Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on Medion MD 95400
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:19 am    Post subject: Gentoo on Medion MD 95400 Reply with quote

Hi all,
I've just bought a new shiny laptop and almost finished to install Gentoo on it.

I'm a bit too lazy to write a _real_ "how to setup Gentoo on it" so I decided to explain what works, what doesn't, answer if someone ask me something and, if there is a lot of questions, a lot of answers, make this in a _real_ how to.

The beast :
Intel Centrino 1,7 Ghz (2MB cache level 2)
100 GB Seagate ST9100823A
DVD-DL writer
15.4" tft (max res 1200x800)
Ati radeon 9600 (identified as RV 350)
Ati remote receiver (X10)
Ethernet Broadcom Corporation BCM4401 100Base-T

Wireless extention PRO/Wireless 2200BG
Bluetooth extention
modem
irda
Soundcard (intel i8x0)
Synaptic touchpad
1 DVI Output
Tv Output
1 PCMCIA/CardBus port
4 USB2
1 mini FireWire
Card readers
Cardbus TV Tuner

What Works ?
Lots of things ! :D
Cpu freq scaling (600Mhz, 800Mhz, 1Ghz, 1.2Ghz, 1.4Ghz, 1.7Ghz)
Hd works in mode udma5 (35 MB/s), his temp is avaible via hddtemp
dvd read works (not yet tried the writing)
screen works with the good res (1200x800) in console and in xorg
Radeon card works with the fb driver (for the console), radeon or fglrx for xorg
Note : I've about 2000 fps with flgrx driver but I don't use it because, when I switch to console, it kill xorg almost each time, and when it doesn't kill it when I come back to X, the screen is scramble and I've to kill it manualy.
The remote works with his kernel driver (and emulate a keyboard ati_remote) or with lirc (lirc_atiusb)
I use the lirc because I found annoying that the kernel driver send already used keys (e,p, enter, ...)
The ethernet card works with the b44 driver
Wireless work with the packages ipw2200 and ipw2200-firmware
Bluetooth (bluetooth, hci_usb modules)
Soundcard (snd_intel8x0), tried to hear several sound at once, succed with alsa apps, failed with oss apps
Synaptic (emerge synaptics)
The compaq flash reader works with the ide-cs module ( Device Drivers >ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support >PCMCIA IDE support)

What doesn't (yet :-( )
Cardbus TV/DVT/Radio Tuner (recognized, module saa7134 loaded, tried lots of option for the tuner but I was unable to get any channel)


Not tested
modem
DVI Output
TV Output
Irda
firewire
cardreader (all but the compaq flash)

I can post some extracts of conf files for the people who want something, just ask it. I'd like not to post complete file here because, some are _realy_ long and I prefer put a link but I have'n any place to put the files :-(. If someone got place where I can put it and link here, tell me.

I work with a ~x86 arch and all but the bootstrap is compiled with march=pentium-m (plus other c flags)

This post is mine but also yours : I will fill it with the time, but I know there will be things I don't know (see: what does'nt work) if you have the answer, drop a line about it.

Hope this will help (not at the moment but in a near future), remember, I WILL answer if know a solution about any prob you can have with this laptop (and some day, transform this post in a real structured page)

Nicolas


Last edited by potens on Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:41 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koenpje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

I have some questions ;)

I also have an X10 remote control from a medion computer. Is yours IR or RF??

I installed lirc, but I don't know what to do now.. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi !
My remote is a RF one.

You have the choice to use the module inthe kernel
Device Drivers -> USB support -> ATI / X10 USB RF remote control

I advice you to compile it as a module (so you can use this one and, when you want, switch to the lirc one)

If you want the lirc module, add this line in your make.conf:
LIRC_OPTS="--with-driver=atiusb"

and emerge lirc

Warning ! : you have to re-emerge lirc each times you change your kernel.

If you choose the lirc one and you have the kernel one too, you have the unload the kernel one before using the lirc module.
here is my lirc.conf :

<snip>

begin remote

name medion_remote
bits 40
eps 30
aeps 100

one 0 0
zero 0 0
gap 219974
toggle_bit 0


begin codes
power 0x00000014D7020000
tv 0x0000001481AC0000
video 0x00000014022D0000
cd 0x0000001459840000
txt 0x00000014EB160000
book 0x0000001486B10000
audio 0x00000014DB060000
radio 0x0000001483AE0000
photo 0x00000014DA050000
info 0x0000001484AF0000
menu 0x00000014EE190000
back 0x0000001475A00000
left 0x00000014F21D0000
right 0x00000014749F0000
up 0x000000144D780000
down 0x00000014C5F00000
enter 0x00000014F31E0000
vol_up 0x000000145E890000
vol_down 0x00000014DD080000
mute 0x0000001455800000
prg_up 0x00000014E00B0000
prg_down 0x00000014618C0000
loop 0x00000014F11C0000
audio 0x0000001487B20000
sub 0x0000001408330000
angle 0x0000001489B40000
title 0x000000140A350000
stop 0x000000147DA80000
pause 0x00000014FE290000
play 0x000000147AA50000
skip_back 0x00000014F6210000
screenshot 0x000000146D980000
skip_forw 0x00000014F8230000
fback 0x0000001479A40000
record 0x00000014FC270000
fforw 0x000000147BA60000
1 0x00000014E20D0000
2 0x00000014638E0000
3 0x00000014E40F0000
4 0x0000001465900000
5 0x00000014E6110000
6 0x0000001467920000
7 0x00000014E8130000
8 0x0000001469940000
9 0x00000014EA150000
0 0x000000146C970000
end codes

end remote


</snip>

after that, you have to write a .lircrc file in your $HOME and write section for you apps
here is an example:

<snip>
begin
prog = irexec
button = power
config = xmms&
mode = xmms
flags = once
end

begin xmms
begin
prog = xmms
button = play
config = PLAY
end
begin
prog = xmms
button = clear
config = PLAYLIST_CLEAR
end
begin
prog = xmms
button = load
config = PLAYLIST_ADD .xmms/xmms.m3u
end
begin
prog = xmms
button = pause
config = PAUSE
end
begin
prog = xmms
button = stop
config = STOP
end
end xmms
</snip>

see your apps and lirc doc for more info about that.

Hope this help you !
If it's unclear, just tell it to me, I'll try to get it better.

Nicolas.

PS: There is something wrong with this remote and those modules :
If you have a real ati remote or if someone close to you has got one or a medion one,
it will be used by your computer (don't know how to set a code with this one)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cato`
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 430
Location: Norway, Trondheim

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could post this to www.gentoo-wiki.com
_________________
Don't mess with the Penguin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koenpje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx for the info. I also have a RF one, but when I was searching on the net I saw a couple of times that lirc only handles with IR remote controls.

Wich module did you use? The lirc one or the "Device Drivers -> USB support -> ATI / X10 USB RF remote control" one?

I'm sorry for asking but I never compiled a module :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cato` -> I'll do it in a few days

Koenpje-> I use the lirc one, change your make.conf, load the lirc_atiusb module (modprobe lirc_atiusb)

Good luck !
Nic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koenpje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Potens wrote:
hange your make.conf, load the lirc_atiusb module (modprobe lirc_atiusb)


Do you mean /etc/make.conf? "lirc" is already in the USE flag.

When I type "modprobe lirc_atiusb" I get: FATAL: Module lirc_atiusb not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cato`
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 430
Location: Norway, Trondheim

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Koenpje wrote:
Potens wrote:
hange your make.conf, load the lirc_atiusb module (modprobe lirc_atiusb)


Do you mean /etc/make.conf? "lirc" is already in the USE flag.

When I type "modprobe lirc_atiusb" I get: FATAL: Module lirc_atiusb not found

You have to do what potens tells you to do

Quote:

You have the choice to use the module inthe kernel
Device Drivers -> USB support -> ATI / X10 USB RF remote control

I advice you to compile it as a module (so you can use this one and, when you want, switch to the lirc one)

If you want the lirc module, add this line in your make.conf:
LIRC_OPTS="--with-driver=atiusb"

and emerge lirc


That is, make a new line with "LIRC_OPTS="--with-driver=atiusb""
_________________
Don't mess with the Penguin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koenpje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've added the line to make.conf en emerged lirc again. But I still can't modprobe lirc_atiusb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cato`
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 430
Location: Norway, Trondheim

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the ATI / X10 USB RF remote control module in your kernel?
_________________
Don't mess with the Penguin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koenpje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cato` wrote:
Do you have the ATI / X10 USB RF remote control module in your kernel?


I don't think so.. How do I see this? /etc/modules.d ? He doesn't stand there. But I need the standard Lirc module, not the ATi / X10 modules, because then he doesn't work with MythTV someone told me. But he doesn't uses Gentoo so he can't help me further..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to see if you have the kernel module loaded :
lsmod | grep ati_remote
if not, maybe it's hard compiled in your kernel, look in your dmesg for it.

I don't want to be rude with you, but I think we are very off-topic with your problem, maybe you should have a look at
http://www.digitalhermit.com/linux/Kernel-Build-HOWTO.html because it's a problem of modules, not this laptop specific.
Another problem you can get is maybe the sources in your /usr/src/linux are NOT the sources of the kernel you use
make an "uname -a" to verify this. If it's the case, just correct your symlink to point to the right sources (or compile a new kernel)
and then emerge lirc again.

Hope this will solve your problem.

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nojan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same machine and installed Gentoo on it while I was on the plane to Australia (well, I did most of it during my nine h stopover in Singapore, hehe). Works like a charm. :) Well, almost.
The thing I can't get to work is the touchpad. I emerged synaptics, I see the pad on /dev/input/mouse0 resp. /dev/input/mice but the driver tells me it can't find any synaptics touchpad.

Could you elaborate a bit on how exactly you got that working (kernel options, driver, xorg.conf)?

Another thing is the headphone jack output. While the microphone works, the headphones don't. I tried unmute everything but no avail. :(

Thanks

Nojan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disident
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi thanks for the help
i have the same medion, i have followed your instruction, but i have problems when i try
Code:
karl root # lircmd
lircmd 0.7.0: could not connect to socket
lircmd 0.7.0: Connection refused


but when i try
Code:
od /dev/lircm
I can see some events

if you can help me :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry for this long silence.

disident => I'm sorry, I don't use lircmd because I don't think this remote is usable as a mouse (because lircmd is just for that, I think)
I only use /etc//init.d/lircd start
maybe you should try with /etc/init.d/lircmd start

Nojan=>
In the kernel, you must set
Input device support
=>Event interface (module for me)
=>Mice => PS/2 mouse


In xorg :
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "LeftEdge" "1700"
Option "RightEdge" "5300"
Option "TopEdge" "1700"
Option "BottomEdge" "4200"
Option "FingerLow" "25"
Option "FingerHigh" "30"
Option "MaxTapTime" "180"
Option "MaxTapMove" "220"
Option "VertScrollDelta" "100"
Option "MinSpeed" "0.09"
Option "MaxSpeed" "0.18"
Option "AccelFactor" "0.0015"
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
# Option "Repeater" "/dev/ps2mouse"
EndSection

With this config, up/down does wheel up/down and left/right does prev/next

For the jack, the black one is the spk-out, not the blue one

Hope this helps !
Nic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nojan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Potens,

thx man! I actually had got it working (RTFM helps) :)
But that hint with the jack! I spent half a bloody day trying all kinds of weird shit w/o any result. How could I succeed though, with using the wrong jack all the time. :)

If anyone has any success getting the SD card reader to work, let me know. The CF card reader seams to work. I just don't have a CF to test these days.

Cheers,

Nojan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pleased it helps you.

If you succeed in reading cf cards, write a word because I don't think it works (but haven't any card here) because I'm unable to see any ref to the reader in lspci, dmesg, and so on.

Nic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: The compaq flash reader works with the ide-cs module (if it works with other types of flash, let me know and drop a line)
Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

update about the ipw2200 drivers: now it works with the last version (1.0.3 at this time)
Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahessling
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you able to switch the laptop into "Suspend-to-RAM" using echo 3 > /proc/acpi/sleep?
My laptop goes to sleep mode, but after I wake it up, the screen stays black and Linux seems to hang.
Although Suspend-to-Disk is working quite fine.

Tried using kernels from 2.6.10 to 2.6.12-rc2-mm3.
The latter one just reboots after wake up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potens
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Belgium, world's asshole

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I get the same probs as yours :-(
I'm not sure that the system wakes up....

Did you use some tricks to get the suspend to disk ? Did you have probs ? swsupend or swsuspend2 ?

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahessling
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I had problems with the b44 driver for the LAN adapter on board.
After resume either the kernel panics (if b44 is in kernel) or the modules keeps saying "poll already scheduled" and crashes the system.
But after some googling, I found a person who had the same problem and added acpi=noirq to my kernel command line and now it works.

To do suspend to disk, I do "echo 4 > /proc/acpi/sleep". Not sure about swsuspend/2.
But there is one caveat: You have to pass resume=/dev/hdx to your kernel command line, where x is your swap partition.
Otherwise the kernel won't be able to find the memory image and will boot the system without resuming.

EDIT:
That works better:
Forget about acpi=noirq, if this is passed, the wlan module doesn't work.
Before suspending, rmmod b44 and then suspend.
After resuming, you can safely modprobe b44 again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum