Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"apache" conflicts with "subversion"?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vkha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:03 pm    Post subject: "apache" conflicts with "subversion"? Reply with quote

Hi all,

i have apache installed (net-www/apache-2.0.52-r1)
when i try to install subversion i get report about conflict:

net-www/apache-2* (is blocking dev-util/subversion-1.1.3)

anyone got the clue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nard`
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

subversion and apache2 share a common libary (can't remember which for the life of me...)

add the apache2 use flag, it tells subversion to use apaches version of the libary. You can do it just for subversion if you like (package.use)

The apache2 use flag also makes it compile the apache module iirc, but you don't have to use it.
_________________
Programming is the process of putting bugs in.
Debugging is the process of attempting to take bugs out, doing an ugly hack, hitting your computer, then claiming insurance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vkha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nard` wrote:
subversion and apache2 share a common libary (can't remember which for the life of me...)

add the apache2 use flag, it tells subversion to use apaches version of the libary. You can do it just for subversion if you like (package.use)

The apache2 use flag also makes it compile the apache module iirc, but you don't have to use it.


oh, thanks, gonna add this USE flag.

should i rebuild apache in some special way or just "emerge apache" should help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drakos7
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Rockville, MD, USA, Earth, Sol

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should not have to re-emerge apache at all.
Code:
USE="apache2" emerge -av subversion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avendesora
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1739
Location: Betelgeuse vicinity

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't set USE on the command line - it's bad practice and will probably trick you somewhere down the line.
Add package-specific USE settings to the /etc/portage/package.use file (create it if you don't have one).
Could look like this:
Code:
dev-util/subversion   apache2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Portage & Programming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kallamej
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 4920
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-259109.html
_________________
Please read our FAQ Forum, it answers many of your questions.
irc: #gentoo-forums on irc.freenode.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum