Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Booting 2005.0 on Old World
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:41 pm    Post subject: Booting 2005.0 on Old World Reply with quote

Can't boot into the installer. I tried these kernel arguments w/BootX, but got a kernel panic, could not find root device:
rw init=/linuxrc cdroot

I added more arguments, but now with these arguments passed via BootX
rw init=/linuxrc cdroot root=/dev/ram0 looptype=squashfs loop=livecd.squashfs udev nodevfs console=tty0 video=atyfb:1280x1024

I get:
Invalid loop location
Please export LOOP with a valid location, or reboot and pass a proper loop=...

/bin/ash can't access tty: job control turned off

TIA
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it! Its:
ramdisk_size=34000 rw init=/linuxrc looptype=squashfs loop=/livecd.squashfs udev nodevfs cdroot root=/dev/ram0 video=atyfb:1280x1024

Of course, the 'video=' part will vary
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sword_Mas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Møre og Romsdal county, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're my hero!
:D
_________________
Issa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kewl!
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1563
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to boot this machine without OS9 and BootX?
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not really. Right now, you need OS9 to get the machine booting, during the installation, you can install Quik and get rid of OS9 but that's not well documented. I've tried to make some 2.6 boot floppies, but I haven't been able to get anything working yet.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is also something called miBoot which also allows you boot directly into Linux, but like the others, it requires OS 9 to start things.
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samus8zero2x
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Location: OKC, OK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I would suggest until the Gentoo guys get the floppies made, is use the Debian PPC floppies to boot. The OpenFirmware will recognize them and boot into the Debian install routine. Then, just switch to a different console, and continue with your Gentoo install. This works pretty well if you do an all-network install, which I usually do, since the Debian floppy will set up the generic G3 integrated network controller. You should be able to mount the Gentoo CD from there as well, if you want to go that route.
_________________
~DMP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum