Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dell Inspiron 6000
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 31, 32, 33  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 6:49 am    Post subject: Re: Inspiron 6000 blank screen on lid open Reply with quote

garris0n wrote:
I don't see anything in the laptop_mode and laptop-mode.conf man pages about it. Even if there was, it's nothing more than a workaround- a fix would seem to require an ACPI kernel patch. It wouldn't be the first vendor-specific kernel option. Aesthetics aside, I'm quite happy not to have to do the Ctl+Alt+Fx finger dance anymore.

This is frightening 8O . Would mean, if I understand correctly, fixing the DSDT?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garris0n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 61
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 1:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Inspiron 6000 blank screen on lid open Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
This is frightening 8O . Would mean, if I understand correctly, fixing the DSDT?


I'm not certain, there is nothing at acpi4linux for the Inspiron 6000.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Inspiron 6000 blank screen on lid open Reply with quote

garris0n wrote:
I'm not certain, there is nothing at acpi4linux for the Inspiron 6000.

So just a kernel patch would be enough... It's becoming a lot of things to wait for: full i915 support, ACPI... :(
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garris0n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 61
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Inspiron 6000 blank screen on lid open Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
So just a kernel patch would be enough... It's becoming a lot of things to wait for: full i915 support, ACPI... :(

I'm a bit more optimistic: the 2.6.11 kernel supports the 915 chipset, the 915GM graphics chip will supposedly be supported in the next x.org release, and aside from the lid bug ACPI works fine; I have laptop-mode-tools and cpufreq working and soon I'll even take a stab at suspend-to-disk. Compared to my last laptop, this is a dream come true.

Linux on laptops has come a long way. (or maybe I'm just getting old)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancealtar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:58 pm    Post subject: RE: Problems with SATA cdrw/dvd & problems with DRI/DRM Reply with quote

Okay, I'm posting because it took me a very long time to find the answers to these questions.
#1) I was having problems because my CDRW/DVD-ROM would not allow me to hdparm -d 1 /dev/hdc
I was getting this error
Code:
/dev/hdc:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

So after a very long time searching a friend help me find https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-270763-highlight-sata+cdrom.html.
What I did was make sure that Device Drivers ---> ATA/ATAP/MFM/RLL support ---> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL is NOT Selected
I don't have any PATA so why have it? then you have to do this
Code:
in /usr/src/linux/include/linux/libata.h change
#undef ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */
to
#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */

Then do your make && make modules_install && make install
Make sure /boot is mounted (duh). Or use your genkernel, whatever you like.
Reboot and you shouldn't have any problem with your cdrom showing up as a SCSI device. You might have to change your /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 to point to /dev/sr0 but that's minimal.

#2) I have the ATi X300 and it was a pain to try to find out what needs to be done in order to get DRI/DRM working. Finally with a little googling I found
a document that stated that in order to get fglrx to load and functional you need to have agpgart and intel_agp loaded first. So what I did was this
Code:
Device Drivers ---> Character device ---> <M> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
Device Drivers ---> Character device ---> <M> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) ---> <M> Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support

make && make modules_install
modules-update

# echo "agpgart" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
# echo "intel_agp" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
# echo "fglrx" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6

After a nice reboot everything seemed to work just fine. I hope this helps some people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexCPU
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Dell Inspiron 6000 Reply with quote

Sejam wrote:
Audio
Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller

I use also and I just had this in my config and it worked perfectly:
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y


Does this support hardware mixing (e.g. playing with xmms and mplayer at same time) or do you still have to use some sort of software mixer (e.g. dmix)?

Thanks Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancealtar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Dell Inspiron 6000 Reply with quote

AlexCPU wrote:
Sejam wrote:
Audio
Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller

I use also and I just had this in my config and it worked perfectly:
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y


Does this support hardware mixing (e.g. playing with xmms and mplayer at same time) or do you still have to use some sort of software mixer (e.g. dmix)?

Thanks Alex


This is just a driver, you'll need to install media-sound/alsa-utils
Code:
# emerge media-sound/alsa-utils
# rc-update add alsasound default


for your mixer to work properly and to unmute your card. The rc-update will make it so you don't have to unmute your card every reboot and it will save your last state of the cards volumes, etc.

Hope this helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexCPU
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That wasn't quite what I was looking for the answer to. I'll try and clarify.

Does the hardware (and driver's given above) have the ability to play multiple sources at once, as in play audio from more that one program at a time without using a software mixer such as dmix or arts (which allow the cpu to mix the audio streams rather than the sound card)?

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancealtar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AlexCPU wrote:
That wasn't quite what I was looking for the answer to. I'll try and clarify.

Does the hardware (and driver's given above) have the ability to play multiple sources at once, as in play audio from more that one program at a time without using a software mixer such as dmix or arts (which allow the cpu to mix the audio streams rather than the sound card)?

Alex


I just tried playing an mp3 with xmms and another with mplayer and it doesn't seem to like it. Guess the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:14 am    Post subject: Re: Dell Inspiron 6000 Reply with quote

AlexCPU wrote:
Sejam wrote:
Audio
Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller

I use also and I just had this in my config and it worked perfectly:
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y


Does this support hardware mixing (e.g. playing with xmms and mplayer at same time) or do you still have to use some sort of software mixer (e.g. dmix)?

Thanks Alex


No, you will need a Sound-Deamon like ESD oder ARTS.
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:34 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Problems with SATA cdrw/dvd & problems with DRI/ Reply with quote

lancealtar wrote:
You might have to change your /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 to point to /dev/sr0 but that's minimal.

How do you do that with UDEV?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancealtar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 4:10 am    Post subject: Re: RE: Problems with SATA cdrw/dvd & problems with DRI/ Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
lancealtar wrote:
You might have to change your /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 to point to /dev/sr0 but that's minimal.

How do you do that with UDEV?

Code:
# ln -sf /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /dev/sr0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a symlink? I recall with devfs you had to tune devfsd.conf to create shortcuts that survived reboot. Are symlinks allowed now with udev?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sejam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 10:06 am    Post subject: Re: RE: Problems with SATA cdrw/dvd & problems with DRI/ Reply with quote

lancealtar wrote:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-270763-highlight-sata+cdrom.html.
What I did was make sure that Device Drivers ---> ATA/ATAP/MFM/RLL support ---> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL is NOT Selected
I don't have any PATA so why have it? then you have to do this
Code:
in /usr/src/linux/include/linux/libata.h change
#undef ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */
to
#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */

Then do your make && make modules_install && make install


Let me just say, THANKS A LOT. I've been looking for this fix for a long time (actually, I read your post a while ago, but have been so busy that I haven't been able to try it now). I've confirmed that it does work perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancealtar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
Just a symlink? I recall with devfs you had to tune devfsd.conf to create shortcuts that survived reboot. Are symlinks allowed now with udev?

All you're doing is updating the symlinks created that udev created the first time you booted. Since /dev/hdc is no longer relevant you're just updating your /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 to the correct device /dev/sr0. Oh yes, and udev is pretty good about remembering what is done to the system devices, so you shouldn't have a problem after rebooting; at least I've never had a problem after updating the symlinks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PolarXL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 3:36 am    Post subject: Getting the touchpad to work. Reply with quote

I'm attempting to get my touchpad fully functional, but after copying others' xorg.conf mouse info, all I've managed to do is tweak my mouse movement acceleration.

My goal is to get a fully functional touchpad - vertical and horizontal scrolling, single/double click tapping, 3rd button tapping (if possible)...

If any of you have this working, could you either post your xorg.conf, or tell me where mine's gone wrong?

Here's what I have.

(Also, I have
Load "synaptics"
in my Module section.

Code:


Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

        Identifier  "Mouse1"
        Option      "Device"     "/dev/input/mice"
        Driver      "synaptics"
        Option       "Protocol"   "auto-dev"
   
     Option "MaxTapTime"  "180"
     Option "MaxTapMove"  "110"
     Option "EmulateMidButtonTime" "75"
     Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
     Option "HorizScrollDelta" "20"
     Option "MinSpeed"  "0.3"
     Option "MaxSpeed"  "0.75"
     Option "AccelFactor"  "0.015"
     Option "EdgeMotionMinSpeed" "200"
     Option "EdgeMotionMaxSpeed" "200"
     Option "UpDownScrolling"       "1"
     Option "LeftRightScrolling"   "1"
   

# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

#    Option "Protocol"   "Xqueue"

# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.

#    Option "BaudRate"   "9600"
#    Option "SampleRate" "150"

# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

#    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

#    Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:51 am    Post subject: Re: Getting the touchpad to work. Reply with quote

PolarXL wrote:
I'm attempting to get my touchpad fully functional, but after copying others' xorg.conf mouse info, all I've managed to do is tweak my mouse movement acceleration.

My goal is to get a fully functional touchpad - vertical and horizontal scrolling, single/double click tapping, 3rd button tapping (if possible)...

If any of you have this working, could you either post your xorg.conf, or tell me where mine's gone wrong?

If you look at Xorg.0.log you'll probably see an error message like (I give it from from memory)
Code:
Failed to load module synatics: no synaptics device found

This is what I have. That's what you probably have too. This is one of my next points in the list...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:06 am    Post subject: Re: RE: Problems with SATA cdrw/dvd & problems with DRI/ Reply with quote

Sejam wrote:
lancealtar wrote:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-270763-highlight-sata+cdrom.html.
What I did was make sure that Device Drivers ---> ATA/ATAP/MFM/RLL support ---> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL is NOT Selected
I don't have any PATA so why have it? then you have to do this
Code:
in /usr/src/linux/include/linux/libata.h change
#undef ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */
to
#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */

Then do your make && make modules_install && make install


Let me just say, THANKS A LOT. I've been looking for this fix for a long time (actually, I read your post a while ago, but have been so busy that I haven't been able to try it now). I've confirmed that it does work perfectly.

And good news this too works with Gentoo Sources 2.6.11-r7. With previous release (2.6.11-r6) it didn't.

<relief/>
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dschaus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 14
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I've been reading here quite a while and now I finally found the time to register and write maybe a few hints

First of all I'd like to thank lancealtar for his great hint on the DVD-Drive, maybe it's worth to add the note, that you need to have SCSI-CDRom-Support activated in the kernel. This was a five-minute-problem for me, because I was wondering, why there was no /dev/sr0 device. After including support everything worked just fine, so thanks lot !

Next @VinzC: Maybe you should have a look here:
http://wiki.splitbrain.org/lifebook-2.6
especially at the event-interface and mknod-part. I had the same problem with the touchpad not being recognized, after adding the nodes there was no problem at all. The only thing that didn't work after that was an USB-mouse, but that was due to my wrong xorg-configuration, but I had no time to fix it yet, so I can't supply you all with a working xorg.conf yet. When I find the time (and got it all to work, too), I'll do that of course. Also I had no udev running at that time, so I cannot tell you if there is any problem.

I also still have a question: Is there any tool for gentoo for undervolting the cpu ? For Windows (yes sorry, it's still on there ;)) I use
http://www.computerbase.de/downloads/software/systemprogramme/centrino_hardware_control/
explanation here, but you need the beta-version from above because of the sonoma-chipset in the Inspiron 6000
http://www.pbus-167.com/chc.htm
and achieved quite alot of battery savings, so it would really be nice to have something like that for linux, because even with cpufreq it takes up much more power (more than an hour of battery runtime) there than under windows.

So, I think that's it for now, maybe it already helped someone and maybe anyone also has an answer to my question.
CU
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dschaus wrote:
Next @VinzC: Maybe you should have a look here:
http://wiki.splitbrain.org/lifebook-2.6
especially at the event-interface and mknod-part. I had the same problem with the touchpad not being recognized, after adding the nodes there was no problem at all. The only thing that didn't work after that was an USB-mouse, but that was due to my wrong xorg-configuration, but I had no time to fix it yet, so I can't supply you all with a working xorg.conf yet. When I find the time (and got it all to work, too), I'll do that of course. Also I had no udev running at that time, so I cannot tell you if there is any problem.

Thanks a lot, Dave. I'll try ASAP :) This is exactly what I was looking for. The remaining major item is getting the i915 chip working in non VESA mode in Xorg. I'm waiting for Xorg 6.9 or whatever is coming next.

Thanks again.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dschaus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 14
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

np, always trying to help ppl ;)

But I cannot help you with the i915 chipset, I have an ATI X300 in my Notebook, which is not making too much trouble though I cannot set VesaFB to WSXGA+ Resolutions in the console, but WXGA is sufficient there. In Xorg everything is working quite fine (though I had to do one thing which I still do not like, but this might be because I have not installed gentoo freshly, but copied (rsync -avd 'ed that is) the whole install from my Pentium4-Machine, I had to add "xhost +" in a file from a kdm (can't remember which one) so that this is done before kdm is started, otherwise I wasn't always able to login, the xserver just restarted after having typed in user/password, sometimes I could login though, but after restarting the xserver/logging out, it didn't work. For me this is not really a big problem as I have a firewall running here, and usually do not connect to unsecure networks, so nobody should be able to access my Xserver remotely... I hope ;))

So good luck with your Card / Touchpad !
CU
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seppelrockt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would be nice if anybody could post an updated kernel .config (for GM915, not x300 if possible). I exspecially wonder whether I need pcie enabled in .config ...

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dschaus wrote:
Next @VinzC: Maybe you should have a look here:
http://wiki.splitbrain.org/lifebook-2.6
especially at the event-interface and mknod-part. I had the same problem with the touchpad not being recognized, after adding the nodes there was no problem at all. The only thing that didn't work after that was an USB-mouse, but that was due to my wrong xorg-configuration, but I had no time to fix it yet, so I can't supply you all with a working xorg.conf yet. When I find the time (and got it all to work, too), I'll do that of course. Also I had no udev running at that time, so I cannot tell you if there is any problem.

It's weird: if I check the Event interface support in my kernel config, touchpad doesn't react in X. It happens with either gentoo-sources or vanilla-sources. There is no error message in Xorg.0.log. Kernel recognizes AlpsPS/2 Glidepoint touchpad.

I didn't have to create the /dev/input/eventX nodes as they were already there.

cat /dev/psaux gives no output
cat /dev/input/event[123] gives no output
cat /dev/input/mouse0 gives no output
cat /dev/input/mouse1 gives no output
cat /dev/input/mouse2 gives no output
cat /dev/input/mouse3 gives some outputwhen I move my USB mouse only...
cat /dev/input/mice gives some output when I move my USB mouse only...

8O
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dschaus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 14
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that's strange... Have you tried building a kernel without udev (or let's say with /dev filesystem and automounting of /dev enabled in the kernel) ? As I said, my last try was without udev, so I can't tell whether or not the touchpad works with udev at all...

The only thing I can tell you, I wasn't using (in xorg.conf) /dev/mice (had to change there when using udev) nor /dev/event[1..3] but I'm not 100% sure if I was using /dev/mouse/mouse0, but I think so, but /dev/psaux is also possible.

Maybe you should try booting without an external mouse and try if the touchpad works then, because (as I said before) I couldn't get the external mouse to work, but I had booted without it being connected...

Maybe I'll find some time later this day (or in the evening), so I can try this again, I'll tell you my results !

CU
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4977
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dschaus wrote:
Maybe you should try booting without an external mouse and try if the touchpad works then, because (as I said before) I couldn't get the external mouse to work, but I had booted without it being connected...

Touchpad does work indeed but outside X. Both mice work on consoles together with GPM. I ran X from the command line. As soon as I left X I could see a message Synaptics DeviceOff called. When I get back to X, a message Synaptics DeviceOn called appears.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 31, 32, 33  Next
Page 4 of 33

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum