Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ARCH is not set...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:39 am    Post subject: ARCH is not set... Reply with quote

Code:
emerge (anything)


!!!ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!!Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?

What do I do now???

AGH WILL THE PROBLEMS EVER END??!?!
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:21 am    Post subject: Re: ARCH is not set... Reply with quote

MEtoLinuxNoob wrote:
What do I do now???
You could start by searching before posting: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-308148.html
Also, if you're new to Gentoo, please follow the handbook step by step when installing for the first time, and by that I mean not skipping stuff randomly. Apart from hardware failure I haven't encountered anyone getting a broken system when using the stable branch oif Gentoo.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that was a...rough reply.
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm? I outlined the cause of your problem, pointed you to a solution, and asked you to please search before posting, so as to not waste the forum resources. How was that rough?
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
please follow the handbook step by step when installing for the first time, and by that I mean not skipping stuff randomly


Well, sadly, this is my fifth or sixth time. I'm sorry if I missed something through the hundreds of error messages I keep recieving.

Quote:
Apart from hardware failure I haven't encountered anyone getting a broken system when using the stable branch oif Gentoo.


What is Gentoo compatiable with, anyways? What was it made for initially?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed it over time on AMD K6-2, Intel P2, Intel P3, AMD Duron, AMD Athlon, AMD Athlon XP, Intel P4, AMD Athlon 64 FX, AMD Opteron and Sun UltraSPARC processors, and didn't run into any install trouble.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agh...Gentoo installation has been the most deppressing time of my whole computer-based life. NOTHING GOES RIGHT!!! I don't care for "Kernel Configuration". I just want Portage and I just want to be able to choose what I want on my computer down to the very last program. AND I WANT TO DO IT <b>WITHOUT</b> AN INTERNET CONNECTION!
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo, please see this topic:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-308148.html
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum