Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
best. auxilary. xterm. ever.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cagnulein
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 861
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the binary works fine, but i have a problem with the colors...
Code:
Warning: Color name "black" is not defined
Warning: Color name "green" is not defined
yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color green3
yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color green
yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color magenta3
yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color magenta
yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color gray90
yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color white

any suggestion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExZombie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like it. Its way lighter than kuake :) .
There's a rather annoying problem though. Alt+key combinations don't work as they should. In terminal, they produce all sorts of characters (accented and such), whereas in aterm, they dont. Programs fail to catch these combos as well, so yeahconsole makes irssi rather useless :? . Anyone has any clues?

Oh, here are my .Xdefaults entries if they are of any use:
Code:

yeahconsole*toggleKey: Win+space
yeahconsole*background:  rgb:2D/2D/2D
yeahconsole*foreground: rgb:E6/E6/E6
yeahconsole*font: -*-terminus-medium-*-*-*-*-*-100-100-*-*-iso8859-2
yeahconsole*loginShell:True
yeahconsole*consoleHeight: 40
yeahconsole*aniDelay:0




EDIT:
Ok, that was solved rather quickly :) . I dug a little through the xterm man page, xresources section. Adding yeahconsole*metaSendsEscape: true to .Xdefaults solves the problem. No more pressing Esc all the time, yay :D !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18155

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry 'bout the search post. Even worse though, there is an ebuild in this (at the time) short thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
Sorry 'bout the search post. Even worse though, there is an ebuild in this (at the time) short thread.

Most comical is that _you wrote it_. But at 13525 posts, I think we can cut you a little slack ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18155

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. I was thinking portage searches pointed out when something was in portage, or an overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it working and 8O Best thing to happen to my Linux experience in a WHILE. I'm burning through xterm manuals now.
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berkowski
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Followed DrWoland over from https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332354.html. New toys!

Has anyone else gotten
Code:

zac@DropBear yeahconsole-0.3.1 $> make
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.     -I -c yeahconsole.c
cp: cannot stat `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
/bin/sh: line 1: .deps/yeahconsole.pp: No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
make: [yeahconsole.o] Error 1 (ignored)
gcc  -I -L -lX11 -o yeahconsole  yeahconsole.o 
cd . && autoheader


when they compile? Nothing fatal, just wondering what's going on.
_________________
Current Screenie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

berkowski wrote:
Followed DrWoland over from https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332354.html. New toys!

Has anyone else gotten
Code:

zac@DropBear yeahconsole-0.3.1 $> make
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.     -I -c yeahconsole.c
cp: cannot stat `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
/bin/sh: line 1: .deps/yeahconsole.pp: No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
make: [yeahconsole.o] Error 1 (ignored)
gcc  -I -L -lX11 -o yeahconsole  yeahconsole.o 
cd . && autoheader


when they compile? Nothing fatal, just wondering what's going on.


I got it, but it still works so I care not.
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I WANTS IT IN PORTAGE.
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamagurka wrote:
I WANTS IT IN PORTAGE.


Make an ebuild? :P
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DrWoland wrote:
kamagurka wrote:
I WANTS IT IN PORTAGE.


Make an ebuild? :P

I DON'T KNOW HOW! I DEMAND SOMEONE MAKE ONE FOR ME! =D
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qool
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Mumbai

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, that's a smashing console. Really like the fact that its based on xterm. Adds to the coolness factor of your desktop.

I had only one gripe with it... using a sufficiently large height (of about 40 lines or more) makes the drop-down animation crawl. Setting the aniDelay to a low value (0) doesnt help. But I managed to improve it by increasing the animation step size in the C code. 8)

kamagurka wrote:
I WANTS IT IN PORTAGE.

There's an ebuild above in this thread that worked perfectly for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qool wrote:
There's an ebuild above in this thread that worked perfectly for me.

Not so much for me:
Code:
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Source unpacked.

!!! ERROR: x11-terms/yeahconsole-0.3.1 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 488, Exitcode 1
!!! no configure script found
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.

_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An ebuild isn't terrilbly useful for such a simple program with no dependencies. What's so hard about:
Code:
./autogen.sh
./configure
make && make install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gherald wrote:
An ebuild isn't terrilbly useful for such a simple program with no dependencies. What's so hard about:
Code:
./autogen.sh
./configure
make && make install

It's not so much that I find that hard, it's the fact that portage is my *package management*. I try to keep all programs managed by portage. Makes for easy uninstall and upgrade, too.
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gherald
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1399
Location: CLUAConsole

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamagurka wrote:
It's not so much that I find that hard, it's the fact that portage is my *package management*. I try to keep all programs managed by portage. Makes for easy uninstall and upgrade, too.

Complex Manual Uninstallation Procedure(tm):
Code:
rm /usr/local/bin/yeahconsole

As for upgrades, you would proceed as if you were installing it for the first time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madspida
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The previous ebuild didn't work for me so I hacked it to make it work, and it did. Here goes:

Code:
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

inherit eutils
DESCRIPTION="Puts an xterm window on top of your screen that behaves like the console found in many games (similar to kuake). Its visibility can be toggled by a keyboard shortcut. This is a sample skeleton ebuild file"
HOMEPAGE="http://freshmeat.net/projects/yeahconsole"
SRC_URI="http://freshmeat.net/redir/yeahconsole/54521/url_tgz/${P}.tar.gz"
LICENSE="GPL"

SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~x86 ~amd64"
IUSE=""
DEPEND=""
#RDEPEND=""

S=${WORKDIR}/${P}

src_compile() {
        $S/autogen.sh || die "autogen failed"
        econf || die "econf failed"
        emake || die "emake failed"
}

src_install() {
        make DESTDIR=${D} install || die
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExZombie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qool wrote:
I had only one gripe with it... using a sufficiently large height (of about 40 lines or more) makes the drop-down animation crawl. Setting the aniDelay to a low value (0) doesnt help. But I managed to improve it by increasing the animation step size in the C code. 8)


Mah, I cut out the animation completely. I wonder why the author didn't implement an option to do that using Xdefaults :? . Lowering the window one pixel at a time is nonsense.

Does anyone have an idea how to make this thing unicode compatible? I've been using it for over a month now and there's no way I'm going back to using kuake, but I'd really like to use non-ASCII characters. They work nicely with xterm, but not with yeahconsole. I've tried putting "yeahconsole*locale: UTF-8" and "yeahconsole*utf8: 1" in .Xdefaults, but it doesn't seem to have any effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18155

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine suddenly stopped working. Not sure why... probably because of something else I emerged. After unmerging it, it failed to build with this problem:
SewerBeing wrote:
yeahconsole.o(.text+0xe51): In function `resize':
: undefined reference to `XUngrabPointer'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
./autogen-sh was the solution, which is now in the updated ebuild.


Unfortunately my .Xdefaults problem didn't go away on its own.

EDIT: I was tired of the .Xdefaults problem. A quick strace revealed that yeahconsole was trying to open .Xdefaults-hostname instead. A softlink resolved it.
_________________
Those who know what's best for us must rise and save us from ourselves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InfinityX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fantastic program, but does anyone know why running torsmo at the same time would make it slide away really slowly? It slides in just fine :(

Edit: never mind I turned off double buffering and it seems to be working. I've also got it running screen :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 326
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Gerald: yeahconsole:
Code:
kripton yeahconsole-0.3.1 # ./autogen.sh
FATAL ERROR: Autoconf version 2.50 or higher is required for this script
automake: configure.in: installing `./config.guess'
automake: configure.in: installing `./config.sub'
FATAL ERROR: Autoconf version 2.50 or higher is required for this script

Code:
kripton yeahconsole-0.3.1 # make
cd . && autoconf
FATAL ERROR: Autoconf version 2.50 or higher is required for this script
make: *** [configure] Error 2

Code:
*  sys-devel/autoconf
      Latest version available: 2.59-r7
      Latest version installed: 2.59-r7
      Size of downloaded files: 903 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.gnu.org/software/autoconf/autoconf.html
      Description: Used to create autoconfiguration files
      License:     GPL-2


Any questions so far?

At topic:
Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "tilda" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-terms/tilda-0.02 (masked by: package.mask)
# Aaron Walker <ka0ttic@gentoo.org> (18 Mar 2005)
# buffer overflows galore; pending removal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herbkohl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

invoke autoconf manually from the yeahconsole source directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 326
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

.... this was done manually
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herbkohl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jannis wrote:
.... this was done manually

no, you called the wrapper script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 326
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I could run "autoconf-2.59", but it is still not compiling:
Code:
kripton yeahconsole-0.3.1 # make
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.     -I -c yeahconsole.c
/tmp/ccPjZTVb.o: In function `main':
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x2e): undefined reference to `XOpenDisplay'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x48): undefined reference to `XDisplayName'
.
.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum