Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
chroot error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nouse66
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 9:39 pm    Post subject: chroot error Reply with quote

I'm trying to install the stage3 i686 tarball on a k6-2 500 Mhz system. I've gotten up to the chroot part and it fails like this...

when I try:
chroot /mnt/gentoo/ /bin/bash

i get the error:
Illegal instruction

What would cause this?

I've installed gentoo a couple times before and have never seen this. There shouldn't be a problem installing the rc2-i686 stage 3 tarball with an rc4 livecd should there? It says you can do it in the instructions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's weird. Other commands in the livecd environment work fine? Try
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo
. If that works you might want to untar that tarball again. Probably best to wipe the partition mounted on /mnt/gentoo first.

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nouse66
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the regular chroot /mnt/gentoo does the same thing. all of the other commands i tried worked. and the md5sum for the tarball checked ok.

i might just try one of the the rc4 stage tarballs. i can always optimize later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir Al
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 326
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 1:16 am    Post subject: Re: chroot error Reply with quote

nouse66 wrote:
I'm trying to install the stage3 i686 tarball on a k6-2 500 Mhz system. I've gotten up to the chroot part and it fails like this...

I don't know if this is related, but the k6-2 is an i586 chip, not an i686. If code written specifically for the i686 is executed on an i586, then indeed, an "illegal instructions" will be done.

Out of curiosity, are you confident that you followed the install instructions to the dot? Maybe there was a little error that you might have missed. If this error persits, maybe start again?
_________________
Athlon XP 2000+ Palomino @ 1.667ghz
Asus A7V333 Revision 1.02 w/ Promise RAID
512mb PC2700-1.5-2-2.0 @ 333mhz
MSI Geforce4 Ti4200-TD 250/446 mhz
MSI TV@nywhere TV Tuner
Antec SX1040BII Case + SL400 400W PSU
Logitech Z-540 4.1 Speakers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nouse66
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's a 586??? well that would explain it! i'll go try a different tarball...

thanks for the tip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilAlien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had the same problem. I'm installing from the -basic ISO, i.e., doing a Stage 1 install that should be as generic as they come. The chroot results in Illegal instruction error.

Here are the results of an strace:
Code:


cdimage gentoo # more tmp/chroot.strace.txt
execve("/usr/bin/chroot", ["chroot", "/mnt/gentoo", "/bin/bash"], [/* 25 vars */
]) = 0
uname({sys="Linux", node="cdimage", ...}) = 0
brk(0)                                  = 0x804bac8
open("/etc/ld.so.preload", O_RDONLY)    = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY)      = 3
fstat64(3, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=12004, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 12004, PROT_READ, MAP_PRIVATE, 3, 0) = 0x40014000
close(3)                                = 0
open("/lib/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY)        = 3
read(3, "\177ELF\1\1\1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\0\3\0\1\0\0\0\200Z\1"..., 1024) = 102
4
fstat64(3, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0755, st_size=1453821, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 1239524, PROT_READ|PROT_EXEC, MAP_PRIVATE, 3, 0) = 0x40017000
mprotect(0x4013e000, 31204, PROT_NONE)  = 0
mmap2(0x4013e000, 16384, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED, 3, 0x126)
= 0x4013e000
mmap2(0x40142000, 14820, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED|MAP_ANONYMO
US, -1, 0) = 0x40142000
close(3)                                = 0
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x40
146000
munmap(0x40014000, 12004)               = 0
brk(0)                                  = 0x804bac8
brk(0x804cac8)                          = 0x804cac8
brk(0x804d000)                          = 0x804d000
chroot("/mnt/gentoo")                   = 0
chdir("/")                              = 0
execve("/bin/bash", ["/bin/bash"], [/* 25 vars */]) = 0
uname({sys="Linux", node="cdimage", ...}) = 0
brk(0)                                  = 0x80fbed4
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x40
014000
open("/etc/ld.so.preload", O_RDONLY)    = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
--- SIGILL (Illegal instruction) ---
+++ killed by SIGILL +++


Where is my durn /etc/ld.so.preload?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celloandy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 7:00 pm    Post subject: Same problem... Reply with quote

I had the same problem. Other posts in the forum seem to indicate that this is because the app doesn't match the architecture, but I'm using a Pentium 200 MMX, with just a basic x86 tarball... shouldn't it work on this architecture?

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeremie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 7:11 pm    Post subject: Chroot problem Reply with quote

Got this problem too with a pentium 200 mmx. Is it that someone compiled some of the tools on the basic live-cd for i686?

Anyway thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhempel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm installing on an old MMMX-266 laptop using the x86 live cd here and I get the same porblem...

Hmmmm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cossins
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Search the forums a bit... You will notice that this error is caused by using the wrong LiveCD (I have not seen cases where that was not the problem). More correctly, you are using a stage-tarball for a different architechture (the i686 on i586 is a common one)...

Try the ISO here: ftp://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/1.4/livecd/x86/

- Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celloandy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cossins wrote:
Search the forums a bit... You will notice that this error is caused by using the wrong LiveCD (I have not seen cases where that was not the problem). More correctly, you are using a stage-tarball for a different architechture (the i686 on i586 is a common one)...

Try the ISO here: ftp://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/1.4/livecd/x86/

- Simon


As I said in my previous post, both the ISO and stage tarball I used were labelled x86, as were the ones used by the other posters. It appears that some of the packages in the x86 basic package were compiled for the wrong architecture.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhempel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simon, thanks for replying, but I _am_ using the x86 CD to do this on my MMX machine. Jeremie and celloandy are experiencing the same symptoms using an MMX CPU with the x86 CD image.

I've checked the MD5 sum of the original image and read backthe image I burned, so that's OK too.

tar, cp, fdisk, etc all seem to work OK, it's just the chroot command where things barf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azote
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem....

installing x86-CD-1 in a Pemtium 133Mhz

:(

The sad part is that probably the ones that I pre-ordered from gentoo Will do the same !! ... Right?
_________________
contact me -> azote@mail.i2p

What do you want to emerge today?

if you think that a person is normal, it is because you do not know them well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Senso
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 250
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed stages 1,2 and 3 *many* times on a MMX 300mhz without a single problem with chroot.
Am I gifted or what? :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celloandy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Senso wrote:
I've installed stages 1,2 and 3 *many* times on a MMX 300mhz without a single problem with chroot.
Am I gifted or what? :roll:


The problem seems to have been introduced in 1.4 final. I haven't had these problems before.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhempel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Senso, did you install from the 1.4 Release x86 GRP live cd image? This is the pre-built image for those of us too impatient to emerge and compile a system for 2 days just to get it running :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azote
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put a bug report for it...

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=26079
_________________
contact me -> azote@mail.i2p

What do you want to emerge today?

if you think that a person is normal, it is because you do not know them well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celloandy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Temporary solution? Reply with quote

Perhaps, as a temporary solution, someone could post a binary of chroot compiled for x86... then at least those that are using the stage1 tarball and compiling everything anyway will be able to move on with the install.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilAlien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To clarify... I am using the gentoo-basic-1.4-20030803.iso, MD5 matches, on an AMD K6-2 processor. I am attempting only a stage 1 install with the rest compiled from source, however the error at chroot halts the install after I've only been able to unzip the stage1 archive from the ISO.

I've managed to find a mirror with the stages, so I will try pulling down a new x86 stage1 tonight and post re: success.
_________________
a l i e n

perl -e 'print $i=pack(c5,(41*2),sqrt(7056),(unpack(c,H)-2),oct(115),10)'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is an interesting bug. I don't have any i586 hardware I can test on to confirm it, but I've mailed Daniel and asked that he put off shipping any x86 CD sets.

Can someone see if they have the same problem with the rc4 stage1?

This may be a bug in stager. While CFLAGS is set correctly, it looks like stager may be setting CHOST to i686-pc-linux-gnu for x86 instead of the correct i486-pc-linux-gnu. What puzzles me is why that would've changed between rc4 and final.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger55
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Location: Graz/Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:06 pm    Post subject: Bug Filed Reply with quote

I have filed a bug on this too. Obviously it took me a little longer to write it. bug#26080
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=26080
It has a little more info than #26079, which wasn't there when I started.
I hope we see a workaround soon. If you find a workaround and/or have additional information please add to my bug.

May the Gentoo be with us.

roger55
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pretty convinced it's a stager bug. I'm doing some test builds right now and will probably have fixed stages tonight or tomorrow morning (Eastern).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhempel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AvenJ: I'm going to ask a stupid question here...why is there no x586 GRP package available? The x86 will work on a 486 and higher, while the x686 requires a Pentium Pro or Pentium II. Those of us that use Pentium I and MMX machines are stuck between the two. Is there a significant performance hit for MMX users with the plain x86 builds?

Either way, I'm happy to see that Gentoo is available with GRP images. I'm using an old beater machine to test out this distro and my initial impression (around Christmas) was that it was just too much work.

The GRP images are a welcome compromise.

Ralph


Last edited by rhempel on Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celloandy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:18 pm    Post subject: Static chroot Reply with quote

I haven't tried this yet, but it seems like this could be solved if someone had a statically compiled copy of chroot (as I don't think, from the strace, that the problem lies within the chroot binary itself), we could use this chroot to get past this hurdle in the install, then rebuild shellutils after the bootstrap process and everything, resulting in a native copy of chroot. Would this work?

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhempel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

celloandy: I'm guessing the chroot problem is just the tip of the iceberg. I think we should wait until Jon has rebuilt the stages and then go from there. His earlier post indicates that the flags are just plain wrong on everything in the stage.

Does this mean that the stuff on CD2 is also bad?

Ralph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum