Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
MOL: File too large, failed to load mkext ERROR?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:04 pm    Post subject: MOL: File too large, failed to load mkext ERROR? Reply with quote

Totally new to ppc, and this error in mol is not going away :wink: tia for any solutions. scooby.

>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70
>> Candidate boot volume: /mol-scsi/disk@0:3
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\mach_kernel (3867752 bytes)
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\Extensions.mkext
>> File is too large.
>> Failed to load mkext!
>> Loading from /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\
>> ==================================================

Running kernel 2.6.10 on a mac mini, with a 6gig local disk image. Trying to boot startmol -X --cdboot
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great! You've just volunteered to help me with a bug I can't test myself. :)

Please take a look at this bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=80098 and try mol-0.9.71_pre1. It should contain a patch for this bug, but I haven't gotten a response as to whether the fix worked.

Let me know so I can fix this as soon as possible.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Great! You've just volunteered to help me with a bug I can't test myself. :)

Please take a look at this bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=80098 and try mol-0.9.71_pre1. It should contain a patch for this bug, but I haven't gotten a response as to whether the fix worked.

Let me know so I can fix this as soon as possible.

Thanks!


Sure no problem, I'll do what I can ;)

I'm actually using the mol-0.9.71_pre1 ebuild, which I thought applied this patch?

EDIT: Oh I see, F. Steinel said it didn't work :oops: so for someone who is sh$%it at patching, how should I patch this diff file and to what version ....? .patch file I can do :)
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|


Last edited by scoobydu on Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:12 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's what I needed to know. I'll review the patch and see what I missed. I'll post a message here when I've changed it in CVS.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Yeah, that's what I needed to know. I'll review the patch and see what I missed. I'll post a message here when I've changed it in CVS.

Thanks!


Ok cool.


For your info, I tried a 1gig disk image too, and it failed with the same error on that too! 8O :?
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, we'll try the new patch I've put on that bug. Replace the patch: /usr/portage/app-emulation/mol/files/mol-0.9.71_pre1-big-filesystem.patch with the new one, re-emerge it and let me know if that fixes the problem. It would also be helpful to see your disk settings in mol for the image file. One last thing, is this an image of a partition or a disk image?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Alright, we'll try the new patch I've put on that bug. Replace the patch: /usr/portage/app-emulation/mol/files/mol-0.9.71_pre1-big-filesystem.patch with the new one, re-emerge it and let me know if that fixes the problem. It would also be helpful to see your disk settings in mol for the image file. One last thing, is this an image of a partition or a disk image?

Thanks


Ok, I'll give it a try now.

Your other info reqd;
Quote:

Disk points to osx.image in my /home/local/osx.image directory, set with rw (tried -force and -boot which makes no differance currently)

Disk image file created with dd

_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, new patch and re-emerge gives me the same, below.

Quote:

startmol -X --cdboot
Mac-on-Linux 0.9.71-pre1 [Mar 7 2005 14:31]
Copyright (C) 1997-2004 Samuel Rydh
Starting MOL session 1
Removing stale lockfile /var/lock/mol-1
Running in PowerPC 7400 mode, 96 MB RAM
Timebase: 41.62 MHz, Bus: 166.48 MHz, Clock: 1416 MHz
Using USB mouse on /dev/input/mice
OHCI USB controller registered
Could not open '/var/lib/mol/x11.kbd'
Fullscreen video on VT 8.
Could not open '/var/lib/mol/console.kbd'
Video driver(s): [xvideo] [console_video]

640* 480, depth 8,15,32 { 0.0, 59.9 } Hz
800* 600, depth 8,15,32 { 60.3 } Hz
1024* 768, depth 8,15,32 { 60.0 } Hz
1152* 864, depth 8,15,32 { 59.9 } Hz
1280*1024, depth 8,15,32 { 60.0 } Hz
1600*1200, depth 8,32 { 0.0 } Hz

DHCP nameserver exported: 194.168.8.100
Ethernet Interface 'tun-<tun1>' @ 00:00:0D:EA:DB:EE

ip/mask: 192.168.41.2/255.255.255.0 gw: 192.168.41.1
broadcast: 192.168.41.255 nameserver: 192.168.41.1


CD /dev/cdrom CD/DVD <read-only> ------ BOOT1
Disk /home/local/osx.. <rw> 6143 MB

SCSI devices:

SCSI /dev/cdrom [CDROM/DVD driver]


>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70
>> Candidate boot volume: /mol-scsi/disk@0:3
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\mach_kernel (3867752 bytes)
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\Extensions.mkext
>> File is too large.
>> Failed to load mkext!
>> Loading from /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\
>> ==================================================

_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, try again please!

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately the same with the following repeated many times after the previous error.......

Quote:

Unimplemented store instruction 7C000FEC


ps I have not rebooted after a re-emerge .. do I need to? There are no complaints for the kernel module versions.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you shouldn't need to reboot, however, make sure that the mol modules are all unloaded. Also, that error may be indicative of a filesystem error on the disk image. Can you try the original patch that was posted to the bug with a known clean boot image (like an OSX CD)?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
No, you shouldn't need to reboot, however, make sure that the mol modules are all unloaded. Also, that error may be indicative of a filesystem error on the disk image. Can you try the original patch that was posted to the bug with a known clean boot image (like an OSX CD)?

Thanks


Ok, first off I am trying to install OSX from the OSX boot CD1 onto the raw disk image osx.image.

All of these tests have been with booting from the OSX boot CD :? using startmol -osx --cdboot

So the first test using the original patch was using the original OSX cd1 boot cd.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens if you boot without the disk image?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
What happens if you boot without the disk image?


Just reinstalled the original ebuild and patch, and will comment out any disks, and will update here.

edit:

Looks to me like TWO problems. File too large error is given, just trying to boot from the CD! (or is it a dvd with the mac mini?) AND the fstat error is given when the disk alone is used!


With original ebuild and patch ->

1) Boot CD disabled, with the disk only [startmol -X][-force gives same fstat error]

Quote:

DHCP nameserver exported: 194.168.8.100
Ethernet Interface 'tun-<tun1>' @ 00:00:0D:EA:DB:EE

ip/mask: 192.168.41.2/255.255.255.0 gw: 192.168.41.1
broadcast: 192.168.41.255 nameserver: 192.168.41.1


----> /home/local/osx.image is not a HFS disk (use -force to override)
fstat: Value too large for defined data type

SCSI devices:

<No SCSI Devices>

>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70
>> SyncRead: error
>> SyncRead: error
>> --> Boot loader failure: No bootable disk found



2) With disk disabled and only CD enabled [startmol -X] ->

Quote:

CD /dev/cdrom CD/DVD <read-only> ------

SCSI devices:

SCSI /dev/cdrom [CDROM/DVD driver]


>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70
>> SyncRead: error
>> SyncRead: error
>> Candidate boot volume: /mol-scsi/disk@0:3
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\mach_kernel (3867752 bytes)
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\Extensions.mkext
>> File is too large.
>> Failed to load mkext!
>> Loading from /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\
>> ==================================================



3) With disk disabled and only CD enabled [startmol -X --cdboot] ->

Quote:

>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70
>> Candidate boot volume: /mol-scsi/disk@0:3
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\mach_kernel (3867752 bytes)
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\Extensions.mkext
>> File is too large.
>> Failed to load mkext!
>> Loading from /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\
>> ==================================================

_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some more:

One of the problems appear to be the mac mini OSX install disk

If I boot from a 10.3 CD then mol boots fine!! but still gives me the fstat error for the 6gig image file.

I'll try your other patches with the new boot CD!

EDIT:

1) Original patch gives fstat error.
2) After reboot, second patch accepts 6gig disk, starts to boot, and goes into macos install. :) The disk does not show up to install to!! :( worked with correctly formatted image after though :)
3) After reboot, third patch , same as two above.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I've upated the patch in CVS which should fix the original problem. As for booting off the mac-mini CD, I'd suspect it's a MOL problem, you might want to file a bug upstream with that. Thanks for testing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kalisphoenix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 211
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn. I downloaded the most recent version, applied the patch, and I'm still getting these errors. Anything new in the land of MOL that I should know about?

I've tried with the two most recent version, with 9.71 with and without the patch offered on the bugzilla, and consistently get the same error. I'm using 10.3 CDs.

Depressed. Must... put... self... out... of... misery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which error are you getting?
What's the size of the image you're trying to use?
If you provide more details, I might be able to help. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kalisphoenix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 211
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, heh. I thought I made it specific enough.

What happens is I <startmol -X --cdboot>

The Darwin kernel panics in the new console (I'm using it in framebuffer mode).
Switching back to vc/1, I see
My computer wrote:

>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70
>> Candidate boot volume: /mol-scsi/disk@0:2
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:2,\mach_kernel (3859004 bytes)
>> /mol-scsi/disk@0:2,\System\Library\Extensions.mkext
>> File is too large.
>> Failed to load mkext!
>> Loading from /mol-scsi/disk@0:3,\System\Library\
>> ==================================================
!


The size of the hard disk image I'm using is 3500MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silian87
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 2318
Location: Treviso, Italy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get THE SAME problem trying to boot an installed opendarwin system....
_________________
Musica che ascolto: http://www.last.fm/user/silian87/

Silian87 FAQs: http://marentax.homelinux.org/~silian87/silian87-faq.txt

GTalk: silian87@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redview
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 365
Location: Goteborg - Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yesterday was ok, today:
Code:
>> ==================================================
>> MacOS X Boot Loader 0.9.70 [96MB memory map patch]
>> SyncRead: error
>> SyncRead: error


I've to kill mol because it doesnt go on.
what can i do!?

:?
_________________
our enterprise a success as return is no option/our eyes were removed for our own safety/the distance too great for you to hear our cries/nevermind take this lamp we are beyond light [kinetic-arcturus]
you and I, connect and emerge [we ride-syl]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try rebooting, does that fix it?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redview
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 365
Location: Goteborg - Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah,
i rebooted in macosx, then in gentoo, then in mol and it worked..but it's strange.
sometimes i get another odd error: i boot mol and when it appears the macosx login i cant type because keyboard does not work.. :? do you know why?
on the boot i always see some errors like "cant find x11.kbd" or something like that (now i'm in macosx and i cant check..but if you need, i will)..sometimes (the majority of times) it's ok, but sometimes i cant type.
_________________
our enterprise a success as return is no option/our eyes were removed for our own safety/the distance too great for you to hear our cries/nevermind take this lamp we are beyond light [kinetic-arcturus]
you and I, connect and emerge [we ride-syl]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum