Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
best. auxilary. xterm. ever.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nagash-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was already pretty simple to do using scriptable window managers like FVWM. And you could also use any application (ie. not just xterm)

So no biggie imo, but good for all the people who use different WMs I suppose :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InfinityX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nagash- wrote:
This was already pretty simple to do using scriptable window managers like FVWM. And you could also use any application (ie. not just xterm)

So no biggie imo, but good for all the people who use different WMs I suppose :)


Any chance you could post how? I'd love to be able to use urxvt instead of xterm :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightm4re
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 519
Location: Providence, RI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gherald wrote:

In contrast, yeahconsole seems to Just Work. And have a look at the dependencies...

Code:
mu gherald # ldd `which tilda`
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0xb7d8a000)
        libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0xb7d20000)
        libatk-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libatk-1.0.so.0 (0xb7d04000)
        libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 (0xb7cf2000)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7cd1000)
        libpangoxft-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangoxft-1.0.so.0 (0xb7cca000)
        libpangox-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangox-1.0.so.0 (0xb7cbe000)
        libpango-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0 (0xb7c84000)
        libgobject-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 (0xb7c56000)
        libgmodule-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 (0xb7c53000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb7c4f000)
        libglib-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0xb7bdf000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb7b8d000)
        libvte.so.4 => /usr/lib/libvte.so.4 (0xb7ae3000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb79f8000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb7948000)
        libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0xb7945000)
        libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXi.so.6 (0xb793e000)
        libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXinerama.so.1 (0xb793a000)
        libXft.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXft.so.2 (0xb792b000)
        libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xb78b6000)
        libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xb788f000)
        libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib/libXfixes.so.3 (0xb788b000)
        libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0xb7883000)
        libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xb787b000)
        libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xb786f000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7fed000)
        libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 (0xb7848000)
        libncurses.so.5 => /lib/libncurses.so.5 (0xb7804000)
        libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0xb77fc000)
        libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0xb77e7000)
        libexpat.so.0 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.0 (0xb77c7000)
        libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xb77b6000)
        libgpm.so.1 => /lib/libgpm.so.1 (0xb77b1000)
mu gherald # ldd `which yeahconsole`
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb7f1b000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb7e30000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb7e2c000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7fed000)
mu gherald #

Yow!


I was looking through this thread, and while YeahConsole is a pretty neat program, this is an unfair comparison. By looking through the code, you can see that its actually launching xterm inside of this window (due to some flag @ xterm that you can do). Therefore, if you want to compare ldds, you have to include xterm as well, as that IS loaded for this to work at all.
Code:

~/downloads/yeahconsole-0.3.1 $ ldd ./yeahconsole                         
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xa7ef4000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xa7dde000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xa7dda000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xa7fd5000)

~/downloads/yeahconsole-0.3.1 $ ldd `which xterm`             
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libXft.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXft.so.2 (0xa7f48000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xa7e7d000)
        libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xa7e0e000)
        libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xa7de7000)
        libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xa7ddf000)
        libXaw.so.8 => /usr/lib/libXaw.so.8 (0xa7d84000)
        libXmu.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXmu.so.6 (0xa7d6f000)
        libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xa7d60000)
        libXt.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXt.so.6 (0xa7d0f000)
        libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0xa7d06000)
        libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0xa7cee000)
        libutempter.so.0 => /usr/lib/libutempter.so.0 (0xa7cec000)
        libncurses.so.5 => /lib/libncurses.so.5 (0xa7cab000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xa7b95000)
        libexpat.so.0 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.0 (0xa7b76000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xa7b72000)
        libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xa7b62000)
        libXpm.so.4 => /usr/lib/libXpm.so.4 (0xa7b53000)
        libXp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXp.so.6 (0xa7b4b000)
        libgpm.so.1 => /lib/libgpm.so.1 (0xa7b44000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xa7f71000)


Not quite the same "blowaway" comparison.
_________________
Nitrogen - GtkMM based background setter/restorer, please test!
Minuslab | d.minuslab.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
machinelou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there anyway to get rid of the animation entirely? It causes a bit of a slowdown if mplayer or xine is playing. Just wondering. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parasietje
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try tilda-0.7 instead of the tilda-0.2 now in portage and post my experiences here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InfinityX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

machinelou wrote:
is there anyway to get rid of the animation entirely? It causes a bit of a slowdown if mplayer or xine is playing. Just wondering. Thanks


Give this patch a try, I changed it so the window would slide in instantly if you set the anidelay option to 0, and also made it possible to have the console run a command (I used screen with a custom screenrc to start some common apps for example):

http://www.robotdeathmonkey.com/files/yeahconsole_patch

I can't seem to compile yeahconsole though, with or without the patch, so no guarantees.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That patch works nicely.

I have this thought of hacking it up to occupy exactly one quadrant of the screen and being able to switch instantly from quadrant to quadrant and zoom to full screen and hide it, using numerous hotkeys.

It will probably be awhile until I get around to that, though : )
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morbus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 139
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting the following error when trying to compile yeahconsole (using the ebuild):
Code:

(snip)
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating config.h
config.status: executing default-1 commands
i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.     -I -c yeahconsole.c
cp: cannot stat `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
/bin/sh: .deps/yeahconsole.pp: No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
make: [yeahconsole.o] Error 1 (ignored)
i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc  -I -L -lX11 -o yeahconsole  yeahconsole.o
cd . && autoheader
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: x11-terms/yeahconsole-0.3.1
(snip)


what bugs me even more is, that the ebuild doesn't die, although there are || die lines in the ebuild. does anybody know how to fix it?

thanks,
morbus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slarti`
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

madspida wrote:
The previous ebuild didn't work for me so I hacked it to make it work, and it did. Here goes:

Code:
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

inherit eutils
DESCRIPTION="Puts an xterm window on top of your screen that behaves like the console found in many games (similar to kuake). Its visibility can be toggled by a keyboard shortcut. This is a sample skeleton ebuild file"
HOMEPAGE="http://freshmeat.net/projects/yeahconsole"
SRC_URI="http://freshmeat.net/redir/yeahconsole/54521/url_tgz/${P}.tar.gz"
LICENSE="GPL"

SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~x86 ~amd64"
IUSE=""
DEPEND=""
#RDEPEND=""

S=${WORKDIR}/${P}

src_compile() {
        $S/autogen.sh || die "autogen failed"
        econf || die "econf failed"
        emake || die "emake failed"
}

src_install() {
        make DESTDIR=${D} install || die
}


I know it's not bugzilla, but just a few constructive criticisms:
  • Why inherit eutils if you're not using any of those functions?
  • $DESCRIPTION is kinda long, and you can get rid of that simple skeleton ebuild bit at the end
  • $HOMEPAGE should be http://phrat.de/yeahtools.html
  • $DEPEND should contain virtual/x11 at least.
  • S=${WORKDIR}/${P} is the default -- you shouldn't redefine S unless it's not ${WORKDIR}/${P} (e.g., you're using MY_P or similar)
  • '$S/autogen.sh || die "autogen failed"' is odd -- the default src_unpack should put you in $S anyway, so ./autogen.sh should be fine
  • Well done for using make DESTDIR=${D} install, people often slip up and use einstall.

Happy ebuilding. :)
_________________
Gentoo/AMD64, shell-tools, net-mail, vim, recruiters
IRC: slarti @ irc.freenode.net
Devspace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
citizen428
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 317
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For all the people wanting an ebuild: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2792403.html#2792403

Fixes everything slarti` pointed out and automatically applies the patch by InsanityX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

morbus wrote:
I'm getting the following error when trying to compile yeahconsole (using the ebuild):
Code:

cp: cannot stat `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
/bin/sh: .deps/yeahconsole.pp: No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `.deps/yeahconsole.pp': No such file or directory
make: [yeahconsole.o] Error 1 (ignored)
(deleted by me ;)

what bugs me even more is, that the ebuild doesn't die, although there are || die lines in the ebuild. does anybody know how to fix it?
thanks,
morbus

the way i fixed it isn't maby the prettiest one but IT JUST WORKS (TM) :)
in the directory when you have your source unpacked
go into the subdir .deps
and copy the file yeahconsole.P into yeahconsole.pp
(yeah i know it's empty and has size of 0)

Code:

cp yeahconsole.P yeahconsole.pp


and then ./configure make and make install
Code:

./configure
make
make install

enjoy :)
greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have anyone made yeahconsole to run screen automatically ?
what i mean is to put yeahconsole into .xinitrc and when my xfce4 starts to have yeahconsole already running with a screen session inside,
i have tried the xterm-like manner with
Code:
yeahconsole -e screen

or with
Code:
SHELL=screen
yeahconsole

and with && and with || (senseless but u can always try :) )
and some other manners but NONE of it works
maby someone managed to do so
i'd be grateful for any advice
greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InfinityX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

psycepa wrote:
Have anyone made yeahconsole to run screen automatically ?
what i mean is to put yeahconsole into .xinitrc and when my xfce4 starts to have yeahconsole already running with a screen session inside,
i have tried the xterm-like manner with
Code:
yeahconsole -e screen

or with
Code:
SHELL=screen
yeahconsole

and with && and with || (senseless but u can always try :) )
and some other manners but NONE of it works
maby someone managed to do so
i'd be grateful for any advice
greetz


That's part of what my patch does, I would run
Code:
yeahconsole "screen -c .screenrc.console -d -RR console"

in my .xsession with .screenrc.console containing:
Code:
deflogin off
vbell off

termcapinfo rxvt-unicode 'hs:ts=\E]2;:fs=\007:ds=\E]2;screen\007'

screen -t tail sudo tail -f /var/log/messages /var/log/apache2/access_log
screen -t processes htop
screen -t email mutt
screen -t music ncmpc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
thanx for your reply
it's a huge thing that little yeahconsole plus your patch plus those tiny things :wink:
now it works how it should work from the beginning
once again thanxAlot :)
greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irbaboon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Two friends of me and I wrote a patch so that you can specify the size in pixels the window is moved around. This has two advantages .. first yeaconsole can pop down much faster, second a bigger stepsize reduces cpu load beaus the window isn't moved so often .. (increase aniDelay to slow it down again)

Default value is 1 (as before) use ~/.Xdefaults to specify:
Code:
yeahconsole*stepSize:10

This will move the window in 10pixel steps ...


http://irbaboon.ath.cx/stepsize-yeahconsole-0.3.1.patch.bz2

bunzip then cd /path/to/yeahconsole
patch -p0 < /path/to/patch
make clean && make && make install

*Greetz * and *Hf*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irbaboon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some updates ...

have a look at http://irbaboon.ath.cx/dev/yeahconsole/

there you`ll find :
Code:

InfinityX-yeahconsole-0.3.1.patch.bz2   <-- is InfinityX patch ..
stepsize-InfinityX-yeahconsole-0.3.1.patch.bz2   <-- a patch to the original 0.3.1 sources to apply his and my patch
stepsize-yeahconsole-0.3.1-InfinityX.patch.bz2  <-- if you have the original 0.3.1 plus IfinityX patch and u want mine too take this
stepsize-yeahconsole-0.3.1.patch.bz2 <-- my patch to original 0.3.1
yeahconsole-0.3.1-stepsize-InfinityX.tar.gz <-- full sources with both patches
yeahconsole-0.3.1.tar.gz <-- original sources


Now to the behaviour ... (applies for yeahconsole with both patches)

if aniDelay is 0 yeahconsole will immediatly pop down .. regardless of stepsize
if aniDelay is above 0 you can use stepsize and aniDelay to set the popdown speed -- notice high stepsize and high anidelay will produce lower cpu usage than low stepsize and low anidelay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phranzee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 397
Location: katowice/pl

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeahconsole doesn't work with xorg 7.0
Code:
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.     -I -c yeahconsole.c
/tmp/ccoK4AqD.o: In function `main':
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x2f): undefined reference to `XOpenDisplay'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x49): undefined reference to `XDisplayName'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0xa6): undefined reference to `XSetErrorHandler'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0xbb): undefined reference to `XCreateFontCursor'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0xf1): undefined reference to `XNextEvent'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x130): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x16a): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x18f): undefined reference to `XKeycodeToKeysym'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x1d6): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x1fe): undefined reference to `XSync'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x21a): undefined reference to `XRaiseWindow'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x237): undefined reference to `XGetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x25e): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x309): undefined reference to `XResizeWindow'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x33e): undefined reference to `XResizeWindow'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x38b): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x3a0): undefined reference to `XSync'
...

_________________
signature fault
post dumped ;]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phranzee wrote:
yeahconsole doesn't work with xorg 7.0
Code:
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.     -I -c yeahconsole.c
/tmp/ccoK4AqD.o: In function `main':
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x2f): undefined reference to `XOpenDisplay'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x49): undefined reference to `XDisplayName'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0xa6): undefined reference to `XSetErrorHandler'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0xbb): undefined reference to `XCreateFontCursor'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0xf1): undefined reference to `XNextEvent'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x130): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x16a): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x18f): undefined reference to `XKeycodeToKeysym'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x1d6): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x1fe): undefined reference to `XSync'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x21a): undefined reference to `XRaiseWindow'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x237): undefined reference to `XGetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x25e): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x309): undefined reference to `XResizeWindow'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x33e): undefined reference to `XResizeWindow'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x38b): undefined reference to `XSetInputFocus'
yeahconsole.c:(.text+0x3a0): undefined reference to `XSync'
...


xorg7.0 and yeahconsole works perfectly...
i have found somewhere that if such error occur it is enouth to change -L option to gcc but dunno if it is the case...
greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdfg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

N/A

Last edited by sdfg on Fri May 26, 2006 6:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have installed version 0.3.1 and generally it works
problem occurs when i want to launch screen inside it and several apps like mc irssi and ydpdict
yeahconsole launches but instead of nice CLI of mc i got a big rectangle of a 'foreground' color which I set in the .Xdefaults
when i launch yeahconsole maunally i receive an error:
Code:

yeahconsole: Cannot allocate color  ;Gu D$ G1 T


same happens if launchnig xterm
i have searched the web and the only resonable solution given was to include/exclude path to rgb file in xorg.conf
no luck

the instruction with i am launching yeahconsole with is:

Code:

yeahconsole "screen -c /home/przyczepa/.screenrc.console -d -D -RR -R -T uxterm"


or

Code:

yeahconsole "screen -c /home/przyczepa/.screenrc.console -d -D -RR -R -T urxvt"


the .screenrc.console file
Code:

deflogin off
defutf8 on
vbell off
termcap info urxvt 'hs:ts=\E]2;:fs=\007:ds=\E]2;screen\007'
screen -R -t -X mc mc
screen -R -t -X irssi -c irc.freenode.net


with this configuration yeahconsole launches and I can see CLI but
again
instead of different colors in mc or different themes of irssi I have everything in one color which is set in .Xdefaults like this:

Code:

(...)
XTerm*foreground: red
(...)


i don't understand why configuration lines relative to xterm work if i set in config that i want urxvt in yeahconsole instead of xterm
any idea how to fix it ?
how to make yeahconsole use urxvt with several different colors depending on application and not on global user settings ?
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@psycepa: try yeahconsole-0.3.4, it has inbuilt support for urxvt, and also multiple yeahconsoles (of course you have to assign a different keybinding to each).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
@psycepa: try yeahconsole-0.3.4, it has inbuilt support for urxvt, and also multiple yeahconsoles (of course you have to assign a different keybinding to each).

thx for your advice
i have installed version from https://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=83617 and now it works like a charm, even yahcosole -h shows what can be done with it :)
and now i have pixmap as a background in my yeahconsole
tilda! go away! :P
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
|cub|
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 59
Location: UA

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just saw this thread:)
/me uses taviso's AutoHide Console in fvwm.
Same thing and no need to install something new :)
_________________
sorry for my english
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum