet been able to get name-resolution on the other boxes. I tried several commands with ipppd ( ms-get wins, ms-dns, defaultroute , proxyarp....) but nothing seem to work.
Any hints are apreciated!!!

[/code][/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Giuly
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 138
Location: Bremen - Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I did it like Sucker said, but the syslog says:
Quote:
Nov 10 03:31:28 CampiII kernel: isdn: fcpcipnp0,ch0 cause: E001B
Nov 10 03:31:29 CampiII kernel: isdn_net: local hangup ippp0
Nov 10 03:31:29 CampiII kernel: ippp0: Chargesum is 0
Nov 10 03:33:00 CampiII kernel: isdn: Verbose-Level is 3
Nov 10 03:33:01 CampiII kernel: isdn: Global Mode running
Nov 10 03:33:01 CampiII ipppd: info: no PAP secret entry for this user!
Nov 10 03:33:01 CampiII ipppd[11308]: Found 1 device:
Nov 10 03:33:01 CampiII ipppd[11308]: ipppd i2.2.12 (isdn4linux version of pppd by MH) started
Nov 10 03:33:01 CampiII ipppd[11308]: init_unit: 0
Nov 10 03:33:01 CampiII ipppd[11308]: Connect[0]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 6
Nov 10 03:33:30 CampiII kernel: OPEN: 10.0.0.1 -> 213.168.202.67 UDP, port: 32786 -> 53
Nov 10 03:33:30 CampiII kernel: ippp0: dialing 1 2774003...
Nov 10 03:33:36 CampiII kernel: isdn: fcpcipnp0,ch0 cause: E001B
Nov 10 03:33:38 CampiII kernel: ippp0: dialing 2 2774003...
Nov 10 03:33:44 CampiII kernel: isdn: fcpcipnp0,ch0 cause: E001B
Nov 10 03:33:47 CampiII kernel: ippp0: dialing 3 2774003...

imon says
Quote:
0 fcpcipnp0 Calling 2774003 Net Outgoing


But it never goes on after calling.
The line is free and the card is plugged into the port, I don't know what I should do.

I forgot to say, that when it trys to connect, the line gets occupated.

Edit: Now syslog says:
Quote:
Nov 10 04:29:18 CampiII kernel: OPEN: 10.0.0.1 -> 213.168.202.67 UDP, port: 32798 -> 53
Nov 10 04:29:18 CampiII kernel: ippp0: dialing 1 04212774003...
Nov 10 04:29:19 CampiII kernel: isdn_net: ippp0 connected
Nov 10 04:29:19 CampiII ipppd[10222]: Local number: 4212476867, Remote number: 04212774003, Type: outgoing
Nov 10 04:29:19 CampiII ipppd[10222]: PHASE_WAIT -> PHASE_ESTABLISHED, ifunit: 0, linkunit: 0, fd: 6
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: LCP: timeout sending Config-Requests
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: Connection terminated.
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: taking down PHASE_DEAD link 0, linkunit: 0Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: closing fd 6 from unit 0
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: link 0 closed , linkunit: 0
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: reinit_unit: 0
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII ipppd[10222]: Connect[0]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 6
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII kernel: isdn_net: local hangup ippp0
Nov 10 04:29:29 CampiII kernel: ippp0: Chargesum is 0


edit: now I get
Quote:
Nov 10 15:11:30 CampiII kernel: ippp0: dialing 1 04212774003...
Nov 10 15:11:30 CampiII kernel: isdn_net: ippp0 connected
Nov 10 15:11:30 CampiII ipppd[1705]: Local number: 494212476867, Remote number: 04212774003, Type: outgoing
Nov 10 15:11:30 CampiII ipppd[1705]: PHASE_WAIT -> PHASE_ESTABLISHED, ifunit: 0, linkunit: 0, fd: 7
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII kernel: isdn_net: local hangup ippp0
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII kernel: ippp0: Chargesum is 0
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: Modem hangup
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: Connection terminated.
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: taking down PHASE_DEAD link 0, linkunit: 0
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: LCP is down
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: closing fd 7 from unit 0
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: link 0 closed , linkunit: 0
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: reinit_unit: 0
Nov 10 15:11:40 CampiII ipppd[1705]: Connect[0]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 7

Perhaps something with auth?
_________________
dunno


Last edited by Giuly on Thu Nov 13, 2003 2:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wille
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 6:39 pm    Post subject: name resolution Reply with quote

Hi,
polease forget the last item on my post, I am sure by now I was fooled by a browser -cache and it is really a firewall problem.
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Giuly
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 138
Location: Bremen - Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now I get
Quote:
Nov 17 23:07:42 CampiII ipppd[8366]: Found 2 devices: ,
Nov 17 23:07:42 CampiII ipppd[8367]: ipppd i2.2.12 (isdn4linux version of pppd by MH) started
Nov 17 23:07:42 CampiII ipppd[8367]: init_unit: 0
Nov 17 23:07:42 CampiII ipppd[8367]: Connect[0]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 8
Nov 17 23:07:42 CampiII ipppd[8367]: init_unit: 1
Nov 17 23:07:42 CampiII ipppd[8367]: Connect[1]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 9
Nov 17 23:08:05 CampiII kernel: ippp0: dialing 1 2774003...
Nov 17 23:08:05 CampiII kernel: isdn_net: ippp0 connected
Nov 17 23:08:05 CampiII ipppd[8367]: Local number: 4212476867, Remote number: 2774003, Type: outgoing
Nov 17 23:08:05 CampiII ipppd[8367]: PHASE_WAIT -> PHASE_ESTABLISHED, ifunit: 0, linkunit: 0, fd: 8
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: Modem hangup
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: Connection terminated.
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: taking down PHASE_DEAD link 0, linkunit: 0
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: closing fd 8 from unit 0
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: link 0 closed , linkunit: 0
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: reinit_unit: 0
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII ipppd[8367]: Connect[0]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 8
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII kernel: ippp0: remote hangup
Nov 17 23:08:40 CampiII kernel: ippp0: Chargesum is 0

_________________
dunno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wilhelm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your tutorial has a slight bad habbit in it imo, before reboot it is a good habbit to unmount /boot. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BackSeat
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2002
Posts: 242
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why?

And by the way, "habit" has only one "b" in it.

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wilhelm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If something goes awry then you won't end up with an unusable /boot since it cannot be fscked unless you fetch your rescue disc.
I'm a relative newb to linux but this is one of the tips i got and keep on reading "Always keep your /boot unmounted"

If this statement is false then lemme know.

Habit: Some chewing gum stuck in my keyboard made me do it :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BackSeat
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2002
Posts: 242
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Generally speaking that is a good idea. However, when you reboot all partitions are umounted during the shutdown phase. Manually umounting /boot first is unnecessary.

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
windsok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there, i followed the guide, everything seems to be ok, i can get my Eicon Diva 2.02 to dial, but my ISP uses data over voice, and im not sure howto set the card to dial in DoV mode under linux.

The initialisation string i have to use under windows get the DoV is

E0V0Q0S0=255+iS1/2+iM4+iP9+iB10

where would i put this in the scripts under linux?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
windsok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, im dialing a normal data isdn connection, and i get this, anyone know what the prob is? how do i get username/password dubugging stuff up?

Code:

Mar  8 16:45:27 gateway OPEN: 10.0.0.1 -> 203.17.59.110 ICMP
Mar  8 16:45:27 gateway ippp0: dialing 1 0198333308...
Mar  8 16:45:29 gateway NETDEV WATCHDOG: ippp0: transmit timed out
Mar  8 16:45:29 gateway isdn_tx_timeout dev ippp0 dialstate 6
Mar  8 16:45:29 gateway ipppd[1325]: Local number: 242838861, Remote number: 0198333308, Type: outgoing
Mar  8 16:45:29 gateway ipppd[1325]: PHASE_WAIT -> PHASE_ESTABLISHED, ifunit: 0, linkunit: 0, fd: 6
Mar  8 16:45:29 gateway isdn_net: ippp0 connected
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: Modem hangup
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: Connection terminated.
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: taking down PHASE_DEAD link 0, linkunit: 0
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: closing fd 6 from unit 0
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: link 0 closed , linkunit: 0
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: reinit_unit: 0
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ipppd[1325]: Connect[0]: /dev/ippp0, fd: 6
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ippp0: remote hangup
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ippp0: Chargesum is 0
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ippp_ccp: freeing reset data structure c7353000
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ippp, open, slot: 0, minor: 0, state: 0000
Mar  8 16:45:30 gateway ippp_ccp: allocated reset data structure c7353000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orgon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same problem and no solution.
I tried everything I've read in this forum and on other sites, but it won't work.
It would be great, if anyone could help.

Best regards,

lukas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 2470
Location: Padova, Italy

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:!:

I have found this, from http://www.wurtel.cistron.nl/i4l-howto-uk.html#PROBLEMS

[...]
All seems to be configured correctly, but when you attempt to dial, "local hangup ippp0" appears in the log, and/or "dial suppressed". This indicates a HiSax 3.0 driver which has not been "turned on" with "isdnctrl status ippp0 on". (You should really get 2.0.36, i.e. HiSax 3.1 which has status replaced by dialmode.)
[...]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orgon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 5:11 pm    Post subject: ISDN is working now Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I got it to work. I had only to change some little details. :)

I don't describe how I have setup my AVM-ISDN card, because
this is already done before.

These are my config files:

/etc/ppp/isdn-setup
Quote:

#!/bin/bash

MYMSN=123456789 # my number, without 0, with areacode
REMMSN=0191011 # number of ISP
MYUSER="username" # my username at the ISP

/sbin/isdnctrl verbose 3 # verbose messages
/sbin/isdnctrl system on # ensure ISDN system is turned on
/sbin/isdnctrl addif ippp0 # add the interface
/sbin/isdnctrl eaz ippp0 $MYMSN
/sbin/isdnctrl l2_prot ippp0 hdlc
/sbin/isdnctrl l3_prot ippp0 trans
/sbin/isdnctrl encap ippp0 syncppp # we will use syncPPP
/sbin/isdnctrl dialmode ippp0 manual # dialmode manual
/sbin/isdnctrl addphone ippp0 out $REMMSN # ISP's number
/sbin/isdnctrl huptimeout ippp0 900 # set timeout
/sbin/isdnctrl dialmax ippp0 2 # set redial count to 2
/sbin/ipppd user $MYUSER remotename $REMNAME \
defaultroute \
name $MYUSER \
-detach \
mru 1524 \
mtu 1500 \
lcp-restart 1 \
/dev/ippp0 &



/etc/ppp/isdn-initialise
Quote:
#!/bin/bash

MYUSER="username" # my username at the ISP
REMNAME=T-Online # name of ISP's system
REMMSN=0191011 # number of ISP
MYIP=10.0.0.1 # my fixed IP number

/sbin/ifconfig ippp0 $MYIP pointopoint
/sbin/ifconfig ippp0 -arp -broadcast # don't allow arps and broadcasts

/sbin/route add $MYIP ippp0
/sbin/route add default netmask 0 ippp0 # all non-local traffic goes to ippp0

/sbin/ipppd user $MYUSER remotename $REMNAME defaultroute /dev/ippp0


/etc/ppp/otions.ippp0
Quote:
/dev/ippp0
lock
ipcp-accept-local
ipcp-accept-remote
noipdefault
usepeerdns
deldefaultroute
defaultroute
user "username"


/etc/ppp/pap-secrets
Quote:
"username" * "password"


/etc/ppp/ip-up
Quote:
#!/bin/sh
[ -f /etc/ppp/ip-up.local ] && . /etc/ppp/ip-up.local
/sbin/route add default netmask 0 ippp0


/etc/conf.d/local.start
Quote:
/etc/ppp/isdn-setup 1>&2
/etc/ppp/isdn-initialise 1>&2


On my former tests I had also modified /etc/conf.d/net and added an entry for the ippp0 device. I don't know if this is necessary and I can't check it out, because I don't use
ISDN on my own machine.

/etc/conf.d/net
Quote:
iface_ippp0="192.168.0.1 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orgon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 5:37 pm    Post subject: resov.conf Reply with quote

Sorry, I forgot something. :)

(these are the DNS-server for german T-Online)

/etc/resolv.conf
Quote:
nameserver 217.5.115.7
nameserver 194.25.2.129
nameserver 194.25.2.130
nameserver 194.25.2.131
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathes.s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 279
Location: Brunswick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
and thanks for this guide. But I still have a Problem. I have configured two ipppX Interfaces, because I like to connect to two diffrent ISP Numbers. So the Problem is that, after connecting and disconnecting to one ISP there is still an entry in the routing table which belongs to the Dial-up interface. When I connect with the other Interface I can't load any webstite, because there are now two entrys for the same destination but with diffrent interfaces (ippp0 and ippp1). When I delete the entry which belongs to the other Interface it works.

My routing table before connecting to any interface:
Code:

192.168.2.0     *       255.255.255.0     ...      eth0
loopback          *       255.0.0.0     ...       lo


My routing Table while conected:
Code:

62.104.210.0   *      255.255.255.0      ...     ippp0
192.168.2.0     *       255.255.255.0     ...      eth0
loopback          *       255.0.0.0     ...       lo
default    dtm2-d8-1.mcbon     0.0.0.0    ....      ippp0


After diconnecting:
Code:

62.104.210.0   *      255.255.255.0      ...     ippp0
192.168.2.0     *       255.255.255.0     ...      eth0
loopback          *       255.0.0.0     ...       lo


I tried to put In this Line
Code:
route del -net 62.104.210.0 netmask 255.255.255.0

in a few config fiels (ip-down, ip-down.ippp0) but the entry in the routing table was still there. Although this command work when used on the prompt.

Maybe someone knows how to solve the this problem. I think I just have to but the route command in the right file.

Thanks Mathes
_________________
Erst wenn der letzte Programmierer eingesperrt, das letzte Programm verwirklicht und die letzte Idee patentiert ist, werdet Ihr merken, dass Anwälte nicht programmieren können.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orgon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need two ippp devices. Just replace the tel-number in the configuration (e.g. by having 2 configs and switch between them) and you can call to the other ISP.

cu

orgon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathes.s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 279
Location: Brunswick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,
but thats not a solution because the Machine is a router and I don't want to login evertime to change the configs. Isn't there a file which is called evertime when the connetion is termianted? I think this would be the easiest way to solve the Prob.

Thanks Mathes
_________________
Erst wenn der letzte Programmierer eingesperrt, das letzte Programm verwirklicht und die letzte Idee patentiert ist, werdet Ihr merken, dass Anwälte nicht programmieren können.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 2 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum