Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on a P-III 300MHz with 32 MB Ram (is it possible)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aqua26
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 313
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Gentoo on a P-III 300MHz with 32 MB Ram (is it possible) Reply with quote

i have dug a box from junk of many ppl.
so far i got is P III with 32 MB RAM.
a 10/100 MB lancard.
& 20Gb HDD.

when i boot from the live cd the initd just hangs & that's it.
is there any way that i can install gentoo on that machine.
i also thought of doing PXE boot but i was unable to get a PXE chip.

what do i have to do to get it work.
do i need a old gentoo.
or i need more ram.
please help me out.
_________________
registered linux user #380271
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befortin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to install Gentoo on a PII 233 MHz with 64MB RAM.

You should be able to install in on your box, but it will take long, as you only have 32MB or RAM.

The problem that you have is not due to the fact that your box sucks. Try booting with another LiveCD (for example Knoppix) to see if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aqua26
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 313
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh that box sucks but can share some load of my main box while compiling.
well all the distros got stuck at initd except vector linux 1.8 but it sucks a lot.
_________________
registered linux user #380271
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2803
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need more ram! The gentoo install specs (at least use to) specify minimum 64meg to properly run the install cd.

You should be able to get some used ram for it fairly cheap. You will have to hunt a little though as it probably wont work with newer pc133 ram. Some pc100 should work though (will need to be tested on your board).

The other alternative is to install it from your other box by putting the hard drive in it, install it there for the target specs, then put it back and boot. But with only 32 megs ram it wont be much good as a distcc box.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please don't crosspost: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-313264.html

Moved from Gentoo Chat - this shouldn't have been here anyway, as it is a support request.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum