Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
After chroot nothing works
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thegerb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: After chroot nothing works Reply with quote

Pls forgive me my noobiness. This is my first attempt at installing Gentoo.

I've followed the instructions page by page and chrooted into my my own environment.

I set what I hope are good use flags.
Symlinked my time zone and then tried to emerge my new kernel having had a good network connection prior to the chroot.

It failed: I kept getting a 'host not found' error while emerge tried to resolve things.
I tried to ping my host and got a 'ping: command not found' error.
I tried various other cmds - all 'not found'.

I switched to a new window (Alt + F2) and ping works (so does everything else) ???

a) What have i done wrong in my original window so that ping etc don't work?
b) can I emerge my kernel in the 2nd window?

thanks
Kev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably forgot at least 2 steps: copying the installation resolv.conf to the /mnt/gentoo/etc directory, and running env-update after the chroot.
The first accounts for the inability to resolve hostnames, and the second takes care of not having a command path - ergo not being able to run any.

It's called a virtual terminal or console, not a window; these are fundamentally different concepts in *nix.

Since the second console is still in the LiveCD environment, it is not in the new Gentoo environment so you should never use it to perform any steps of the install after the chroot.

Re-do the steps I indicated and you should be okay.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thegerb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have checked and resolv.conf was actually resolvE.conf - so that should clear that up :)

I changed to the second console (thx for the pointer) and when i input - ' mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc ' the responce was
'mount: none already mounted or /mnt/gentoo/proc busy
mount: according to mtab, none is already mounted on /mnt/gentoo/proc '

I then input ' env-update ' and rec'd
' -/bin/bash: env-update: command not found '

in the original console mount is command not found and the path /mnt/gentoo/proc doesn't seem to exisit.

any pointers gratefully rec'd - and thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Since the second console is still in the LiveCD environment, you should never use it to perform any steps of the install after the chroot.

Which part of that did you skip over ?

What I meant was that you should exit the chroot and re-do the steps I said you left out.
In the first console.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thegerb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as a noob - how do you exit the chroot environment. thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm.. exit ?

Really.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thegerb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I learn something new everyday - thanks.

I followed your advice and it still didn't work.

I know this will sound extreme but I'm going right back to the beginning and start all over again - just in case I missed something else.

The system is an old Compaq Proliant DL360 with dual P3 1000, 1024Mb ECC ram, dual 18Gb SCSI HDD set to Raid 1.

Hey if I'm gonna learn to swim the deep end is as gooda place as any.

Any pointers you want to give will be heaven sent.

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pilin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

i have the same problem.

Before chroot, all is allright. but in the chrooted env, 'env-update' and 'source' commands executed OK .... the system become pretty inoperant.

Some binaries don't work (nano, gcc when invoque by emerge, ...)
Example:
nano => 'Illegal Instruction'
emerge vim => '.... Checking for C compiler default output... Configure: Error: C compiler can not create executables'


I do all in the doc, step by step, no more, no less.

What's wrong ?
(i use the 2004.3 universal Live CD for x86, just donwloaded yesterday)

PS: my english should be not very goog, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pilin wrote:
Some binaries don't work (nano, gcc when invoque by emerge, ...)
Example:
nano => 'Illegal Instruction'

This will happen if you use the wrong stage tarball for your CPU.

For example : an athlon-xp stage tarball will not work with a regular athlon CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eXess
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 243
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got quite the same kind of thing when I tried to setup too aggressive MAKE flags for compiling. Interesting thing is that I didn't notice that until system was up and running and tried to run an "emerge -u world", which broke about everything... I had to reboot from the LiveCD and re-emerge system (including gcc) from scratch :) The config files were preserved though, and I was up and running 8 hours later. Hail Gentoo :D
_________________
. . . . . . . .
eXess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
da-flow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Location: in the darkest corner of my space

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:51 pm    Post subject: hi ppl Reply with quote

Im TOTALY new to gentoo and used Suse which is pretty easy to install..
I have the same problem like the post above..

After chrooting into the new environment i cannot use Nano anymore and i think nothing seems to work as it should..

I did all the steps right but i think the failure could be that i choose the wrong stage tarball for installation..

I thought i had an Athlon XP and i didnt realise 1400+ is NOT athlon XP...
This is what i think is wrong ..

Im gonna try again setting a diffrent stage tarball... (4th time i tried installing this blasted NICE version of Linux)

P.S.: If i have to set the stage tarball anew it means i have to start from scratch again ? i guess so..

--to creator of topic: gonna tell you if it worked for me cause you could have a similiar problem :!:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6378
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from IG, please follow up to resolve problems if necessary.
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum