Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Split Ebuilds - what to include [tiny-mini-howto]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:33 am    Post subject: KDE Split Ebuilds - what to include [tiny-mini-howto] Reply with quote

Update: (10th Sept 05) - Ok everyone another update. With the release of kde 3.5 alpha in portage (thanks to weyer for the heads up) adding these packages to unmask will want to install those versions, instead of the ~x86 kde 3.4.2 (which is no longer hardmasked).
See below, I have amended the unmasking so it should only want 3.4.2. Part of the issue is also that there are only ebuilds for kdebase-startkde-3.4.2 and dependencies, not all the other packages.

I have just released a new install method for Gentoo called Kororaa, which comes with KDE 3.4.2.
In order to get everything to compile kde 3.4.2 versions (rather than 3.4.1) I had to copy a lot of new ebuilds into the overlay. So, what I'll do is post that overlay on the web for people to download and extract to their overlay directory.
That should give you as many kde 3.4.2 versions of the packages as possible.

In short we have TWO solutions:
1) add the packages to package.keywords, not unmask (unmask will install 3.5 alpha). emerge as usual, but this will give you some kde 3.4.1 packages.
2) add the packages to package.keywords, download my kde overlay snapshot and emerge as usual. this should give you all kde 3.4.2 packages.

You can get the overlay snapshot here.
Extract it to your overlay directory (/usr/local/portage by default, but I like /usr/portage/local).
So for me this would be:
Code:
tar -xvjpf kde-split-overlay-3.4.2.tar.bz2 -C /usr/portage/local/
Hope you enjoy!
-c

Update: (30/07/05) - with the release of kde 3.4.2, you need to make a few changes if you want to use it.
Kde 3.4.1 became stable, so you no-longer need to unmask all those packages, however if you want to use kde 3.4.2 you not only need to add them to package.keywords, but also package.unmask.
Also, I have added khotkeys below as it is now a dependency of kcontrol.

Intro
Perhaps some out there want to install kde, and want to take advantage of the awesome new split ebuilds.
I wanted to post what I included, in case it was helpful for others. Perhaps other people who know of other handy kde apps to include can follow.

Note
If you want kde to automount removable devices for you, then add the hal use flag to your make.conf.

Also add kdeenablefinal and kdexdeltas USE flags to your make.conf, this will help speed up emerge time.
If you are using hardware sound card, and don't want arts, then add -arts to your make.conf and leave out arts from the commands below.

Guide - unmask the packages
This section is designed to give you a VERY basic KDE - ie kdebase and kicker!

Get your base system up and ready for kde, and then update your portage ;)
Code:
emerge --sync

now if you want to use kde 3.4.2 unmask the packages by adding them to your package.keywords (for kde 3.4.1 you do not need to add them anywhere as it is marked stabe):
Code:
for x in kdebase-startkde kicker kdesu arts kate kuickshow kdelibs ksplashml ksmserver kscreensaver kreadconfig kdesktop kdm kdebase-data libkonq libkscan libkcddb kdemultimedia-arts libkpimidentities libkdepim libkcal ktnef certmanager libkpgp libkdenetwork kcheckpass kwin khotkeys kcminit kpdf kooka ksnapshot kopete knetattach krdc konqueror kamera kwifimanager kscd krec kmix kontact kmenuedit kmail libksieve mimelib kmailcvt kdepim-kioslaves libkmime akregator kaddressbook kpersonalizer korganizer libkpimexchange libkholidays kdepim-kresources kode kappfinder kwalletmanager krfb ksysguard konsole ark kfloppy kdict knotes kcalc kfilereplace kcharselect kcontrol kfind kxkb kdeprint kdegraphics-kfile-plugins kdemultimedia-kfile-plugins kdebase-kioslaves kdemultimedia-kioslaves khelpcenter kdialog kdemultimedia-arts akode ksystraycmd ; do echo "=kde-base/$x-3.4.2" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords; done

(replace ~x86 with your arch if applicable, ie ~amd64)

Guide - base KDE
emerging the following will give you a BASIC KDE! (just the GUI and kicker)

Code:
emerge -av kdebase-startkde kicker

From here you can pick and choose what apps you want :)

Guide - the rest
If you know what you want, just start emerging the packages of your choice now.
Else, if you do not know what you want, the following will give you a complete desktop environment.

Code:
emerge -av kdesu arts kate kuickshow kpdf kooka ksnapshot kopete knetattach krdc konqueror kwifimanager amarok k3b kscd kaffeine krec kmix kontact kmail kaddressbook korganizer kscreensaver kappfinder kmenuedit kwalletmanager krfb ksysguard konsole ark kfloppy kdict knotes kcalc kfilereplace kcharselect kcontrol kfind kxkb kdeprint kdemultimedia-kioslaves kdegraphics-kfile-plugins kdemultimedia-kfile-plugins kamera digikam  khelpcenter kdialog

Guide - automounting
then emerge the following to get automounting happening:
Code:
emerge -av dbus hal ivman
add them to the default run level
Code:
for x in dbus hald ivman ; do rc-update add $x default ; done
now we need to emerge the io slaves for kde, so that you can access media:/ etc through konqueror
Code:
emerge -av kdebase-kioslaves

Guide - laptop
if you have a laptop and want battery facilities
Code:
echo "kde-base/klaptopdaemon ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords ; emerge -av klaptopdaemon

Guide - languages
and if you want a language other than en_US, then specify your language in your make.conf, ie
Code:
echo 'LINGUAS="en_GB"' >> /etc/make.conf
then emerge
Code:
echo "kde-base/kde-i18n ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords ; emerge -av kde-i18n

Summary
If you chose to install my recommended apps above, then you should have a clean simple fast KDE system that supports:

kde desktop manager (logon)
kde gui and kicker (taskbar)
language support
screensaver
text editting
graphic viewing program
pdf support
scanner support
digital camera support
im chat
network neighbourhood browsing
wireless network config support
music and video / dvd playing
cd / dvd burning
full blown email addressbook and calendar support
web browsing support
file compression support (gzip bzip, zip etc)
encryption support
remote assistance support
printing support
a few other utilities like floppy formatting, dictionary, sound recorder, audio mixer, calculator and notes etc
and of course automounting removable devices

note: this is all dependant on your other USE flags of course (like dvd, msn etc).

Notes
feel free to add / change / take out what you want
ie include klipper and kcron or
or
ie remove kontact, kaddressbook and korganizer if you ONLY want basic email support (kmail)

then just add other non-kde apps for a complete system like gimp and openoffice.

-c
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!


Last edited by taskara on Fri Sep 09, 2005 11:52 pm; edited 46 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omega21
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 788
Location: Canada (brrr. Its cold up here)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you soooo much for writing them out! It makes it so much easier to emerge things that are so long if they have been pre-typed. :)
_________________
iMac G4 1GHz :: q6600 //2x 500GB//2GB RAM//8600GT//Gentoo :: MacBook Pro//2.53GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Omega21 wrote:
Thank you soooo much for writing them out! It makes it so much easier to emerge things that are so long if they have been pre-typed. :)


pleasure!

and I've probably left a dependency out or something :?, in which case let me know so I can add it in for others :)

cheers
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have a soundcard with hardware mixing, skip arts and add -arts to the USE flags. (Unless you want one of the few programs that still depend on it... atm the only one I can think of is Noatun, but there may be more. iirc Juk can use GStreamer now.)
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
episode96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought ivman was not necessary since KDE takes care of automounting once hal and dbus are up and running. Am I wrong? :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John-Boy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 442
Location: Desperately seeking moksha in all the wrong places

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

episode96 wrote:
I thought ivman was not necessary since KDE takes care of automounting once hal and dbus are up and running. Am I wrong? :?:


I've got automount going without Ivman - just hal and dbus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

episode96 wrote:
I thought ivman was not necessary since KDE takes care of automounting once hal and dbus are up and running. Am I wrong? :?:


I don't think kde automounts. It certainly autodetects, but mounts once you open a device.

So if you want, you can just leave ivman out :)

Illissius, although I was hoping people would have configured arts / alsa before this howto (and therefore modified their USE flags accordingly) I'll add it to the howto all the same - thanks for the heads up.
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John-Boy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 442
Location: Desperately seeking moksha in all the wrong places

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also adding kdemultimedia-kioslaves - is needed to rip CD's from Konqueror -

Edit which would probably be added from the emerge above, I forgot and had to include it separately :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John-Boy wrote:
Also adding kdemultimedia-kioslaves - is needed to rip CD's from Konqueror -

Edit which would probably be added from the emerge above, I forgot and had to include it separately :)


cheers, I have added it (I did do it myself but forgot above ;))
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Illissius wrote:
If you have a soundcard with hardware mixing, skip arts and add -arts to the USE flags. (Unless you want one of the few programs that still depend on it... atm the only one I can think of is Noatun, but there may be more. iirc Juk can use GStreamer now.)


If you dont install arts, you cant install 90% of the themes available like Lipstik or QtCurve. Its a bad idea not installing arts...it handles more than audio like the Gentoo devs would have you believe...
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokheed wrote:
Illissius wrote:
If you have a soundcard with hardware mixing, skip arts and add -arts to the USE flags. (Unless you want one of the few programs that still depend on it... atm the only one I can think of is Noatun, but there may be more. iirc Juk can use GStreamer now.)


If you dont install arts, you cant install 90% of the themes available like Lipstik or QtCurve. Its a bad idea not installing arts...it handles more than audio like the Gentoo devs would have you believe...

Well, my KDE is installed manually from CVS, but it's fully --without-arts and I have both Lipstik and QtCurve. I have come across a few things here or there that would break due to outdated and/or badly written configures, but those were (a) easily fixed and (b) I don't think Lipstik was ever one of them.
Anyways, you have a point, but I'd much rather deal with that than the horrendous instability arts has caused for me (granted, back with 3.2, dunno if it's improved any since then).
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Illissius wrote:
Lokheed wrote:
Illissius wrote:
If you have a soundcard with hardware mixing, skip arts and add -arts to the USE flags. (Unless you want one of the few programs that still depend on it... atm the only one I can think of is Noatun, but there may be more. iirc Juk can use GStreamer now.)


If you dont install arts, you cant install 90% of the themes available like Lipstik or QtCurve. Its a bad idea not installing arts...it handles more than audio like the Gentoo devs would have you believe...

Well, my KDE is installed manually from CVS, but it's fully --without-arts and I have both Lipstik and QtCurve. I have come across a few things here or there that would break due to outdated and/or badly written configures, but those were (a) easily fixed and (b) I don't think Lipstik was ever one of them.
Anyways, you have a point, but I'd much rather deal with that than the horrendous instability arts has caused for me (granted, back with 3.2, dunno if it's improved any since then).


I used the ebuilds for 3.3.X and almost all the themes I tried to install, could not due to an arts dependency. Maybe they fixed that issue (KDE) or maybe the ebuilds werent done too well.

When I was using KDE, I always disabled arts anyway, so it was only a matter of installing a -1MB component, certainly not worth micro-managing another aspect of Linux. Have enough problems already without worrying about additional problems.
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coffeeman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Brasil

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tankyou so mutch for this topic taskara.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

coffeeman wrote:
tankyou so mutch for this topic taskara.

pleasure! did it work well for you?
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gwion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 212
Location: Helsinki

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

THANKS!!! *thumbsup* :D
_________________
But the best thing about being an older goth? The fact that no one tries to tell you "It's a phase!" anymore.
--
gwion@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A little question... you say you can emerge it without arts,.... but if the whole thing screws up (I don't know if I need it, really), can I emerge it seperately later? Or do I then have to recompile the whole KDE thing?

Greetings


EDIT
I'm a bit confused... how does this howto relate to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kde-config.xml? On that page is a list of ebuilds like kdegames,... which I don't find back here. :?


Sorry if I sound like a big newbie, but I'm all confused with this KDE split thing, and everywhere I see different howto's and methods.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t0maz wrote:
A little question... you say you can emerge it without arts,.... but if the whole thing screws up (I don't know if I need it, really), can I emerge it seperately later? Or do I then have to recompile the whole KDE thing?

you will need to re-compile all apps that require teh "arts" USE flag

the easiest way is to add "arts" to your USE section in your make.conf then run
Code:
emerge -av --newuse world

this will ask u to recompile all programs on your pc that take advantage of the arts USE flag.

t0maz wrote:

EDIT
I'm a bit confused... how does this howto relate to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kde-config.xml? On that page is a list of ebuilds like kdegames,... which I don't find back here. :?

it is different in that this howto emerges the actual application, rather than a suite of applications. if you emerge kde-games it will give you 20-odd games. in this howto you can emerge individual games.
t0maz wrote:

Sorry if I sound like a big newbie, but I'm all confused with this KDE split thing, and everywhere I see different howto's and methods.

nps :) Gentoo is all about choice! see what works for you.

-c
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your explanation, I understand a bit more now :!:

Ok, so I don't know really what I wanted to have... just not using Linux long enough to decide. :-P But, for example, I do know that I will never print from my machine, or use an e-mail application (yay for GMail! :-D)... I started the fetch (not yet the compile, I'll do that at night 8) ) of kde-meta, but then another question arose. Can I emerge kde-meta, and after that unmerge kmail, kprint, etc.? Or can the meta thing only be unmerged as a whole :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t0maz wrote:
Thanks for your explanation, I understand a bit more now :!:

Ok, so I don't know really what I wanted to have... just not using Linux long enough to decide. :-P But, for example, I do know that I will never print from my machine, or use an e-mail application (yay for GMail! :-D)... I started the fetch (not yet the compile, I'll do that at night 8) ) of kde-meta, but then another question arose. Can I emerge kde-meta, and after that unmerge kmail, kprint, etc.? Or can the meta thing only be unmerged as a whole :?:


I think they are not interchangable at this stage.

kde-meta will give you everything anyway :) and then you can see what programs you like and come back sometime and try this way of installing kde ;)
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed the kde-meta thingey overnight, and this morning it all worked. So instead of just thinking "well, it doesn't work anyway", I tried to unmerge a few apps.
Code:
# emerge -Cav korganizer kmail kfav kdvi kontact

And few other applications. It didn't complain and just unmerged them. After that they even disappeared from the KMenu automatically. :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the work taskara. Only one problem I'm stuck with: When I try to emerge k3b (both stable and unstable) portage wants to pull in kdebase-3.3.2 and kdelibs-3.3.2. I'm not sure why it's not working as you described.
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gwion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 212
Location: Helsinki

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

massimo wrote:
Thanks for the work taskara. Only one problem I'm stuck with: When I try to emerge k3b (both stable and unstable) portage wants to pull in kdebase-3.3.2 and kdelibs-3.3.2. I'm not sure why it's not working as you described.


For me doing

Code:
USE="-kde" emerge k3b


helped. But I see this more as a preliminary workaround than a final solution.

Gwion
_________________
But the best thing about being an older goth? The fact that no one tries to tell you "It's a phase!" anymore.
--
gwion@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw that there was a new (unstable) release of k3b[-0.11.23-r2] and since my last sync was two days ago I tried this one - successfully :)
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

update: I added kdemenuedit so that you can edit the kmenu items!

Also changed the format a bit..
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revealed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:35 pm    Post subject: KDE Split Ebuilds Reply with quote

Thank you!

I just wish there was a way to put into package.keywords something like
Code:
kde-base/* ~x86

now that kde is being built into splits. It feels silly having to have put soooo many lines into the keywords file. Of course, there would be some bozo out there that would do a wild card for everything and then complain incessently about how it screwed his system up I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum