Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: build qemu from cvs (incl. accelerator)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:46 am    Post subject: Re: Security Violation: A file exists that is not in the man Reply with quote

dobh wrote:
Hi,

I moved from qemu-cvs to lu_zeros ebuild.

When I try to emerge it, the following error appears:

>>> Downloading http://dev.gentoo.org/~lu_zero/distfiles/qemu-0.6.2.20050309.tar.bz2
--13:26:37-- http://dev.gentoo.org/%7Elu_zero/distfiles/qemu-0.6.2.20050309.tar.bz2
=> `/usr/portage/distfiles/qemu-0.6.2.20050309.tar.bz2'
Resolving dev.gentoo.org... 134.68.220.30
Connecting to dev.gentoo.org[134.68.220.30]:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 974,674 [application/x-tar]

100%[===============================================================================>] 974,674 426.44K/s

13:26:40 (425.32 KB/s) - `/usr/portage/distfiles/qemu-0.6.2.20050309.tar.bz2' saved [974674/974674]

!!! Security Violation: A file exists that is not in the manifest.
!!! File: files/kqemu-sysfs.patch


What shoud I do?


FEATURES="-strict" emerge qemu

FEATURES="strict" means that the file size of ebuilds and patches in the portage tree are checked, instead of just the things that get downloaded to distfiles. Until recently if was off by default, but that changed (on x86, at least).


Or, doing emerge --digest qemu should do the trick too
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
somas1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zybl0re wrote:
Okay, I'm not sure what's going on here, but I'm following the directions of the thread poster exactly (as far as I can tell), but when it get to the emerge step, I get

Code:

tinomen portage # emerge qemu-cvs
Calculating dependencies   
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "qemu-cvs".


the tar extracted to /usr/local/portage... what's going on? I'm sure this must be some simple little thing I'm overlooking. :(

edit: okay, a dude ssh'd into my machine and helped me out. I needed to add /usr/local/portage to PORTDIR_OVERLAY in make.conf
qemu-cvs is compiling right now. :)


I've added
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
to /etc/make.conf but I still get "there are no ebuilds to satisfy "qemu-cvs""

What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this while emerging qemu with kqemu

Code:

make[1]: Entering directory `/var/tmp/portage/qemu-0.6.2.20050309/work/qemu/kqemu'
make -C /usr/src/linux M=`pwd` modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.11.7-reiser4'
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/qemu-0.6.2.20050309/work/qemu/kqemu/kmod.o
In file included from include/asm/processor.h:18,
                 from include/asm/thread_info.h:17,
                 from include/linux/thread_info.h:21,
                 from include/linux/spinlock.h:12,
                 from include/linux/capability.h:45,
                 from include/linux/sched.h:7,
                 from include/linux/module.h:10,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/qemu-0.6.2.20050309/work/qemu/kqemu/kmod.c:5:
include/asm/system.h:306:23: warning: null character(s) preserved in literal
include/asm/system.h:306:23: missing terminating " character
In file included from include/asm/processor.h:18,
                 from include/asm/thread_info.h:17,
                 from include/linux/thread_info.h:21,
                 from include/linux/spinlock.h:12,
                 from include/linux/capability.h:45,
                 from include/linux/sched.h:7,
                 from include/linux/module.h:10,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/qemu-0.6.2.20050309/work/qemu/kqemu/kmod.c:5:
include/asm/system.h:311: error: syntax error before "kernel"



any ideas?

xming
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qemu 0.7 is out and it's in portage (including the kernel module if you set the kqemu use flag), so (emerge sync &&) emerge qemu is now the way to get this


it's almost certainly keyworded as ~x86, btw
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
somas1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

djm wrote:
qemu 0.7 is out and it's in portage (including the kernel module if you set the kqemu use flag), so (emerge sync &&) emerge qemu is now the way to get this


it's almost certainly keyworded as ~x86, btw


Okay I've got .7 loaded with kqemu and I copied over a 6 gig .img file loaded with ubuntu that I've been using under the windows port of qemu for weeks. This .img will boot and will load basic services but will crash before loading a desktop. Is this (.7) working for anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I solved my problem, it was due to corrupted kernel headers, now running 0.7 :)
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hpux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Oregon State University

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont know if this is the problem you had, I had the same error, but the problem that I had was remidied by loading the new kqemu module that is created when you install using the accelerator.

However, now BeOS doesn't boot in qemu anymore... we'll see how it goes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asouldja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2005 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just installed qemu like such:

Code:
USE="kqemu softmmu" emerge qemu


kqemu files are there but I can't load any module even after a modules-update or reboot.

also tried:

Code:
emerge qemu-cvs


but nothing....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum