Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
external display on an 12" Al powerbook
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 2:19 pm    Post subject: external display on an 12" Al powerbook Reply with quote

I've been looking all over trying to find out how to configure an external monitor on my powerbook. the display comes on for a short time during booting, and it stays powered on (powerbutton is green, not amber) while plugged into the laptop. lshw also reports its presence in the hardware list. So, I think I just need to configure it. I've seen several related threads in this forum but I have not found a solution. Seems to me a kernel parameter should enable it at boot time. Otherwise, the xorg.conf should be modified, but I'm going around in circles trying to figure out the monitors, screens, and devices. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am pretty sure that the Radeon driver supports dual display (because I am using it), but I would not hold my breath for such a support on the Nvidia side (which I believe is the chip on your powerbook). At least I have not heard any success story on the matter.

As far as the kernel framebuffer goes, no matter what I did I have not been able to produce anything intelligible on the external display since some 2.4, really old kernel. X on the other hand works well in dual display mode with MergedFB enabled (and without using the kernel framebuffer). However, the nv driver does not appear to have such an option.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, by using
Option "CrtcNumber" "1"
in the device section I can get the external monitor to work but the laptop screen is displaying gibberish, which I interpret as being driven with the wrong sync rates. If I can get the internal display to turn off when an external one is present I'd be in good shape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 449
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the DVI video output ?
I thought it was not supposed to work on powerbooks. Never really tried on mine, but I would still be interested in being able to plug a video-projector and use it in dual display mode for presentations....

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are asking me or mert? If you are asking me, then DVI-out works well for me (Radeon-based) with MergedFB.
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 449
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bruda wrote:
You are asking me or mert? If you are asking me, then DVI-out works well for me (Radeon-based) with MergedFB.


I was asking to anyone could answer :)
Actually, I did not expect it to work. If you look at the sticky howto for 15" (with Radeon), it says that it does not work).

If it is supposed to work, I would be curious to try.
How do you set up output to the external screen / the laptop screen / dual display ?

I will try that as soon as I find a video projector under my hand.

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the following in my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "TibookLCD"
        VendorName   "Apple"
        ModelName    "Titanium LCD"
        Option       "DPMS"
        HorizSync    30-130
        VertRefresh  50-160
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "RadeonMerged"
        Driver      "radeon"

        Option      "AGPMode"  "4"
        Option      "AGPFastWrite" "true"
        Option      "EnablePageFlip" "true"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option      "backingstore"

        Option      "UseFWPLL" "true"
        Option      "MergedFB" "true"
        Option      "CRT2Position" "Clone"
        Option      "MetaModes" "1280x854-1280x1024 1280x854-1152x864 1280x854-1024x768 1280x854-800x600"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "ScreenMerged"
        Device     "RadeonMerged"
        Monitor    "TibookLCD"
        DefaultDepth   24
        #DefaultFbBpp  32
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    8
                Modes    "1280x854" "1152x768" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
                #Virtual  1280 854
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    16
                Modes    "1280x854" "1152x768"  "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
                #Virtual  1280 854
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    24
                Modes    "1280x854" "1152x768"  "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
                #Virtual  1280 854
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier   "Clone"
        Screen       "ScreenMerged"
        InputDevice  "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice  "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

This clones the display (I am using the external DVI for presentations only so this is all I need), in order to do non-overlapping multiple monitors one would change the device to
Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "RadeonDual"
        Driver      "radeon"
      # BusID       "PCI:0:16:0"

        Option      "AGPMode"  "4"
        Option      "AGPFastWrite" "true"
        Option      "EnablePageFlip" "true"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option      "backingstore"

        Option      "DDCMode" "true"
        Option      "UseFWPLL" "true"
        Option      "MergedFB" "true"
        Option      "CRT2Position" "RightOf"
        Option      "MetaModes" "1280x1024-1280x1024"
        Option      "MonitorLayout" "LVDS,CRT"
EndSection

All of this is extensively tested on a Radeon M7, I also have a 9600 (not mobility) on which I tried once the thing but I did not go any further than bringing up X, noticing the two displays showing the background and the cursor, and then reverting to a single monitor (I have a KVM switch so I am more comfortable with one monitor). Maybe newer Mobility chips do not support this though...

Hope this helps,
Stefan
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 449
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bruda wrote:
I have the following in my xorg.conf:
Hope this helps,
Stefan


Thank you very much! I cannot help before I try this with a real video-projector...

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum